
Ohio Pro Hac Vice Registration
Gov. Bar R. XII

Out-of-state attorney (movant) submits PHV registration application,  
along with Affidavit of Applicant and $500 fee, in the PHV portal.

Movant receives certificate of PHV registration from Office of Bar Admissions.

GRANTED DENIED

Movant may not 
appear in proceeding.

Movant files motion for permission to appear pro hac vice,  
Affidavit of Out-of-State Attorney, and copy of PHV certificate with local tribunal.

Tribunal rules on motion.

Movant permitted to appear pro hac vice.

Movant notifies Office of Bar Admissions about 
their case involvement by selecting  

File Notice of Permission in the PHV portal  
and submitting the required case information.

Notice of Permission to Appear 
pro hac vice filed in PHV portal 
within 30 days of tribunal order?

Movant submits renewal 
of PHV registration, 

$500 fee, and Affidavit of 
Applicant in PHV portal.

Office of Bar 
Admissions receives 

renewal and fee  
by Jan. 31?

PHV appearance in proceeding may 
continue during new calendar year.

No renewal requirements; movant notifies  
Office of Bar Admissions proceeding has 

concluded by updating their case info in the  
PHV portal and filing a copy of the tribunal order 

concluding the matter or granting their withdrawal.

Permission to  
appear PHV  

good until end of  
calendar year.

Case pending 
at end of  

calendar year?

Automatic exclusion from practice 
in Ohio. In the PHV portal, File 

Petition for failing to timely renew.  
Do not resume practice of Ohio law 

until your status is corrected.

Automatic exclusion from practice 
in Ohio. In the PHV portal,  

File Petition for failing to timely 
file a Notice of Permission.  

Do not resume practice of Ohio 
law until your status is corrected.

YES YES
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NO NO
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https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/docs/AttySvcs/PHV/forms/standardMotion.pdf
https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/docs/AttySvcs/PHV/forms/OOSAttyAffidavit.pdf

