THE SUPREME COURT of OHIO

Licensing Requirements as a New Attorney

Dear Attorney,

Congratulations on your admission to the practice of law in Ohio. As a newly-admitted attorney, you are required to complete the following:

- 1. Register with the Supreme Court of Ohio Office of Attorney Services, and
- 2. Comply with New Lawyers Training requirements (Last names beginning with A-L due by December 31, 2027, and M-Z due by December 31, 2026).

Please read this memo carefully to ensure that you are familiar with your obligations as a new attorney and that you timely comply with all Supreme Court rules.

Attorney Registration (Rule VI of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio)

Pursuant to Rule VI of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio, each attorney licensed to practice law in Ohio must register every two years (biennium) with the Supreme Court and pay a registration fee. Fees collected by the Court under Rule VI are used to fund various activities, including investigations of alleged attorney or judicial misconduct, investigations relating to the unauthorized practice of law, and support for the Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection.

Registration for the 2023/2025 Biennium — <u>Due Now:</u> The current 2023/2025 registration biennium began September 1, 2023, and ends August 31, 2025. Pursuant to Gov. Bar R. VI, Sec. 3(A), you are required to register within 30 days of the date of your admission. Although there is no fee to register for either active or inactive status for the remainder of the 2023/2025 registration biennium, you are required to register within 30 days of admission. If you do not file your registration by the thirty-day deadline, you will be assessed a \$100 late fee and will be subject to suspension from the practice of law. Attorneys who register for active status may participate in the \$50 optional "add-on" fee to fund civil legal aid services for low-income or disadvantaged populations in Ohio. Attorneys who register for inactive status are not permitted to practice law in Ohio, and may change their status to active at any time by registering and paying the applicable fee.

Registration for the upcoming 2025/2027 Biennium — <u>Due by September 1, 2025</u>: If you register for active status for the 2023/2025 registration biennium, you <u>also</u> will be required to register for the upcoming 2025/2027 registration biennium, which begins September 1, 2025. Furthermore, to register for active status for the 2025/2027 registration biennium, you will be required to pay the \$450 active registration fee by September 1, 2025. Attorneys registered for inactive status for the remainder of the 2023/2025 biennium are not required to register for the 2025/2027 biennium. Registration information will be emailed to all attorneys registered for active status in late June 2025 announcing online registration for the 2025/2027 registration biennium is open and due by September 1, 2025.

Attorney Registration Number and Password

Each attorney admitted to the practice of law in Ohio is assigned an attorney registration number by the Office of Attorney Services. Attorney registration numbers issued by the Supreme Court are the exclusive number used to identify attorneys in Ohio. If you are a new attorney who attended the ceremony, your attorney registration number will be assigned to you by 6:00 p.m. on May 12 and can be looked up by going to the

<u>Attorney Directory</u>. An email notifying you of your attorney registration number will also be sent to the email address on file.

Attorney Services Portal

To access the Attorney Services Portal to register, check your CLE transcript, and update your contact information, you will need your attorney registration number and password, which is either the password you used for the Bar Admissions Portal, or a random password that has been assigned to you if you did not use the Bar Admissions Portal.

To retrieve your Attorney Services Portal password:

- Go to www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttorneyPortal/
- Enter your attorney registration number.
- Select "I forgot my password."
- Your password will be emailed to the address you provided to the Office of Bar Admissions.

The email address you provide for the password retrieval will become the email address on file with the Office of Attorney Services. The Office of Attorney Services communicates with attorneys via email regarding important deadlines, so please provide a valid email address and adjust your filter to receive mail from attyreg@sc.ohio.gov and ccle@sc.ohio.gov.

How to Register

Online registration is mandatory. You will need your attorney registration number and password.

To access the Attorney Services Portal, please go to www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttorneyPortal/.

When you complete your online registration, you will receive email confirmation of the transaction, and an electronic attorney registration card or, if applicable, confirmation of your inactive registration.

Please follow these steps to complete your online registration:

- Use your attorney registration number and password to log in to the portal.
- For security reasons, please change your password on first login. Retain your password securely.
- Review the information contained in the portal **Home Page**. Please make sure to provide your current contact information, including your email address, electronic service address, residence address, office address, and phone number.
- Go to **Edit Info** to update or modify your personal information and to change your password.
- Go to **Register** to report the existence of an Ohio interest-bearing trust account (IOLTA or IOTA) for client funds or to report your exemption from this reporting requirement. If you are employed at a firm, please contact the managing partner or accounting office for this information. If you have questions regarding IOLTA/IOTA accounts, please contact the Ohio Access to Justice Foundation at 614-715-8560.
- Register for either active or inactive status. If you owe a registration fee or a late fee, you may submit your payment by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, American Express, or Discover), or by ACH (bank transfer), to complete your registration. You will receive online confirmation of your registration. Save the online confirmation notice for your records.
- To be deemed timely, you must register within thirty days of the date of admission.

New Lawyers Training (Rule X of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio) and Lawyer to Lawyer Mentoring

All attorneys admitted by examination who are registered for active status must comply with the Court's New Lawyers Training ("NLT") requirements of Gov. Bar R. X ("Attorney Continuing Legal Education"). As a new attorney, you must complete twelve hours of New Lawyers Training by the end of your first biennial compliance period. Your biennial compliance period is based on your last name. An attorney whose last name begins with a letter A through L must complete his or her NLT hours by the end of each odd-numbered year. An attorney whose last name begins with a letter M through Z must complete his or her NLT hours by the end of each even-numbered year. If you were admitted to the practice of law during the second year of your first biennial compliance period, you need to complete your NLT education requirements by the end of your next biennial compliance period.

Accordingly, if you were admitted to the practice of law in 2025, and your last name begins with the letter A through L, you must complete your NLT requirements by December 31, 2027. If you were admitted to the practice of law in 2025 and your last name begins with a letter M through Z, you must complete your NLT requirements by December 31, 2026. Failure to complete your NLT requirements timely will subject you to a late fee and possible sanction and suspension from the practice of law.

To meet your NLT requirements, you must complete at least twelve hours of NLT education, including one hour in each of the following categories: professionalism, law office management, and client fund management. NLT courses are offered by various sponsors. To register for a NLT course, you must register directly with the sponsor of the activity.

Go to www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/CLE/ActivitySearch for a searchable list of NLT courses. Be sure to select "New Attorney" in the Activity Type drop-down box.

You also may be eligible to fulfill your NLT requirements by (1) participating in the Lawyer to Lawyer Mentoring Program established by the Supreme Court's Commission on Professionalism and (2) completing three classroom hours of NLT instruction in professionalism, law office management, and client fund management. For additional information on mentoring and eligibility requirements, go to www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/attorneys/mentoring-program/. Please note that you must be registered for active status to participate in the Lawyer to Lawyer Mentoring Program.

Exemptions from New Lawyers Training Requirement

Attorneys registered for <u>inactive status</u> do not have a New Lawyers Training requirement. However, inactive attorneys are still eligible to participate in the Lawyer to Lawyer Mentoring Program. Please email <u>lawyer2lawyer@sc.ohio.gov</u> for additional information.

If you are on <u>full-time military duty</u>, you may be eligible to apply for an exemption from the New Lawyers Training requirement. To request this exemption, please complete CCLE Form 9(a), Application for Exemption from Educational Requirements: Full-Time Military Duty, which is available online by going to <u>www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/docs/AttySvcs/CLE/forms/Form9a.pdf</u>. Please note that even if you are granted a military exemption, you still must register in accordance with Gov.Bar R. VI.

There is <u>no exemption</u> for out-of-state attorneys. If you live or work out-of-state and are registered for active status, you must comply with the New Lawyers Training requirements of Gov.Bar R. X.

Summary

	vyer, please remember to meet the following deadlines. Failure to do so will subject you to late sible sanction and suspension from the practice of law:
	Register online for active or inactive status, within thirty days of your admission to the practice of law.
	If your last name begins with the letter A through L, complete twelve hours of New Lawyers Training education by December 31, 2027.
	If your last name begins with the letter M through Z, complete twelve hours of New Lawyers Training education by December 31, 2026.
•	any questions, please contact us at 614/387-9320, option 1, or by e-mail at attyreg@sc.ohio.gov . Frequently Asked Questions page for new attorneys.
Again, congr	ratulations and welcome to the Ohio Bar!
Sincerely,	

Office of Attorney Services The Supreme Court of Ohio 65 South Front Street, Fifth Floor Columbus, OH 43215