Skip to main content

Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists

The Supreme Court of Ohio regulates certification of attorneys as specialists and created the Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists (Commission) to administer Gov.Bar R. XIV - (Certification of Attorneys as Specialists) and the accompanying Standards for Accreditation of Specialty Certification Programs for Lawyers (Standards).

Neither the Supreme Court nor the Commission certifies attorneys as specialists. However, the Commission does accredit organizations it has determined are qualified to certify attorneys as specialists. The Commission also is charged with recommending to the Supreme Court fields of law subject to specialization; adopting standards that certifying agencies shall establish in certifying attorneys as specialists; and evaluating the programs of certifying agencies to ensure compliance with this rule.

Related Links:

The Supreme Court has approved 20 fields of law subject to specialization certification, including Elder Law, Family Relations Law, and Labor and Employment Law. The Commission has accredited four organizations to certify attorneys as specialists in these areas.

To find a certified specialist, contact the accredited organizations directly for a list of certified specialists in your area of interest.

If you are interested in becoming a certified specialist, please review Gov. Bar R. XIV and the accompanying Standards. You should also contact the organizations that have been accredited by the Commission as qualified to certify attorneys as specialists in the area of law in which you are interested.

Contact Information

Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists
Supreme Court of Ohio
65 South Front Street, 5th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431

Secretary to the Board:
Britney Cider, Esq.

Word files may be viewed for free with Office Online.

PDF Files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the Free Acrobat® Reader. Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Inc.