
10/2/2018

1

State Medical Board of Ohio
Kimberly C. Anderson

Chief Legal Counsel

Supreme Court of Ohio

Specialized Dockets 
Annual Conference

Oct. 11, 2018

1

About the 
Medical 

Board

The Medical Board is the state agency 
charged with regulating the practice of 
medicine and selected other health 
professions.

• 12 persons appointed by the governor 
to 5-year terms; may be reappointed

• 9 doctors: 7 MDs, 1 DO, and 1 DPM

• 3 consumer members

• Monthly meetings, open to public
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MAT: Treatment for 
Those Affected by 

the Opioid Epidemic
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MEDICATIONS TO TREAT OPIOID USE DISORDER

Methadone (full opioid agonist, controlled substance)

Buprenorphine (partial opioid agonist, controlled 
substance)

Naltrexone (full opioid antagonist, non-controlled 
substance)
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MEDICATIONS TO TREAT OPIOID USE DISORDER

Buprenorphine may be prescribed by a “waivered 
prescriber” under the Drug Addiction Treatment Act 
of 2000 (DATA 2000)

DATA 2000 allowed office-based opioid therapy or 
“OBOT”
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PRACTITIONER REQUIREMENTS UNDER DATA 2000

“Qualifying physician”

• Board certified in addiction psychiatry

• Completed 8 hours of training in an approved course

Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016

• Allowed nurse practitioners and physician assistants obtain a waiver to prescribe 
buprenorphine
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PATIENT LIMITS

 Prescribers have a limit on the number of patients who may be prescribed 
buprenorphine

 30 patients per physician during the first year of  the waiver

 After the first year, physician may prescribe to 100 patients

 After 1 year at 100 patients, the physician can treat up to 275 patient if they 
meet certain criteria. 

 Waivered NPs and PAs may prescribe to up to 30 patients
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21st Century Cures Act:

Efforts to develop a workforce 
that can prescribe 
buprenorphine for medication 
assisted treatment is under way 
in Ohio. Physicians, physician 
assistants or advanced nurse 
practitioners can access training 
through Ohio Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction 
Services.

The Ohio Dept. of Medicaid: 

Pays for a range of treatment 
options, including methadone, 
buprenorphine & naltrexone 
(Vivitrol®) 8
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THE NEED FOR STATE REGULATION

 Cash & Carry business model developing

• “They would give you $50 for referrals.”

 For too many addicts, “Their primary use is not 
‘treatment’ but as a way to ward off symptoms 
of withdrawal until the next shipment of heroin 
or Fentanyl hits the streets”

• Street demand for buprenorphine 

 However, a realization that flexibility is needed 
(e.g., jails)
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“A relatively high proportion of buprenorphine doctors have 
troubled records, a [NY] Times examination of the federal 
‘buprenorphine physician locator’ found.” 

“Nationally, at least 1,350 of 12,780 (10.5%) buprenorphine 
doctors have been sanctioned for offenses that include excessive 
narcotics prescribing, insurance fraud, sexual misconduct and 
practicing medicine while impaired.”

“Some have been suspended or arrested, leaving patients in the 
lurch.”

- “Addiction Treatment With a Dark Side” NY Times Nov. 16, 2013

THE NEED FOR STATE REGULATION
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MEDICAL BOARD RULES

 In 2015, the State Medical Board developed a rule establishing additional 
requirements for physicians prescribing buprenorphine

 The rule was created to decrease diversion and inappropriate prescribing of 
buprenorphine

 The rule requires prescribers to follow a treatment protocol approved by 
SAMHSA or the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services

 Ensures access to treatment provided by legitimate health care 
professionals
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MEDICAL BOARD RULES

OBOT Rules OAC 4731-11-12

• No more than 30-day supply at a time during first 12 months

• 16 milligram per day limit unless exceptions are met

• Physician shall personally meet with and evaluate the patient at each 
visit during the first 12 months of OBOT, and shall document an 
assessment and plan for continuing treatment
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MEDICAL BOARD RULES

OBOT Rules OAC 4731-11-12 (continued)

• After 1 year, physician shall personally meet with and evaluate the 
patient at least every 3 months, unless more frequent meetings are 
indicated

• The physician shall not provide OBOT to a patient that is receiving other 
CS for more than 12 consecutive weeks, without having consulted with a 
board-certified addictionologist or addiction psychiatrist, who has 
recommended the patient receive OBOT
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MEDICAL BOARD RULES

Sections 4730.55 and 4731.056, Ohio Revised Code, adopted in 2017, require the Medical Board to adopt rules 
that establish standards and procedures to be followed by PAs and physicians in the use of all drugs approved 
for medication assisted treatment, including buprenorphine.

The rules must address the following:

• Detoxification

• Relapse prevention

• Patient assessment

• Individual treatment planning

• Counseling and recovery supports

• Diversion control and any other topics selected by the Medical Board
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RULE UPDATES IN PROCESS

 The Medical Board is also required to work with the Board of Nursing so that the rules for physicians, 
physician assistants and nurse practitioners are consistent.

 Medical Board rules regulating medication assisted treatment are currently pending at the Common Sense 
Initiative

 Some key differences in the new office based opioid treatment rules 4730-4-01 and 4731-33-03 and the 
current rule 4731-11-12:

• Certain institutional facilities are exempt from the rule, such as correctional facilities, hospitals, opioid 
treatment programs and youth services facilities

• The proposed rules add a requirement for prescribers to offer naloxone kit, including ensuring that the 
patient receives instructions on the kit’s use, recognition of signs and symptoms or overdose and Calling 
911 in an overdose situation
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RULE UPDATES IN PROCESS

The proposed rules requires the prescriber to take steps to reduce chance of diversion through:

• Use of the lowest effective dose (must not exceed 24mg; any doses over 16 mg must have a 
rationale for the dose in the patient record

• Appropriate frequency of office visits

• Pill counts

• OARRS checks

• Drug screens at least 2 times per quarter for the first year/

• Once per quarter thereafter

16
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RULE UPDATES IN PROCESS

 The proposed rules address the use of extended release, injectable or 
implanted buprenorphine

 Must follow FDA labeling

 The proposed rules also include a rule on the use of Naltrexone (4730-4-04 
and 4731-33-04)

17

Kimberly C. Anderson

Chief Legal Counsel, State Medical Board of Ohio

contact@med.ohio.gov

@ohiomedboard

med.ohio.gov
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Jenni Wai
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BUPRENORPHINE

 Methadone clinics operate under strict federal and state protocols and rules.

 Buprenorphine can be prescribed for office-based settings.

 Person may feel more comfortable and may already be receiving treatment 
for other medical problems. 

 Different approaches to treatment work for different people. 

 Drugs containing buprenorphine (Suboxone®) contain an opioid blocker 
called naloxone. 

 When taking appropriately, it prevents a person in recovery from  feeling the 
effects of opiates, or feeling “high.”
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RECENT STUDY

 In a study of opioid overdose survivors in Massachusetts,

 Methadone and buprenorphine were found to reduce subsequent 
overdose deaths by 59% and 38%, respectively, compared with outcomes 
for survivors receiving no medication treatment after overdose.

 Fewer than one-third of overdose survivors receive medication within a 
year due to accessibility.

Knopf, A (2018) Study: Methadone, buprenorphine after overdose improve survival rates. Retrieved from 
https://www.addictionpro.com
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NEED FOR LICENSURE

 Capitalizing on individuals suffering from addiction, suboxone clinic 
owners along with unscrupulous physicians seek to exploit addiction 
as a method of reaping sizable profits. 

 Similar pattern as “pill mills”:

Non-physician owners with a criminal history;

Long patient lines or patient’s loitering around building;

Cash-only;

Lack of adherence to standards of care. 

 Undermines use of buprenorphine as an effective treatment option. 22
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FACILITY LICENSURE

 Worked closely with Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
to raise the standard of care.

 After November 30, 2017, facilities where prescribers more than 30 
individuals with a controlled substances for opioid abuse at any given time 
will be subject to licensure. 

o Terminal distributor of dangerous drugs with a office-based opioid 
treatment (OBOT) classification;

o Failure to obtain proper licensure may be fined up to $5,000.
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FACILITY LICENSURE

 Treatment of opioid dependence or addiction using a controlled substance 
does not necessarily mean that such medication must be on-site. 

 It can also apply to practices where prescriptions for controlled substances 
are issued for opioid addiction/dependence and the patient receives 
medication at a pharmacy. 

 Received a total of 70 applications (as of Aug. 29, 2017).

 Received a total of 253 applications (as of Sept.26, 2018).

 Exemptions include facilities owned or operated by a hospital or clinics are 
already certified by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction 
Services.
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COMPLIANCE

 Licensure requires office-based opioid treatment facilities to comply with 
the following:

 Mandatory background checks for the owners and employees of these 
facilities and prohibiting those convicted or serious criminal offenses 
from engaging in OBOT;

 Facilities must be physician-owned, unless otherwise approved by the 
Board;

 Adherence to prescriber limits set forth by federal regulations.

 An applicant for an OBOT classification licensure shall not be licensed as a 
pain management clinic classification unless approved by the board. 25

RESPONSIBLE PERSON

 May be a physician or advanced practice nurse.

 Must possess a waiver to prescribe or personally furnish buprenorphine under 
the Drug Addiction Treatment Act of 2000 (DATA 2000).

 Must be physically present at the location for at least fifteen hours per week. 

 If the facility is not open more than fifteen hours per week, the minimum 
amount of on-site supervision shall be at least fifty per cent of the total hours 
the facility is open. 26
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EMPLOYEES

 The Board recognizes that those providing office-based opioid treatment 
(including prescribers, nurses and counselors) may have a history of 
substance-use disorder. 

 Such a history does not automatically preclude a provider from 
practicing/working at a facility or serving as the responsible person for the 
facility (i.e. physician):

 Complies with the terms of the provider’s applicable probation or consent 
agreement;

 Demonstrates a pattern of sustained recovery. 
27

INSPECTIONS

 Field staff conducts annual inspections on all licensed OBOT.

 Security and storage of dangerous drugs and documents

 Recordkeeping

 Monitor adherence to patient limits (Federal regulations depending on 
prescriber’s waiver issued by SAMHSA, NPs and PAs -30 patients)

 Adherence to applicable state and federal laws and regulations
28
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HELPFUL DOCUMENTS

 Frequently asked questions document: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/OBOT

 Application: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/OBOTapplication

 Legal questions: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/LegalOBOT
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Jenni Wai, 

Chief Pharmacist, State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy

contact@pharmacy.ohio.gov

@OhioRxboard

pharmacy.ohio.gov
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