

Improving Court Operations Using Remote Technology (iCOURT) Task Force Meeting Minutes – December 14, 2020

Task Force Members in Attendance: Hon. Rocky Coss (*Chair*), Mag. Serpil Ergun (*Vice Chair*), Hon. Craig Baldwin, Douglas Bettis, Hon. Van Blanchard, II, Hon. Theresa Dellick, Justice R. Patrick DeWine, Daniel Driscoll, Hon. Ian English, Douglas Eaton, Hon. Jonathan Hein, Kelli Howard, Robert Incorvati, Maureen Kelly, Nick Lockhart, Haley Martinelli, Ellen McCarthy, Velta Moisio, Theresa Nelson, Hon. Deborah Nicastro, Hon. Andrea Peeples, Mag. Paul Rattermann, Kyle Silvers, Mag. Kenneth Teleis, Lori Tyack, and Hon. James Walther

Staff in Attendance: Brian Farrington, Stephanie Nelson, Kyana Pierson, and Robert Stuart

Judge Coss thanked Judge Dellick and the Supreme Court of Ohio staff on getting the survey out and completed. The received approximately 6,000 survey responses.

Brian Farrington discussed the survey report and next steps regarding the self-represented litigant survey explaining that it would be distributed to courts, legal aid organizations and Ohio Legal Help. *The survey report was included in the meeting materials.*

As a means of helping to increase the response rate, members suggested:

- Having the Supreme Court issue a press release and posting the survey on its website.
- Creating a QR code that could be placed in courthouses, libraries, self-help centers.

Judge Coss also requested Brian prepare a one-page summary of the "surprise" results from the survey responses to send out to the committee.

Each subcommittee chair provided a summary report to the group. *A full report from each subcommittee was included in the meeting materials.*

Magistrate Ergun reviewed the timeline and next steps.

- January 8: Next task force meeting; take closer look at the survey and review how does this effect your initial directions
- January 31: Final report with more detailed recommendations are due from each subcommittee
- March 19: Draft report due
- June 30: Report to Chief Justice due

The next meeting will be held virtually on January 8, 2021 from 11:45 to 1:15.