January 7, 2013
Justice Sharon L. Kennedy Swears in Members of the 130th General Assembly Senate

Justice Sharon L. Kennedy recently led the swearing-in ceremony of the members of the Ohio Senate to the 130th General Assembly.

Justice Kennedy administered the oath to the 23 republican members of the Senate on January 7. Prior to the ceremony in the Senate chambers, Justice Kennedy presided over a private ceremony for incoming members of the Senate and their families in the original courtroom of the Ohio Supreme Court, which is now a Senate hearing room.

After the swearing in ceremony, the senate members elected new leadership. Justice Kennedy sworn in the new leaders including Keith Faber (District 12, as president of the Senate; Chris Widener (District 10), as president pro tempore; Tom Patton (District 24), as majority floor leader; and Larry Obhof (District 22), as majority whip.

“I have had the distinct privilege to meet many wonderful public servants across Ohio and am fortunate to call them my friends,” Justice Kennedy said. “It was a privilege and honor to be asked to swear in the Republican members of the Ohio Senate as they begin their work entrusted to them by the people of this great state.”

Prior to joining the Supreme Court, Justice Kennedy served at the Butler County Court of Common Pleas Domestic Relations Division since 1999. She served as the administrative judge there from 2005 until December 2012. Justice Kennedy began her career in the justice system as a police officer in Hamilton, Ohio. She received her law degree from the University of Cincinnati College of Law.

For a high-resolution, print-quality photo of Justice Kennedy, visit: http://www.sc.ohio.gov/PIO/news/images/justices/kennedy_highres.zip.