On Tuesday, July 17, 2012, the Supreme Court of Ohio launched an expanded news program – Court News Ohio – that features stories about the Ohio judicial system. This archived page on the Supreme Court’s website only displays news stories that occurred before that date. News stories that occurred on July 17 and thereafter can be found at www.courtnewsohio.gov.

March 1, 2012
Primary Election Features 140 Judicial Races

In Tuesday’s primary election, Ohio voters will cast ballots in 140 judicial races.

Judicial elections for the Supreme Court of Ohio, district courts of appeals, county common pleas courts and county courts occur in even-numbered years while elections for municipal courts occur in odd-numbered years. All judges in Ohio are elected to six-year terms.

Three incumbent Ohio Supreme Court Justices – Terrence O’Donnell, Robert R. Cupp and Yvette McGee Brown – are on the primary ballot, although none has an opponent in the primary.

Only one Ohio Supreme Court race is contested in the primary: former Eleventh District Court of Appeals Judge William O’Neill faces Hamilton County Municipal Court Judge Fanon A. Rucker in the Democratic primary with the winner appearing on the November general election ballot against Justice Cupp.

As for the state’s appeals courts, there are 23 judgeships on the ballot with 6 of those contested races in the primary. Voters will elect candidates in 114 common pleas judge races with 15 of these contested. County court judges do not run in primary elections.

The Ohio Supreme Court website will post results from all races by noon on Wednesday.

With assistance from the Ohio Judicial Conference, Ohio Supreme Court staff members assemble the election results from the local county boards of elections for administrative purposes and to communicate with new judges about payroll, benefits and other information.

For more information about the candidates, consult one of Ohio’s 88 county boards of elections.