Skip to main content

Supreme Court Justices Overview

State of Ohio Supreme Court Justices

Image of seven men and women, all wearing black judicial robes. Two men and two women are standing and two men and one woman are seated in front of them in the courtroom of the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center.
Seated from left: Justice Patrick F. Fischer, Chief Justice Sharon L. Kennedy, and Justice R. Patrick Dewine.
Standing from left: Justice Jennifer Brunner, Justice Michael P. Donnelly, Justice Melody J. Stewart, and Justice Joseph T. Deters.

The Supreme Court of Ohio is established by Article IV, Section 1, of the Ohio Constitution. Article IV, Section 2, of the Constitution sets the size of the Court at seven – a chief justice and six justices – and outlines the jurisdiction of the Court.

The chief justice and six justices are elected to six-year terms on a nonpartisan ballot. Two justices are chosen at the general election in even-numbered years. In the year when the chief justice runs, voters pick three members of the Court. A person must be an attorney with at least six years of experience in the practice of law to be elected or appointed to the Court. Appointments are made by the governor for vacancies that occur between elections.

Use the links to access the biographies of the Chief Justice and Justices of the Supreme Court of Ohio.

Word files may be viewed for free with Office Online.

PDF Files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the Free Acrobat® Reader. Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Inc.