January 7, 2013
Justice Sharon L. Kennedy Swears in Members of the 130th General Assembly Ohio House of Representatives from Butler County

Justice Sharon L. Kennedy recently presided over the swearing-in ceremony for members of the Ohio House of Representatives from Butler County, Ohio, in the 130th General Assembly.

Justice Kennedy administered the oath of office to Representatives Margy Conditt (District 52) who was appointed in 2011; Timoth Derickson (District 53); and newly elected West Retherford (District 51).

“Butler County is blessed to have such great people like Margy, Tim, and Wes who are willing to run for public office and serve the needs of our community, Justice Kennedy said. “I was touched at their request to swear them in as they begin the work of the House.”

Justice Kennedy is serving her first term on the Supreme Court of Ohio. Prior to joining the Supreme Court, Justice Kennedy served at the Butler County Court of Common Pleas Domestic Relations Division since 1999. She served as the administrative judge there from 2005 until December 2012. Justice Kennedy began her career in the justice system as a police officer in Hamilton, Ohio. She received her law degree from the University of Cincinnati College of Law.

For a high-resolution, print-quality photo of Justice Kennedy, visit: http://www.sc.ohio.gov/PIO/news/images/justices/kennedy_highres.zip.