Justices of the Supreme Court of Ohio

The Supreme Court of Ohio is established by Article IV, Section 1, of the Ohio Constitution. Article IV, Section 2, of the Constitution sets the size of the Court at seven - a chief justice and six justices - and outlines the jurisdiction of the Court.

The chief justice and six justices are elected to six-year terms on a nonpartisan ballot. Two justices are chosen at the general election in even-numbered years. In the year when the chief justice runs, voters pick three members of the Court. A person must be an attorney with at least six years of experience in the practice of law to be elected or appointed to the Court. Appointments are made by the governor for vacancies that occur between elections.

Click on the links below to access the biographies of the Chief Justice and Justices of the Supreme Court of Ohio.

Chief Justice Maureen O'Connor
Justice Sharon L. Kennedy
Justice Patrick F. Fischer
Justice R. Patrick DeWine
Justice Michael P. Donnelly
Justice Melody J. Stewart
Justice Jennifer Brunner