COMMISSION ON TECHNOLOGY AND THE COURTS

The Supreme Court of Ohio has established the Commission on Technology and the Courts effective December 1, 2007. The Commission replaces the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on Technology and the Courts established by Rule 27 of the Rules of Superintendence for the Courts of Ohio.

Section 1. Creation of Commission

Pursuant to the powers vested in the Supreme Court of Ohio by Article IV, Section 5(A) of the Ohio Constitution regarding general superintendence over all courts in the state, and to assist the Court in the exercise of its general superintendence powers in regards to statewide technology issues, there shall be a Supreme Court Commission on Technology and the Courts.

Section 2. Duties of Commission

The Commission shall advise the Supreme Court of Ohio on the following:

- The promulgation of statewide rules, policies and uniform standards for the development and use of information technology systems in Ohio courts;
- The delivery of technology services to courts throughout the state including the development and implementation of educational and training programs for judges and court personnel;
- The exchange of data and information by and between Ohio courts and other justice system partners for greater efficiency of judicial administration including the development and operation of the Ohio Courts Network;
- Any other issues necessary to aid and promote the orderly adoption and comprehensive use of technology in Ohio courts.

Section 3. Membership

The Commission shall consist of 25 members.

- (A) Eighteen members shall be appointed by the Supreme Court as follows:
 - (1) Two members nominated by the Chief Justice of the Court of Appeals;
 - (2) Two members nominated by the President of the Ohio Common Pleas Judges Association;
 - (3) Two members nominated by the President of the Ohio Association of Probate Judges;

- (4) Two members nominated by the President of the Ohio Association of Domestic Relations Judges;
- (5) Two members nominated by the President of the Ohio Association of Juvenile Court Judges;
- (6) Two members nominated by the President of the Ohio Association of Municipal and County Court Judges of Ohio;
- (7) One member nominated by the President of the Ohio Association of Magistrates;
- (8) One member nominated by the President of the Ohio Association for Court Administration;
- (9) One member nominated by the President of the Ohio Clerks of Court Association;
- (10) One member nominated by the President of the Ohio Association of Municipal/County Clerks;
- (11) One member nominated by the President of the Ohio State Bar Association;
- (12) One member nominated by the President of the Consortium of Ohio Metropolitan Bar Associations.
- (B) Three members shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio and shall be information technology managers for Ohio courts.
- (C) Two members shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio and one shall be an employee of an Ohio law enforcement agency and one shall be an employee of an office or agency that manages or operates a jail or correctional institution.
- (D) Two members shall serve ex officio as follows:
 - (1) The Administrative Director of the Supreme Court of Ohio, who shall be a non-voting member; and
 - (2) The Chair of the Court Technology Committee of the Ohio Judicial Conference.
- (E) Initial appointments shall be made as follows:
 - (1) One judge of the court of appeals, one judge of the court of common pleas with general jurisdiction, one judge of the court of common pleas with domestic relations jurisdiction, one judge of the court of common pleas with juvenile jurisdiction, the representative of the Ohio Association of Magistrates, the representative of the Ohio Association of Municipal/County Clerks, one manager of information technology of any court appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, and one employee of a

law enforcement agency appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, shall be appointed to a term that ends on December 31, 2008.

- (2) One judge of the court of appeals, one judge of the court of common pleas with probate jurisdiction, one judge of the court of common pleas with domestic relations jurisdiction, one municipal or county court judge, the representative of the Ohio Association for Court Administration, the representative of the Ohio State Bar Association, one manager of information technology of any court appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, and the employee of an office or agency that manages or operates a jail or correctional institution appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio shall be appointed to a term that ends on December 31, 2009.
- (3) One judge of the court of common pleas with general jurisdiction, one judge of the common pleas with probate jurisdiction, one judge of the court of common pleas with juvenile jurisdiction, one municipal or county court judge, the representative of the Ohio Clerks of Court Association, the representative of the Ohio Metropolitan Bar Association, and one manager of information technology of any court appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio shall be appointed to a term that ends on December 31, 2010.

Section 4. Terms.

- (A) Members of the Commission shall serve three-year terms beginning on the first day of January. Members shall be eligible for reappointment, but shall not be eligible to serve more than two consecutive terms of three years without a six month break in service.
- (B) Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as original appointments. A member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his or her predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of the term. If a judge member leaves office, if an attorney member no longer practices in Ohio, if a clerk of court leaves office, if a court administrator is no longer employed in that capacity, if a law enforcement officer is no longer employed in that capacity, if a manager of information technology of any court is no longer employed in that capacity, the member shall be disqualified and a vacancy shall occur.

Section 5. Chair; Vice-Chair.

The Court shall appoint one of the members as chair and one of the members as vice-chair. The chair and vice-chair shall serve for three years, and may be reappointed, but a member shall not serve as chair or vice-chair for more than two consecutive terms of three years.

Section 6. Compensation.

Members of the Commission shall serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed for expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties.

Section 7. Staff Liaison.

The Administrative Director of the Supreme Court or a designee shall serve as staff liaison to the Commission.

Section 8. Member Attendance.

The staff liaison to the Commission shall notify the Chief Justice and the Administrative Director of the Supreme Court if a member of the commission misses three meetings of the commission meetings within a twelve-month period. Upon such notice, the Administrative Director shall inform the Justices of the Supreme Court in order that the Justices may consider the replacement of the member.

Section 9. Effective Date and Amendments.

- (A) This rule shall take effect on December 1, 2007.
- (B) The amendments to Section 3 of this rule shall take effect on July 1, 2014.
- (C) The amendments to Section 3 of this rule shall take effect on April 1, 2023.
- (D) The amendments to Sections 8 and 9 of this rule shall take effect on October 15, 2024.