Attorneys who cannot complete the hours by March 31, 2025

- 1. I did not complete the CLE requirements by the late compliance deadlines. What happens next?
- 2. I am no longer practicing law in Ohio. Can I change my registration status?
- 3. I was unable to complete the CLE requirements due to military duty, illness, or special circumstances. What are my options?

1. <u>I did not complete the CLE requirements by the late compliance deadlines. What happens next?</u>

Monetary Sanction

Attorneys who fail to complete the CLE requirements for the 2023-2024 compliance period and who do <u>not</u> (1) remove the hour deficiencies by the March 31, 2025, late compliance deadline, (2) submit evidence of compliance by April 30, 2025, and (3) pay the applicable late compliance fee will be issued a Sanction Order for failure to comply with the CLE requirements. The monetary sanction ranges from \$75 to \$300 and is based on the hours deficient.

CLE sanction orders are administrative and are not considered prior discipline if the attorney is subject to an attorney discipline sanction for professional misconduct. Gov.Bar R. X, Sec. 17(C).

DEFICIENCY:	LATE COMPLIANCE FEE:
Six hours or less	\$75
More than six hours but not more than 12 hours	\$150
More than 12 hours but not more than 18 hours	\$225
More than 18 hours	\$300

Monetary sanctions must be paid within 30 days of the date of the order, and can be paid by credit card or ACH payment on the Attorney Services Portal. Attorneys registered for active status and ordered to pay a monetary sanction (and not suspended from the practice of law) are still entitled to practice law in Ohio. However, an attorney is not in good standing and cannot receive a certificate of good standing if a monetary sanction is outstanding or if the attorney is suspended. See Gov.Bar R. VI, Sec. 15(C)(3).

Suspension from the Practice of Law

Attorneys who fail to comply with the CLE requirements for the 2023-2024 compliance period and who have an outstanding CLE sanction for noncompliance from the previous 2021-2022 compliance period, are subject to suspension from the practice of law for noncompliance with the CLE requirements.

Attorneys who fail to comply with the CLE requirements for the 2023-2024 compliance period and who have been sanctioned for noncompliance for the prior two biennia, (i.e., 2019-2020 and 2021-2022), are subject to suspension from the practice of law for serial noncompliance.

If you are unsure if you have an unpaid sanction or are subject to sanction/suspension, please call our office at 614-387-9320, option 1 (M-F, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. ET), or email <u>CCLE@sc.ohio.gov</u>.

2. What if I am no longer practicing law in Ohio. Can I change my registration status?

Inactive Status

Attorneys who are not practicing law in Ohio may register for inactive status pursuant to Gov.Bar R. VI. Attorneys who are registered for inactive status may not engage in the practice of law and do not have a registration or CLE requirement while registered as inactive. Attorneys who are registered for inactive status for less than two years may be subject to sanction and must complete the CLE hour deficiencies in addition to the CLE requirements for the biennium in which they return to active status.

To change your registration status, follow these instructions.

Suprem	e Court Log in
Remember me?	I forgot my password
	Log in

- B. Select Register to confirm your contact information.
- C. Confirm you have read the Proactive Management-Based Regulation and answer the corresponding questions.
- D. Report your IOLTA/IOTA and title agent status and, if applicable, your account information.
- E. Select 2023-2025 on the "Biennium" drop-down box.
- F. Select "inactive" on the "Registration Status" drop-down box.
- G. After you complete your registration, you will receive online confirmation of your registration.

Retirement or Resignation

Attorneys who have no intention of returning to the practice of law in Ohio may consider filing an <u>Application for Retirement or Resignation</u>. This process involves a review of the disciplinary records and filing with the Clerk's Office your application along with a sealed report and recommendation from the Office of Disciplinary Counsel. If the Supreme Court of Ohio issues an order designating you as retired or resigned with discipline pending, you will no longer have an attorney registration requirement, CLE requirement, and are no longer required to update the Office of Attorney Services with contact information. <u>Note that retirement or resignation from the practice of law is unconditional, final, and irrevocable</u>.

3. <u>I was unable to complete the CLE requirements due to military duty, illness, or special circumstances. What are my options?</u>

Request for Exemption of CLE Requirements

The following attorneys may seek and be granted an exemption from CLE requirements:

- An attorney on full-time military duty who does not engage in the private practice of law in Ohio. (Form 9a)
- An attorney suffering from a severe, prolonged illness or disability that prevents participation in accredited programs and activities for the duration of the illness or disability.(Form 9b)
- An attorney who has demonstrated special circumstances unique to that attorney and constituting good cause to grant an exemption. (Form 9c)

To apply for an exemption from the CLE requirements, attorneys must complete the appropriate application form and submitted supporting military, medical, or other relevant documentation to support the request for exemption. Please send the exemption form and supporting documentation by email to <u>ccle@sc.ohio.gov</u>.