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PROBATE BENCH CARDS

Ohio’s probate bench cards were developed to support judicial officers in their duty to provide
comprehensive and timely judicial action in probate cases.

The Honorable Kathleen L. Giesler, president of the Ohio Association of Probate Judges, initiated this
project on behalf of the judges in Ohio, and in particular those judges with both probate and juvenile
jurisdictions. The probate bench cards were a collaborative between the Ohio Association of Probate
Judges and the Supreme Court of Ohio.

The court wishes to extend special recognition and tremendous gratitude to: David M. Farmer, chief
magistrate, Montgomery County Probate Court; Bill Fisher, chief deputy clerk (retired), Licking County
Probate Court; Honorable Kathleen L. Giesler, Ottawa County Probate and Juvenile Court; John R.
Homolak, court administrator/magistrate, Cuyahoga County Probate Court; Samuel A. Peppers I1I,
partner, Dinsmore & Shohl LLP; Paul D. Rattermann, chief magistrate /administrator, Hamilton County
Probate Court; Tricia Rosengarten, chief deputy clerk, Shelby County Probate Court; and Roseanne Hilow,
magistrate, Cuyahoga County Probate Court; Patricia Hider, magistrate, Butler County Probate Court; and
Hon. Jan Long, Pickaway County Juvenile & Probate Court.

Any comments or questions about the probate bench cards should be directed to:

The Supreme Court of Ohio
Families & the Courts Section
65 South Front Street
Columbus, Ohio 48215-3431

614.387.9385
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FILINGS
1. Original Will
2. SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of

N o Ot

Kin, Legatees and Devisees

SPF 2.0: Application to Probate Will

SPF 2.1: Waiver of Notice of Probate of Will
SPF 2.2: Notice of Probate of Will

SPF 2.3: Entry Admitting Will to Probate

SPF 2.4: Certificate of Service of Notice of
Probate of Will

VENUE [R.C.210711]

1.
2.

Testator domiciled in Ohio at time of death

Testator not domiciled in Ohio at the time
of death, but filed in Ohio county where real
or personal property of testator is located,
provided the will has not been admitted to
probate in Ohio or another state.

ADMISSION

1.

If it appears from the face of the will or
there is testimony that will was executed in
compliance with Ohio law. [R.(C.210718]

Will declared valid during testator’s lifetime.

[R.C.2107.084]
Will admitted by prior judgment. [R.(. 210718]

Interlocutory Order denying admission
[R.C. 2107.181]

NOTICE/SERVICE [R(.210719]

1.

Notice of admission of will to be given
within 2 weeks of admission of will by:

[R.C. 210719(A)@)]
a. Applicant for admission of will
b. Fiduciary for estate

c. Applicant for release from
administration

d. An interested person
e. Attorney for any of the above

Notice of admission of will to be served
upon all next of kin, legatees and devisees.
(ivR.73()] (SPF 2.2)

3.

4.

Notice may be waived. [R.C.210719(A)(2)] (SPF 2.0
and 2.1)

Notice not required as to persons whose
names or places of residence are unknown

and cannot with reasonable diligence be
ascertained. [R.C.210719(B)]

Certificate of giving notice filed 2 months
after appointment of fiduciary or if no
fiduciary has been appointed 2 months after
admission of will to probate unless the court

grants an extension of time. [R.C 210719(A)@)]
[Sup.R.59]

LOST, SPOLIATED, OR DESTROYED WILL

1.

2.

Standard of Proof: Clear and convincing
evidence [R.C.2107.26(A)]

Findings:
a. The will was executed as required by the

jurisdiction in which it was executed.
[R.C. 2107.26(A)(1)]

b. The contents of the will. [R.C 2107.26(A)2)]

c. No person opposing admission
establishes by a preponderance of the

evidence that will was revoked.
[R.C.2107.26(B)]

Notice (by certified mail) upon:
a. Surviving spouse

b. All next of kin

c. Alllegatees and devisees

d

. All legatees and devisees in most recent
will prior to lost, spoliated, or destroyed
will.

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.

Ot i 0 N

Treatment of Will Not Properly Executed
[R.C.2107.24]

Oral Wills [R.C. 2107.60]

Probate of Later Wills [R.C. 2107.22]
Recording of Wills [(R.C.2107.21]
Search Wills on Deposit [Sup.R. 59]

2018 « PROBATE OF WILL







FILINGS

1. SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of

Kin, Legatees and Devisees
SPF 4.0: Application For Authority

SPF 4.1: Supplemental Application for
Ancillary Administration

SPF 4.2: Fiduciary Bond

SPF 4.3: Waiver of Right to Administer
SPF 4.4: Notice and Citation of Hearing
SPF 4.5: Entry Appointing Fiduciary
SPF 4.8: Fiduciary Acceptance [R.C.2109.02]

Nl

® N o O e

TYPES OF FIDUCIARIES

1. Intestate:
a. Administrator [R.C. 2113.06]
b. Special Administrator [R.C.211315-1/]
c. Administrator De Bonis Non [R.C.2109.26]
d. Ancillary Administrator. [Chapter 2129]
2. Testate:
a. Executor [R.C 2113.05]
b. Ancillary Executor [Chapter 2129]
c. Administrator With Will Annexed.

[RC.213.12]
VENUE
1. County of residence if death intestate
[R.C. 2113.01]

2. County of domicile if testate [R.(. 210711]

NOTICE [R(.2113.07]

1. Notice and citation of hearing to be served

upon all persons who have priority to
administer the estate. [(iV.R. 73], Form 4.4

2. Minors who would have been entitled to
administer estate, but for their minority
must be served with notice unless notice is
waived. [(ivR.4.2]

3. If a minor was nominated as executor
another fiduciary may administer the estate
until the minor reaches the age of majority
at which time the former minor may be
appointed. [RC 211513]

PRIORITY OF APPOINTMENT

1. Intestate [R.C 2113.06]
a. Surviving spouse who resides in Ohio.
b. Next of kin who resides in Ohio.

c. Other suitable person who resides in
Ohio.

d. Priority may be waived.

e. See SPF 4.3 - Priority may be lost by
neglect in filing. [R( 2113.06]

2. Testate [R.C 2113.05]
a. Person nominated in will.

b. If no nominated executor is able or
willing to serve to a legatee or devisee
named in the will who would have
been entitled to administer estate if the
decedent had died intestate.

c. If none of above, to some other suitable
person.

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENT

1. Intestate — resident of Ohio. [R.C.2109.21(A)]

2. Testate — resident of Ohio, or non resident
if related to decedent by affinity or
consanguinity, or a person who resides in a
state that authorizes the appointment of a
nonresident. [R.C. 2109.21B)(1)]

FIDUICARY BOND

1.

Required under R.(.2109.04 unless:

a. Surviving spouse who is entitled to entire
net proceeds. [R(. 2109.07]

b. Administrator is sole next of kin and
entitled to net estate. [R.C.2109.07]

2018 « APPOINTMENT OF FIDUCIARY




c. Bond waived by will. [R.C.2109.04]

d. Bond not waived in will, but executor
is the next-of-kin entitled to entire net
proceeds. [R(. 2109.09]

e. Fiduciary is sole residuary legatee or
distributee. [R.C. 2109.04]

f. Bond may be set by court if R(.2109.07 and
2109.09 do not apply.

2. Amount of bond shall be no less than
double the probable value of personal

property and annual real estate rental
income [R.(.2109.04]

3. Deposit in lieu of bond. [R.C.2109.13]

ENTRY (SPF 4.5)

The applicant must be found to:

1. Meet residence, priority, and bonding
requirements.

2. Be suitable, competent, and accepts
appointment. [R( 2113.05 and R.C. 2113.06]

p.2 2018 « APPOINTMENT OF FIDUCIARY

3. An administrator shall give written notice of

appointment to all next-of-kin who were not

served with notice of appointment or waived
notice. [Sup.R.60(B)]

SPECIAL ADMINISTRATOR [R(211315]

1.

Ex parte appointment if there is a delay in
granting letters of authority.

Special administrator to collect and preserve
assets of the decedent’s estate until executor
or administrator appointed.

Creditor claims may be presented to the
special administrator. [R(. 211317]

Bond requirements for special administrator

[R.C. 2109.08]

Special administrator must account for
assets coming into his or her hands [R(. 211316]




RIGHTS OF SURVIVING SPOUSE

FILINGS

1. SPF 7.1: Application for Family Allowance

2. SPF 7.2: Application for Apportionment of
Family Allowance

3. SPF 8.0: Citation to Surviving Spouse to
Exercise Elective Rights

4. SPF 8.1: Election of Surviving Spouse to
Take Under Will

5. SPF 8.2: Election of Surviving Spouse to
Take Against Will

6. SPF 8.3: Summary of General Rights of
Surviving Spouse

7. SPF 8.4: Certificate of Service and Notice
of Citation to Surviving Spouse to Exercise
Elective Rights

8. SPF 8.5: Return for Certificate of Service
of Citation to Surviving Spouse to Exercise
Elective Rights

9. SPF 8.6: Waiver of Service to Surviving
Spouse of the Citation to Elect

SERVICE

1. Citation to surviving spouse served after the
appointment of fiduciary, both testate and
intestate, by the court. [R( 2106.01(A)]; [Civ.R. 73]

2. Service of Citation may be waived.

[R.C. 2106.01(A)]

TIME FRAMES [R.(.2106.01(E)]

1. The surviving spouse must exercise all rights
within five months of the appointment

of fiduciary, unless otherwise provided by
statute. [R.C. 2106.25]

2. The time period may be extended upon
motion and good cause shown.

ELECTIONS
1. To take under the will (or taking no action).
(SPF 8.1)

2. To take against the will. (SPF 8.2) [R.C.2106.06]

Definition of net estate or acceleration of remainder interest
under R.C. 2106.01 (D). Further, if spouse is under a legal
disability, [R.C. 2181.02] the court must make an
election after appointing some suitable person to ascertain

the value of the provision made for the surviving spouse
by the testator as against the value of the rights of the
surviving spouse in the estate of the testator.

[R.C. 2106.08]

PROCEDURE (to take under R.C.2105.06) [R.C. 2106.06]

1. Hearing scheduled, upon request.

2. Election must be made in person before a
judge or magistrate.

3. Judicial officer shall explain the will, the
rights under the will, and the rights of the
spouse in the event of refusal to take under
the will.

RIGHTS [under R.C.2106.06]

1. To receive one-half of the net estate or
one-third of net estate, if two or more of
the decedent’s children or their lineal
descendants survive. [R.C. 2106.01C)]

2. To receive the mansion house or remain
rent free for one year. If the property is sold
before the year runs, then the spouse shall
be paid fair rental value. [R(. 210610 and 2106.15]

a. Election must be made at or before the
filing of the final account. [R.(. 2106.10(B)]

b. The mansion house includes decedent’s
title to the land and may include

household goods and certain farmland.
[R.C. 2106.10(F)]

3. To receive an allowance for support of up to
$40,000. [R.C.2106.13(A)]

a. Allowance may be apportioned between
surviving spouse and minor children
not born of the decedent or between
decedents’ minor children if no surviving
spouse. [R(.210613(A)] SPF 7.2 is filed within
5 months of appointment. [R.(. 2106.13(D)]
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b. If surviving spouse selects more than 5. To receive automobiles, unless specifically
one automobile pursuant to R.(. 210618, the bequeathed otherwise in the will [R.C. 2106.18]
allowance is reduced by the value of the a. That shall not exceed $65,000

ﬁ;llg(z)]gg%b;f d%?(g%%_]g?e lower value. b. “Automobile” includes a motorcycle and

a truck, if the truck is used as a method

4. To purchase property at appraised values of conveyance by the deceased spouse or

[R.C. 2106.16] family.

a. May purchase the decedent’s interest 6. To receive one watercraft and one outboard
in the mansion house and land where motor. [R.(.210619]
house is located, adjacent farmland, and )

7. To be reimbursed from estate for payment

household goods. [R.(.2106.16(A)] , .
] o of decedent’s funeral and burial expenses,
i. A complaint ("petition”) must be subject to creditor’s rights. [R.C.2106.20]

filed to purchase real property, and a . . :
motion (“application”) must be filed 8. To set aside Antenuptial or Separation

Agreement [R.(.2106.22]
to purchase personal property.
[R.C. 2106.16(B)] a. Action to set aside or to declare validity
of the agreement must be filed within 4

b. May purchase the decedent’s interest 0, .
Y P months of the fiduciary’s appointment.

in other probate property that does not
exceed one-third of the gross value of
the appraised estate. [R.C.2106.16(B)]
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FILINGS

1.

6.

SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of
Kin, Legatees and Devisees

SPF 3.0: Appointment of Appraiser and
Entry

SPF 6.0: Inventory and Appraisal
SPF 6.1: Schedule of Assets

SPF 6.2: Waiver of Notice of Hearing on
Inventory

SPF 6.3: Notice of Hearing on Inventory

TIME FRAME

Three months from appointment of fiduciary.
[R.C.2115.02]

PROBATE ASSETS

1.

2.

Real property in Ohio requires the full legal
description for real property and is valued
on the date of death. [R.C.2115.02]

Tangible and intangible personal property
that is to be administered that comes into

the possession or knowledge of the fiduciary.
[R.C. 2115.02 and 2115.09]

APPRAISER

1.

2.

Suitable disinterested appraiser may be
appointed to assist the fiduciary to value
property that does not have a readily
ascertainable value. [R.(.2115.02] (SPF 3.0)
[Sup. R. 61(B)]

a. Exception: County Auditor’s value may
be used for real property. [RC. 2115.06]

Appraiser may be compensated in an
amount that is approved by the fiduciary
and the Court. [R.C 2115.06]; [Sup.R. 61(A)]

NOTICE

1.

Taking of Inventory:

a. Not less than 5 days prior notice of the
taking of the Inventory must be served
on the surviving spouse. [R.(. 2115.04]

b. Proof of service of notice to be filed with
Inventory.

c. Notice may be waived. (SPF 6.0)

HEARING

1.

2.

3.

Inventory shall be set for hearing for
approval. [R.C211516]

Notice of hearing may be served on any
person interested in the estate. (SPF 6.3)
The probate court may order notice of
hearing on its own or on the motion of an
interested party. Notice may be waived. (SPF
6.2)

Exceptions:

a. To the approval of the Inventory may
be filed within five days of the hearing.
Exceptions must be served upon the
fiduciary and counsel.

b. Will be set for hearing and may be set for
a pre-trial hearing under SupR. 78(E).

ENTRY

The probate court shall enter its order to approve
the Inventory. [R.C. 2115.16]

The appraisement of real property on an approved Inventory
is conclusive for all purposes. The probate court may order real

property reappraised. [R.C. 2115.17]

FIDUCIARY BOND

Court may determine if the fiduciary bond is
sufficient upon the filing of an Inventory and may
require additional bond. [R.(.2109.06]
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FAILURE TO FILE OR APPEAR [R(.2115.03 and NEWLY DISCOVERED ASSETS

1109.24] A report of assets discovered after the Inventory
Citation: may be filed. [R.(. 2113.69]
1. File or appear

2. If fails to file:

a. Removal
Denial of fiduciary and attorney fees
Extension to file

$100 assessment and $25.00 court costs

oo o

Contempt of court
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ANCILLARY ADMINISTRATION
FILINGS

1.

&°

N o ot

SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of
Kin, Legatees and Devisees

SPF 4.0: Application for Authority

SPF 4.1: Supplemental Application for
Ancillary Administration

SPF 4.2: Fiduciary Bond
SPF 4.3: Waiver of Right to Administer
SPF 4.4: Notice of Citation of Hearing

SPF 4.5: Entry Appointing Fiduciary; Letters
of Authority

Acceptance [R.(.2109.02]

VENUE [R.(.2129.04]

1.

Ohio county where nonresident decedent
leaves property, or

2. Where a debtor of the decedent lives.
APPOINTMENT
1. Ancillary executor if named in will [R.(. 2129.08]

2.

Ancillary administrator if resident of county
[R.C. 2129.08]

Residency requirements may apply under
R.C.2109.21.

Fiduciary bond requirements may apply
under R.(. 2109.04.

Upon appointment of ancillary
administration, the procedure is the same
as the administration of estate of resident

decedent, unless noted differently by statute.
[R.C. 2129.10]

FOREIGN RECORDS

1. Authenticated copies of a will and

administration admitted of any other county,
state or territory, may be admitted in the
probate court where property is situated.

2. Probate of foreign will [R.(. 2129.07]

a. extracounty or extrastate administration

[R.C. 2129.01]

b. any state or territory of the United States
[R.C. 2129.05]

c. country other than the United States or
territories of the United States may set
forth in RC 2129.07 to R.C.2129.30. [R.C. 2129.06]

DUTIES OF ANCILLARY FIDUCIARY

. Address claims [R.C. 2129.02]

Sell real and personal property [RC 212913]

. Provide to domiciliary administrator, within

five months of appointment, a certificate
showing assets and liabilities

a. If administrator is unknown, then to the
next of kin and court having jurisdiction
of non-resident estate [R.C. 2129.15]

Distribute upon court approval personal
property and proceeds of real estate sold by
court order:

a. domiciliary administrator; or
b. persons entitled to receive [R.C.2129.23]

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.

&9

Request for sale by foreign executor
[R.C. 2129.25]

Sale by domicile fiduciary [R.(.212914]
Trusts created by foreign wills [R.C. 2129.27]

Appointment by trustee under foreign will
[R.C. 2129.30]

Transcript to be filed [R.C.2129.17]
Determination of heirship [R.C.212918]
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FILINGS

1.

7.
8.

SPF 7.0: Notice to Administrator of Medicaid
Estate Recovery Program

SPF 7.0(A): Certificate of Notice to
Administrator of Medicaid Estate Recovery
Program

SPF 24.0: Representation of Involvency

SPF 24.1: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing
and Ordering Notice

SPF 24.2: Notice of Hearing on
Representation of Insolvency and Schedule
of Claims

SPF 24.3: Verification of Service Notice of
Hearing upon Representation of Insolvency
and Schedule of Claims

SPF 24.4: Insolvency Schedule of Claims
SPF 24.6: Judgment Entry of Insolvency

PRESENTMENT ([R.C. 2117.06]

1.

To the fiduciary after appointment and
before filing of the final account

[RC.2117.06 (A) M]. A copy may be filed with the
probate court. [2117.06(A)(1)(b)]

Most claims are subject to presentment
within six months of decedent’s death

[R.C.2117.06 (B)]

Medicaid Estate Recovery claims are due to
be presented within ninety days of service of
SPF 7.0 or one year after decedent’s death,
whichever is later. SPF 7.0(A) is to be filed
with the court to verify service of notice on
the administrator of the Medicaid Estate
Recovery Program [R.C. 2117.061]

The probate court may not close the
administration of an estate until claims filed
with the court are resolved. [R.C. 2117.06 (I)]

ALLOWANCE/REJECTION [R(.2117.06 (D) and 211711]

1.

2.

Fiduciary may require authentication of
claim. [R.C. 2117.08]

Fiduciary may reject a claim in whole or in
part with notice to creditor pursuant to
(ivR.73. Notice by mail effective upon delivery
of mail.

3.

a. Ifa claim has been filed with the court
the fiduciary shall file a copy of a
rejection of the claim with the court.
[SupR 62 (A)]

An heir may file to request that the fiduciary
be required to reject a creditor’s claim. A
bond may be required. Upon posting of the
required bond, the fiduciary shall reject the
claim. [R.C211713]

The creditor has two months from the
rejection of a claim to file suit or the claim is
barred. [R.C 211712]

COMPROMISE [R(.2117.05]

Court may approve the compromise and settlement
of a claim after hearing and notice to persons who
would be adversely affected.

FIDUCIARY [R( 211701 and 2117.02]

1.

2.

Fiduciary must file claim with the court
within three months of appointment.

Hearing required for claim of $500.00 or
more. Fiduciary is to serve notice of hearing,
20 days prior to hearing, on all heirs and
creditors ordered by the court.

An appeal may be filed of any final order or
judgment. [R.C. 2117.04]

INSOLVENT ESTATE [R.C. 211715, 211717, and 2117.25]

1.

Fiduciary may file representation of

insolvency if it appears the estate is
insolvent. [R(. 211715] (SPF 24.0)

The court after notice and hearing that the
estate is insolvent and approve the actions
of the fiduciary to accept and reject and to
assign a priority of the payment. [RC 211717] See
SPF 24.0, SPF 24.1, SPF 24.2, SPF 24.3, SPF
24.4, SPF 24.5 and SPF 24.6.

3. Priority for payment of claims is set forth in
[R.C.2117.25].
OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
1. Contingent Claims [R.C. 2117.37]

2.

Claims Against Co-Debtors [R.(. 2117.42]
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FILINGS

1. SPF 24.0: Representation of Insolvency

2. SPF 24.1: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing and
Ordering Notice

3. SPF 24.2: Notice of Hearing on Representation
of Insolvency and Schedule of Claims (attached
to SPF 24.3 Verification of Service)

4. SPF 24.3: Verification of Service of Notice of
Hearing on Representation of Insolvency and
Schedule of Claims

SPF 24.4: Insolvency Schedule of Claims
SPF 24.6: Judgment Entry of Insolvency

SR

JURISDICTION & VENUE

An executor or administrator may report to the
court that the estate is insolvent and apply for any
order that the executor or administrator considers
necessary because of the insolvency. [RC211715] The
insolvency matter is heard in the decedent’s estate.

TIME FRAME

A Representation of Insolvency can be filed
during the administration of the estate only after
the Inventory and Schedule of Assets has been
approved by the court (SPF 6.0). Additionally, the
time for filing claims against the estate also must
have passed. [R.C.2117.06 &.061]

NOTICE/SERVICE

1. Notice of the hearing should be served upon
the surviving spouse, all persons having an
interest in the estate as devisees, legatees, heirs,
and distributes, all creditors and claimants
whose claims have been rejected. [RC 21T717(A)(1) - (2)]
Notice must be perfected at least 10 days before
the hearing is held. [R.C 211717(A)]

2. SPF Form 24.2 Notice of Hearing on
Representation of Insolvency and Schedule of
Claims should be used to send notice. The
notices should be attached to the Verification
of Service (SPF 24.3) with proof of service (e.g.,
certified mail return receipt cards).

3. Notice may be waived. [RC 211717(A)]

ore

4. Notice must be served personally or by certified
mail. [RC 211717(B)]

HEARING

1. The Court must determine whether the
executor or administrator acted properly in
allowing and classifying each claim and make an
order confirming or denying those actions.

[R.C. 211717 (O)1; [SPF 24.6]

ore

2. The court must consider and rule upon any
exceptions filed prior to the hearing by any
interested person as to the allowance or
classification of any specific claim. [R.C21T717(B)];
[SPF 24.6]

3. The court must determine whether the claims
against the estate exceed the amount of assets
of the estate in order to determine whether the
estate is insolvent. If the estate is determined to
be insolvent, the court must order the fiduciary
to pay the claims with available assets in the
order of classes of claims dictated by R.C 2117.25.
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4. The court must determine claims below a
designated class will not be paid, as there are no
funds available to pay the claims.

5. The court must order either the executor
or administrator to file a final account or a
certificate of termination (if applicable) after
the claims are paid. SPF 24.6 includes language
that 30 days should be given to file the account;
however, more time could be allowed in the
court’s discretion.

ore




VENUE [R.(C.2127.09]

1. County in which the executor, administrator,

or guardian was appointed.

2. County where real estate located.

DECEDENT ESTATE COMPLAINT [R.(.212710]

1. Basis for Sale: [R.C.2127.02 to 2127.04]

a. To pay debts [R.(.2127.02]

b. To pay legacies [R.(.2127.03]

c. Other circumstances [R.C. 2127.04]
2. Necessary Parties: [R.C.212712]

a. Surviving spouse

b. All persons entitled to inherit

c. Mortgage and lienholders
d. All persons holding title
e

. All other persons who have interest

GUARDIANSHIP COMPLAINT [R.(. 212710]
1. Basis for Sale: [R.C.2127.05]

a. Education of the ward
Support of the ward
Payment of debts
Discharge liens
Avoid waste
Better investment
Benefit the ward
. Lay out in town lots [R(.2127.21]
2. Necessary Parties: [R.C.212713]

a. The ward

O S

b. The ward’s spouse

c. The ward’s next of kin residing in Ohio
d. All lienholders
e

. All other persons who have interest

BOTH COMPLAINTS [R(.212710]
1. Legal description

2. Statement of value

.

REAL PROPERTY SUBJECT TO SALE

1. Legal or equitable interests in real property
including mineral rights. [R.(.2127.07]

2. Undivided fractional or entire interest may
be sold. [R(.2127.08]

SERVICE [R.C.212714]

1. Defendants must be served with summons
and complaint per (iv.R. 4.

2. Competent persons may waive service and
consent to the sale. If all parties consent to
the sale, an order of sale may be issued.

GUARDIAN AD LITEM

Upon motion, the court will appoint a Guardian
ad litem to represent the interest of the minor or
incompetent and to file an answer. [RC 2111.23];

[Gv.R.T7(B)]
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EVIDENCE OF TITLE

Evidence of title, to a date subsequent to the filing
of the complaint, is required to be filed prior to the
issuance of an order of sale, subject to local rules.

[Sup-R. 65(A)]

ENTRY FINDING SALE NECESSARY

1. Court may grant the relief if all necessary
parties are properly before the court.

[R.C. 212718]

2. Court may determine equities among parties
and priorities of liens. [R.C. 212718]

3. Order should find and include the
following:

a. All parties properly before the court.
b. Allegation in Complaint is true.

c. Proper basis to bring land sale action
under Chapter 2127. [R.(. 2127.02 to 2127.05]

d. Requirement of title evidence has been
met. [Sup.R. 65(A)]

e. Appraisement of property or is
appraisement dispensed with. [R(.212].27]

Need for additional bond. [R.(C.2127.27]

Approval of realty commissions.

SRR

Order of sale to be issued or deferred for
appraisement. [R(.2127.29]

APPRAISEMENT [R(.2127.22]

1. Ifreal property was appraised in the
Inventory of the fiduciary the court may
approve the use of the appraised value for
the real property set forth in the Inventory.

2. The court may order an appraisement if
the real property was not appraised in the
Inventory or if the court determines that a
new appraisal should be ordered. Oath of
Appraiser is required. [R(.2121.23] The court
shall set the compensation for the appraiser.

[R.C. 2121.25]

3. Upon the return and approval of the
appraisement the appraised value shall be
the appraised value of the real property.

ADDITIONAL BOND [R(.2121.27]

Upon approval of the appraisement the court shall
require the executor, administrator, or guardian to
post additional bond, unless testator has waived.

ORDER OF SALE [R(.2127.29]

1. The court will issue an order of public or

private sale that sets forth terms of sale.
[R.C.2127.34]

2. A private sale order requires the real
property to be sold for the appraised
value. [R(.212133] Order of private sale shall
be returned and if returned unsold the
court may order the real property sold at
public sale [R(.212132] or the court may fix
the price for sale or order the real property
reappraised. [R.(. 2121.33]

3. The real property may be sold at public
sale for not less than two-thirds of the
appraised value if improved or for not less
than one-half of appraised value if property
is not improved. [R.C.212733] Real property
sold at public sale must be sold at a fixed
place, day, and hour ordered by the court.
Notice of the time and place of sale shall be
advertised at least three successive weeks in
a newspaper of general circulation in the
county where the real property is situated.
[R.C.2127.32]

4. SupR.65(B) requires the Plaintiff to give
notice of the place and time of sale to all
defendants at least three week prior to
the sale. The Plaintiff is required to file a
certificate of service with the court prior to
the sale.
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OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

CONFIRMATION OF SALE [R( 212735]

1.

Upon return of the order of sale, and upon
motion, the court may confirm the sale if
the court finds that the sale in all respects
has been legally made.

The order to confirm the sale will authorize
the Plaintiff to issue a fiduciary deed, and
may order distribution of sale proceeds and
release of liens under R(. 212719 and R.(C. 2127.38.

The entry confirming sale shall include
the gross amount of the sale proceeds
and include a copy of the proposed
closing statement itemizing all proposed
disbursements. [Sup.R. 65(0)]

Property may be sold subject to a mortgage
with consent of the mortgagee. [R.(.2127.20]
Sale is free of dower. Payment for dower
interest shall be ordered unless waived.

[R.C. 212716]

Costs of certificate of title or policy of title
insurance may be allowed by the court.
[RC.2127.28] Real estate commissions may be

allowed after notice to all parties in interest.

[RC 2127.28] The executor, administrator, or
guardian may be allowed fiduciary fees and
reasonable attorney fees. [R.C.212737 and 2127.38]

1.

Summary Proceeding - market value of real
property is less than $3,000.00 [RC. 212711]

Objection to Sale [R(. 212131 and 212717];
[Sup.R. 65(D)]
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1. SPF 13.0: Fiduciary’s Account
2. SPF 13.1: Receipts and Disbursements

3. SPF 13.2: Assets Remaining in
Fiduciary’s Hands

4. SPF 13.3: Entry Approving and
Settling Account

5. SPF 13.4: Waiver of Partial Account

6. SPF 13.5: Notice of Hearing on
Account

7. SPF 13.6: Certificate of Termination

8. SPF 13.7: Waiver of Notice of Hearing
on Account

9. SPF 13.8: Application to Extend
Administration

10. SPF 13.9: Certificate of Service of
Account to Heirs or Beneficiaries

11. SPF 13.10: Notice to Extend
Administration

12. Status Report [Sup.R. 78(0)]

TYPES [R.(.2109.30]

1. Partial Accounting

a. Each partial accounting may be
waived by written consent of all
the legatees, devisees, or heirs, as
long as none of them are under
a disability, and filed in lieu of
a partial accounting otherwise
required. [R.C.2109.301(A)]

b. Status report filed for estates that
remain open after a period of
13 months from appointment of
fiduciary and annually thereafter.
(Sup.R. 78(0)]

c. Supplemental [RC( 2109.32(B)@)]
2. Final Accounting

a. Final Distributive

b. Final Non-Distributive

3. Certificate of Termination — fiduciary
is sole legatee, devisee and heir

[R.C.2109.301(B)2)] (SPF 13.6)

FILINGS

[ S

TIME FRAMES [R(. 2109.301]

1. Final Accounting

a. Six (6) months after appointment of
fiduciary, [R.C.2109.301(B)()] exceptions:

1. An Ohio estate tax return must be
filed. [R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(@)]

ii. A proceeding contesting the
validity of the decedent’s will
pursuant to R(. 210771 has been
commenced. [R.C.2109.301(B)(T)(b)]

iii. The surviving spouse has filed an
election to take against the will.

[RC3109.301(B)(1N)(0)]

iv. The administrator or executor is a
party in a civil action.
[R.C. 2109.301(B)(T)(d)]

v. The estate is insolvent.

[R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(e)]

vi. For other reasons set forth by the
administrator or executor, subject
to court approval, it would be
detrimental to the estate and its
beneficiaries or heirs to file a final
and distributive account.

[R.C. 2109.301B)(N(F)]
2. Partial Accounting [R(. 2109.301(B)#)]

a. After initial account is rendered
or waiver of partial account filed,
adm./exec. at least once each year
shall render further accounts or
file waivers of partial account until
estate is closed unless certificate of
termination is filed.

SERVICE/HEARING/NOTICE
1. Service of Account [R.C.2109.32(B)]

a. Copy of account provided by Adm./
Exec. to each heir in intestate estate
or each beneficiary of testate estate,
except:
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i. Heir or beneficiary with
unknown residence

ii. Beneficiary of specific bequest
or devise who has received
distribution and receipt has

been filed or exhibited with
Court.

b. Certificate of Service of Account
shall be filed with Court prior to
or simultaneously with filing of
account.

2. Hearing [R.C.2109.32(A)]

a. Every account shall be set for
hearing

b. Hearing not sooner than 30 days
after filing of account

3. Service of Notice of Hearing [R.(. 2109.33]

a. Fiduciary serves notice of hearing
on account pursuant to Rules of
Civil Procedure upon any person
interested in estate, including
creditors as court may direct.

i. Court, by local rule, may
require notice of hearing on
a final account be given to all
heirs in intestate estate and to
all residuary beneficiaries in a
testate estate.

b. Notice of hearing shall be served
at least 15 days prior to hearing
on account or may be waived by
any competent person.

c. Written exceptions filed 5 days
prior to hearing.

FAILURE TO FILE OR APPEAR [R(.2109.31]

1. Failure to file:
a. Citation issued

i. Court may issue at own
instance

ii. Court shall issue upon
application of interested party
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2. After citation, possible sanctions for the
continued failure to file include:

a. Removal

b. Denial of all or part of fiduciary fees
c. Extension to file
d

. $100.00 assessment and $25.00 court
costs

e. Contempt of court

f. Sanctions may be imposed only upon
a fiduciary and not upon surety of
any fiduciary
OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1. Motion to Vacate after Account
approved. [R(. 2109.35]

2. Court shall not close the estate until a
claim is allowed or rejected. [R.C.2117.06()]

3. Court shall not approve final account
until:

a. 3 months have passed since the death
of decedent [R.C.2109.32(B)(3)(@)]

b. Surviving spouse has filed an election
or time for making the election has
expired. [R.(.2109.32(B)(3)(b)]

4. If land has been sold, a copy of the
closing statement has been attached.
[Sup.R. 64(B)]

5. Final or distributive account shall not be
approved until all court costs have been

paid. [Sup.R. 64(B)]

6. Termination of surety bond for fiduciary
upon approval of final and distributive
account [R.C. 2109.32(A) ]

7. If Certificate of Termination is filed, sole
legatee/devisee/heir may be liable to
creditors for claims presented after filing
of Certificate of Termination and within

time allowed by R.C. 2117.06 [R.C. 2109.301(B)(3)]




FILINGS

1. SPF 14.0: Application to Approve Settlement
and Distribution of Wrongful Death and
Survival Claims. A Statement of Facts and
other supporting documents should be
attached pursuant to SupR.70.

2. SPF 14.0 (Bottom) or Local Form: Entry
Setting Hearing and Ordering Notice

3. SPF 14.1: Waiver and Consent Wrongful
Death and Survival Claims

4. SPF 14.2: Entry Approving Settlement and
Distribution of Wrongful Death and Survival
Claims

5. SPF 14.3: Report of Distribution of Wrongful
Death and Survival Claims

6. SPF 14.3 (Bottom) or Local Form: Entry
Approving Report of Distribution

JURISDICTION & VENUE

A personal representative appointed by a probate
court may settle with a defendant in a wrongful
death case with the consent of the court making
the appointment. [R.C.2125.02(0)]

ore

TIME FRAME

A civil action for wrongful death shall be
commenced within two (2) years after the
decedent’s death, subject to certain statutory
exceptions. [R(2125.02(D)] There is no time frame
for filing of an application to approve a wrongful
death settlement. However, the existence of a
wrongful death action is grounds to extend the

administration of the decedent’s estate beyond 6
months. [RC2109.301B)(N)(d)]; (SPF 13.10)

ore

NOTICE/SERVICE

1. Notice of the hearing should be served upon
those persons rebuttably presumed to have
suffered damages as a result of the wrongful
death, i.e. the surviving spouse, children
and parents of the deceased. [RC2125.02A)(1]
Other “relatives” who suffered damages
should also be given notice (e.g. siblings or

grandparents). [R.C 2125.02(A)(1)]

2. Notice should be served pursuant to (iv.R. 73(E).
3. Notice may be waived. (SPF 14.1)

HEARING

1. The court must consider whether to approve
the proffered settlement. [R.C 2125.02(0)];
[Sup.R.70] Compensatory damages on a
wrongful death claim include loss of
support, loss of services, loss of society, loss
of inheritance and mental anguish.

[R.C. 2125.02(B)]

2. The court must consider whether the claim
is entirely for wrongful death (e.g. the
decedent died instantly in a car crash) or
for a survival claim (e.g. the decedent was
injured but died from an unrelated illness)
or a hybrid of both (e.g. decedent was
injured and died as result of the injuries
one month later). Payment on the wrongful
death component is not included in the
probate estate of the decedent. Payment on
the survival claim component is part of the
probate estate.

2018 « WRONGFUL DEATH CLAIMS




3. The court shall adjust the share of each MINORS

beneficiary in an equitable manner, taking
into consideration the injury and loss each
beneficiary suffered due to the death as

well as taking the age and condition of each
beneficiary into account. RCZ5BA)(0)] However,
if all beneficiaries are adult, competent, and
on the same plane of consanguinity, they may
adjust the shares among themselves without
court involvement. [R.C. 2125.05(A)()]

. The burden of proof to approve the amount
of the settlement is upon the personal
representative. Each beneficiary of the
wrongful death action has the burden to
prove the injury and loss they suffered as a
result of the wrongful death.

. The standard of proof is by preponderance
of the evidence.

. The statute expressly allows for the award
of funeral and burial expenses incurred as a
result of the wrongful death. [RC 2125.02(A)(2)].
Outstanding medical bills and subrogation
claims may be ordered paid from the
settlement proceeds.

1. If the decedent was a minor, a parent who
abandoned the minor can be ordered by
the court not to recover any damages from
the wrongful death action. The personal
representative or other wrongful death
beneficiary may file the motion. [R(. 2125.02(A)(1)
and (B)(7]

2. If a minor is a beneficiary of the wrongful

death action as defined in R.C. 2125.02(G)@), a
Guardian ad litem should be appointed to
represent the interest of the minor in the
proceedings if the personal representative
is the minor’s surviving parent or who
otherwise has a conflict with the minor’s
interest.

3. The court may create a trust for any

beneficiary of the wrongful death action
who is under 25 years of age. [R.C.2125.03(A)(]
The trustee of such a trust shall be approved
by each adult beneficiary and by the
guardian of each minor beneficiary before
being appointed. [R.(.2125.03 (A)(2)]

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

Removal of Executor or Administrator [R.C. 2113.18(B)]
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FILINGS

1. Receipt, contract, or written declaration to
verify payment or obligation to pay funeral
and burial expenses.

2. SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of
Kin, Legatees and Devisees

3. SPF 5.10: Summary Release From
Administration

4. SPF 5.11: Entry Granting Summary Release
From Administration

5. SPF 12.0: Application for Certificate of
Transfer

6. SPF 12.1: Certificate of Transfer

APPLICANT [R(. 2113.031]

Surviving Spouse:

1. The value of the probate assets does not
exceed $40,000.00 for the allowance for
support under R.(.210613(8) (SPF 5.10) and an
amount not to exceed $5,000.00 for funeral
and burial expenses; and

2. The surviving spouse is entitled to receive
the entire allowance for support and has
paid or is obligated in writing to pay the
decedent’s funeral and burial expenses
not to exceed $5,000.00 or the funeral and
burial expenses have been prepaid.

Other Persons:

1. The value of probate assets does not exceed
the lesser of $5,000.00 or the funeral and
burial expenses.

2. The applicant paid or is obligated in writing
to pay the funeral and burial expenses.

APPLICATION (SPF 5.10)

1. Must describe all known assets and be signed
and acknowledged in the presence of a

notary or the deputy clerk of probate court.

ENTRY (SPF 5.11)

1. Probate Court shall order a summary release
from administration if:

a. The applicant satisfies statutory
requirements of R.C.2113.03]

b. There are no pending proceedings
to administer the decedent’s estate or
to relieve the decedent’s estate from
administration under R.C 2113.03, and

c. The SPF 5.10 filed by the applicant lists
all known assets of the decedent.

CERTIFICATE OF TRANSFER (SPF 12.0 and
12.1)

1. The surviving spouse may elect to receive
the mansion house under R.(.210610 in a
summary release.

2. The applicant shall file an Application
for Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.0) if an
interest in real property is listed on SPF 5.10.

3. The probate court is required to issue a
Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.1) within
five days of the filing of the Application for
Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.0) under
R.C.2113.61(C).
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FILINGS

1.

Ot L0 o

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of
Kin, Legatees and Devisees

SPF 2.0: Application To Probate Will

SPF 2.3: Entry Admitting Will to Probate
SPF 3.0: Appointment of Appraiser

SPF 5.0: Application to Relieve Estate from
Administration

SPF 5.1: Assets and Liabilities of Estate to be
Relieved from Administration

SPF 5.2: Waiver of Notice of Application to
Relieve Estate from Administration

SPF 5.3: Notice of Application to Relieve
Estate from Administration

SPF 5.4: Publication of Notice

SPF 5.6: Entry Relieving Estate from
Administration

SPF 7.0: Certificate of Notice to
Administrator of Medicaid Estate Recovery
Program

SPF 7.0(A) Notice to Administrator of
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program

SPF 7.2: Application for Apportionment of
Family Allowance

SPF 11.0: Consent to Power to Sell Real
Estate

SPF 12.0: Application for Certificate of
Transfer

SPF 12.1: Certificate of Transfer

APPLICANT [R.C. 2113.03]
Surviving Spouse:

1.

The value of the probate assets are
$100,000.00 or less for death on or after
March 18, 1999 (SPF 5.0) and:

The surviving spouse is entitled to all assets
of the estate by the terms of a valid will; or

The surviving spouse is entitled to receive
all assets of the estate for the allowance
for support under R(.2106.3(B) and/or

for inheritance under R.C.2105.06, and the
marriage was solemnized in a manner
consistent with R.C 3101

Other Persons:
1. The value of probate assets are $35,000.00
or less for deaths on or after November 9,
1994 (SPF 5.0).

APPLICATION (SPF 5.0)

1. Must state if the decedent died testate or

intestate. If testate, pleadings to probate the
will may be required. [R.C. 2113.03(F)]

2. Must state that the value of the probate
assets meet the requirements for a release
for the date of death as noted on SPF 5.0.

3. The probate court may order notice to be
given to the surviving spouse and heirs at
law, and order notice to all interested parties
by publication. (SPF 5.2, 5.3, and 5.4)

ASSETS (SPF 5.1)

1. The applicant is required to describe and to
value the probate assets on SPF 5.1.

2. An approved appraiser may be used to
value assets that do not have a readily
ascertainable value, and be paid as provided
for under R.C.2115.06.

3. The applicant is required to list all known
debts of the decedent on the SPF 5.1.

4. The applicant is required to serve SPF
7.0(A) on the Administrator of the Medicaid
Estate Recovery Program and to file SPF
7.0 with the probate court if the decedent
was age 55 or older or was a permanently
institutionalized individual who was
receiving Medicaid assistance. [R.C. 2117.061]

5. If the allowance for support must be
apportioned under R(.2106.3 the applicant
shall file SPF 7.2 and obtain an order for the
probate court.
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ENTRY (SPF 5.6) APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER
1. Probate Court shall order the estate relieved [RC. 213.05(B)]
from administration if: 1. The probate court may appoint a

a. The assets meet the statutory
requirements of R( 2113.031; and

b. Required notice has been given.

[R.C.2113.03(B)]
2.
CERTIFICATE OF TRANSFER (SPF 12.0 and
12.1)
1. Surviving spouse may elect to receive the 3

mansion house under R.C.2106100D) in a release
from administration.

2. The applicant shall file an Application
for Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.0) if an
interest in real property is listed on SPF 5.1.
[R.C.2113.61]

3. The probate court is required to issue a
Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.1) within

five days of the filing of the Application for
Certificate of Transfer under R.C. 2113.61(C).
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commissioner to receive the assets, to sell
personal property assets, to pay the debts
and expenses and to distribute the assets as
authorized.

The commissioner may be authorized by the
filing of consents to a power of sale of real
property (SPF 11.0) under R.C 212701 or to sell
the decedent’s interest in real property.

. The commissioner may be ordered to file

a Commissioner’s Report within 60 days of
his or her appointment to verify that the
commissioner has performed his or her

duties. (SPF 5.6)
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FILINGS

1. Form 18.0: Petition for Adoption of Minor
2. Form 18.1: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing

3. Form 18.2: Notice of Hearing on Petition for
Adoption

4. Form 18.3: Consent to Adoption

5. Form 18.4: Judgment Entry Finding Consent
Not Required

6. Form 18.5: Interlocutory Order of Adoption

7. Form 18.6: Final Decree of Adoption (After
Interlocutory Order)

8. Form 18.7: Final Decree of Adoption
(Without Interlocutory Order)

9. Form 18.8: Adoption Certificate for Parents
10. Form 18.9: Petitioner’s Account

11. Vital Statistics - Certificate of Adoption
(HEA 2757)

12. Form 19.0: Petition for Adoption of Adult
13. Form 19.1: Final Order of Adult Adoption

14. Form 19.2: Petition to Recognize Foreign
Adoption

15. Form 19.3: Order for Ohio Birth Record for
Foreign Born Child

WHO MAY ADOPT ([R.(C.3107.03]

Married couple

Unmarried adult

Unmarried minor parent of adoptee or
Married adult without joining spouse if:

1. stepparent adoption

2. legally separated pursuant to R.(.3103.06 or 310517

3. spouse fails to join because of a prolonged,
unexplained absence, unavailability,
incapacity, or other reasonable
circumstances.

VENUE [R.(.3107.04]

Petition for adoption filed in the county where:
1. adoptee was born or resides

petitioner resides

parent of adoptee resides

petitioner is stationed for military service or

Ot 0N

agency having permanent custody is located.

PLACEMENT [R.C. 510315 and 5103.16]

Persons having custody of child may enter
into written agreement with agency certified

by Department of Job & Family Services to give
custody of child to the agency or may place/
receive child for adoption or intent to adopt if

WHO MAY BE ADOPTED [R(. 3107.02]

e A minor, or

* A non-objecting adult if:

1. Totally or permanently disabled
2. Intellectual disability (as defined in R.C.5123.01)

3. Established child-foster caregiver, kinship
caregiver or child-stepparent relationship
while a minor and consents

4. On 18th birthday was in permanent
custody or in Planned Permanent Living
Arrangement of a children’s services agency
and consents or

5. Adult is child of spouse of petitioner and
consents

6. Became 18 between filing of petition and

court decision and consents in writing

all of the following criteria are met:

1. Parent[s] have applied to and appeared
before probate court, where they reside or
where person seeking to adopt resides, for
approval of placement and signed/filed
written statement they are aware of right to
contest decree of adoption [R.C.510316(D)(1)]

2. Court ordered independent home study per
R.C.3107.031 and after completion, court
determined placement in best interest of
child [R.C.510316(D)(2)]

3. Court approved of record the proposed
placement. [R.C510316(D)(3)]

4. Suitability of placement of foreign children
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for adoption determined by probate court;
look to compliance with laws of the country
in which the child resides and release in
accordance with the “Immigration and
Nationality Act” 8 US.C.101 (h)(D(F). [R.C.510316(D)(3)]

*Does not apply to adoption by stepparent,
grandparent, grandparent’s husband or wife, a
legal custodian or a guardian.

¢ Placement by Attorney

A. Preplacement/Post Placement Approval of
Prospective Adoptive Parent(*s)

1. Filing of Pre or Post Placement
Application
a. File Supplement to Preplacement

Application and any other requested
documents

B. Birth Parent requirements Prior to
Placement Hearing [R.C. 5103.16]

1. Birth parent(s) must meet with an
Adoption Assessor

a. Assessor’s duties [R.C. 3107082 and 3107.03]

2. The court may want to assign counsel for
minor parent(s) and parent(s) under
guardianship

C. Placement Hearing requirements

1. Birth parent must appear in the probate
court county where a birth parent resides
or wehere the prospective adoptive
parent(s) reside [R.(.3107.04]

2. Determination of necessity of parental
consent [R.C.3107.06 and R.C. 3107.07]

3. Execution of parental consent [R(.3107.08
and R.C. 3107.081]

4. Preliminary check of the Putative Father
Registry
5. The court must:

a. Approve the birth parents’
application for placement

b. Find that birth parent(s) have
consented to the adoption as
proposed and understand her/his/
their right to contest the adoption
under R.C.310716
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c. Find that the proposed placement is
in the “best interest” of the child to
be adopted [R.(.3107161]

D. Post Placement Orders and Filings
1. Hospital Release

2. Petition for adoption is filed [R.(.3107.04
through R.C. 3107.051]

* Placement by Adoption Agency

A. Agency will prepare all documentation
necessary for approval of adoptive parent(s)

B. Agency assessor will meet with biological
parent(s) [R.C 3107.082]

C. See previous section, Placement by Attorney
(A), (B), and (C)

* Placement statute does not apply to relative/
guardian's placement [R.C.510316(E)(1)]

INTERSTATE COMPACT [R(.5103.20]

Controls the Adoption of Children Born in One State
to Be Adopted in Another

* Form 100A -signed by Compact Director from
sending state and receiving state

* Form 100B —report on placement status/
compact termination

* Forms can be found at Interstate Compact on
the Placement of Children (ICPC) website:
http://alossary.adoption.com/interstate-compact-on-the-placement-of-
children- (icpc).ntml

PETITION FOR ADOPTION [R(.3107.05]

e  Must contain:

1. date and place of birth of adoptee

2. name of adoptee, if known

3. new name to be used

4. date of placement and name of person
placing minor

5. petitioner’s full name, age, place and
duration of residence

6. petitioner’s marital status (date and place of
marriage)




relationship of petitioner to adoptee, if any

petitioner’s resources

© ® 3

account of property of adoptee;

10. name and address, if known, of the person
whose consent is required, but has not
consented, and facts explaining lack of
consent.

® Must also have certified copy of adoptee’s birth

certificate and ordinary copy of required
consents.

CONSENT REQUIRED BY: [R.(C.3107.06]

e Mother of the minor;
e Father, if:

1. minor was conceived while mother and
father were married

2. minor was adopted by father or

3. paternity was established in a court
proceeding or acknowledged'

e Putative father of minor;

* Any person or agency having permanent
custody or court order to consent;

* Minor if more than 12 years old, unless court
determines consent is not required.

CONSENT NOT REQUIRED BY: [R.(.3107.07]

e Parent who has not communicated with the
minor or provided support for 1 year

¢ Putative father who didn’t timely register with
the putative father registry, is not the father,
willfully abandoned or didn’t support child,
or willfully abandoned the mother during
pregnancy

® Parent whose right to consent was relinquished
or terminated

® Legal guardian who failed to respond to request
for consent within 30 days or who is withholding
consent unreasonably

® The spouse of the adoptee if consent
cannot be attained because of prolonged
unexplained absence, unavailability, incapacity,
or circumstances that make it impossible or

unreasonably difficult to obtain the consent or
refusal of the spouse.

e Does not include all situations under R.C. 3107.07(F)
speaks to consent of convicted rapist where
adoptee conceived by rape and R.(.3107.07()
considers consent of the parent/guardian
located in a foreign county.)

EXECUTION OF CONSENT (R.C.3107.08]

* Consent to adoption may be executed 72 hours
after the birth of the minor by:

1. person to be adopted, in the presence of the
court

2. parent of person to be adopted

3. executive head or other authorized
representative of an agency

4. any other person, in the presence of the
court or an authorized person or

5. ajuvenile court, by appropriate order.

WITHDRAWAL OF CONSENT [R(.3107.084]

¢ (Can be withdrawn prior to entry of
interlocutory order or final order.
o Hearing to determine best interest of the
child with notice to petitioner, person
seeking withdrawal, and placing agency.

* (Cannot be withdrawn after entry of
interlocutory order or final order.

PRELIMINARY ESTIMATES AND FINAL
ACCOUNTING [R.C.3107.05]

® Petitioners file preliminary estimate not later
than the time adoption petition is filed.

* Itemized, attested final accounting of all
disbursements made in connection with
adoption, including charges of attorney/agency,
filed no later than 10 days before final hearing;
final decree not issued until at least 10 days
after final accounting filed.

e Permissible disbursements found in R.C. 3107.055;
court may reduce or prohibit.
* No accounting for stepparent adoptions.
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HEARING AND NOTICE [R.( 310711]

* After petition, court sets hearing any time more
than 30 days after placement.

* Atleast 20 days’ notice of hearing given to:

1. anyone whose consent is required but who
has not consented

2. person whose consent is dispensed with but
who hasn’t consented; and

3. anyone having temporary or permanent
custody of child.

ASSESSMENT [R(.310712]

® Before court issues final decree or finalizes
interlocutory order, assessor must conduct a
prefinalization assessment of minor/petitioner;
written report at least 20 days before final
hearing (stepparent adoption assessment
optional).

* Assessment includes:
1. adjustment to placement
2. needs of minor and petitioner

3. physical, mental, and developmental
condition of the minor

4. minor’s biological family background
5. reasons for placement

6. attitude of minor toward adoption;

7

. if the minor is an Indian Child how
placement complies with Indian Child
Welfare Act of 1978

8. psychological history, including prior abuse

9. if applicable, forms and documents required
under R.(.3107.032, 310710, and 3107.101.

10. Social and medical history of biological
parents.

HOME STUDY R (. 3107.031]

e Except for foster children in the home for at
least 6 months, the home study shall be filed
with court at least 10 days before petition for
adoption is heard.

p.4 2018 « ADOPTION

* A qualified adoption assessor shall prepare the
home study, prefinalization assessments, and
any other reports required by the court

* Assessor qualifications under R.C 3107.014. Must be
employed by, appointed by or under contract
with a court, public children services agency,
private child placing agency or private
noncustodial agency. Individual must be a:

1. Licensed professional counselor, social
worker or marriage and family therapist

2. Licensed psychologist

3. Student working to earn a four year, post-
secondary degree or higher in a social or
behavior science, who conducts assessor’s
duties under the supervision of a licensed
professional counselor, social worker,
marriage and family therapist, psychologist
(as of July 1, 2009, a student is eligible only
if the supervising professional counselor,
social worker, marriage and family therapist
or psychologist has completed training in
accordance with rules adopted under
R.C. 3107.015)

4. Civil service employee engaging in social
work without a license under R.( 4757.
5. Former employee of a public children

services agency who, while employed,
conducted the duties of an assessor.

EFFECT OF FINAL DECREE [R.(.31071]

* Decree relieves biological or other legal parents
of parental rights and responsibilities, except
with respect to spouse of petitioner.

APPEAL [R(.310716]

e After 1 year, the order cannot be questioned,
even for fraud, unless:

1. petitioner has not taken custody of minor

2. stepparent adoption would not have been
granted but for fraud of the petitioner
stepparent or spouse or

3. in an adult adoption, the adult has no
knowledge of the order within a 6-month
period.




CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION [R(.310719]

® (lerk or adoptive parents may forward copy of
Certificate of Adoption to Bureau of Vital
Statistics within 30 days of final order.

RELEASE OF IDENTIFYING INFORMATION

¢ Adopted prior to 1964, adoptees and lineal
descendants over the age of 18 may file an
Application for Adoption File with the Ohio
Department of Health (ODH) (Form HEA
3011) [R.C.3107.38]

e Adopted Jan. 1, 1964 through Sept. 18, 1996,
adoptees and lineal descendants over the age
of 18 may file an Application for Adoption File

and Authorization of Release of Adopted Name
with ODH

o Application for Adoption File (Form HEA
3011)

a. $20 filing fee
b. Two forms of identification

c. Lineal descendants will have to show
lineal relationship between themselves
and the adoptee

o Authorization of Release of Adopted Name
(Form HEA 3036)

a. Filed by adoptee

b. Allows ODH to release adopted name to
biological parents or siblings upon their
request

c. May be rescinded by filing Rescission
of Authorization of Release of Adopted
Name (Form HEA 3037)

* Adopted after Sept. 18, 1996

o Adoption records may be opened if the
adopted person is older than 21 by filing
Application for Adoption File with ODH
(Form HEA 3011) [R5.C.3107.47]

o If between the ages of 18 and 21, adoptive
parent may request adoption file [R.(.3107.47]

® Regardless of date of adoption, and upon
request to the court, the Social/Medical History
form maintained by the court may be inspected

by the adoptive parents during the minority of
adopted person, or by the adopted person once
he/she reaches the age of majority [R(.310717]

OPEN ADOPTIONS

* Profiles of prospective adoptive parents may be
shown to birth parent. [R.C 31076]

* Does not provide for birth parent to maintain
parental authority or control. [R.C.3107.065(A)(1)]

REFINALIZATION OF FOREIGN ADOPTION
[R.C.310718(A) and (B)]

¢ (Child born in foreign country is placed with
adoptive parent(s) in this state for purpose
of adoption and if adoption was previously
finalized in country of child’s birth, adoptive
parents may file petition in probate court in
their county of residence requesting court issue
a final decree of adoption or interlocutory
order of adoption pursuant to R( 310714

* Proof of finalization of adoption outside U.S. is
prima-facie evidence of consent of parties who
are required to give consent even if foreign
decree or certificate of adoption was issued with
respect to only one of two adoptive parents who
seek to adopt child in this state

e Visa IH4 or IR4

® (Cases where adoption completed prior to
adoptive parents seeing the child, often by use
of proxy or power of attorney

® Ohio recognizes the adoption of child, with or
without citizenship attaching. Ohio gives full
faith and credit to a foreign decree for child
legally residing in the state

¢ Upon completion of adoption, couple must
file with Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration
Services to obtain citizenship for the child

¢ IH-4 Visa if child was adopted from a Hague
country and the adoption was finalized in the
United States or an IR-4 Visa if the child was
adopted from a non-Hague country and the
adoption was finalized in the United States

e Need all of above information
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REGISTRATION OF FOREIGN BIRTH
RECORD [R(.310718(0)]

¢ Person who has adopted child pursuant to
decree or certificate of adoption recognized in
this state that was issued outside the U.S. can
request the court of county in which person
resides to order the department of health to
issue a foreign birth record for the adoptive
person under R.C 370512(A)4)

o Court may specify change of name for child

and if physician recommended a revision of
birth date, a revised birth date

o Court shall send to department of health:
order and copy of foreign adoption decree
or certificate of adoption and, if not in
English, a certified translation

e  Visa IH-3 or IR-3

* FEach adoptive parent personally observed child
prior to adoption finalization and child is less
than 16 years old

e (Child becomes citizen upon going through
customs in U.S. airport

¢ IH-3 Visa if child was adopted from a Hague
country and the adoption was finalized in that
country or an IR-3 Visa if the child was adopted
from a non-Hague country and the adoption
was finalized in that country

® Foreign Adoption Decree Translation
® Foreign Birth Certificate Translation
¢ Documentation regarding immigration status

*See www. USCIS.gov (U.S. Citizenship
& Immigration Services).
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PUTATIVE FATHER REGISTRY [R(.3107.064]

e (Court shall not issue final decree or finalize
interlocutory order unless, pursuant to
R.C.3107.063, a certified document from the Ohio
Department of Job & Family Services is filed,
which must be dated 31 or more days after date
of minor’s birth.

¢ This document not required if any of following
apply:
1. Mother was married at time minor was
conceived or born

2. Parent placing minor for adoption
previously adopted the minor

3. Prior to date petition is filed, a man has
been determined to have a parent and child
relationship with minor by court pursuant
to RC31M.01 to 311118, by court proceeding
in another state, administrative agency
proceeding pursuant to R.C 311138 to 311154, or
administrative agency proceeding in another
state

4. Minor’s father acknowledged paternity of
minor or

5. Public children services agency has
permanent custody of minor pursuant to
R.C. 2151 or RC.510315(B) after both parents lost or
surrendered parental rights, privileges and
responsibilities over minor.




GUARDIANSHIP

Guardianship

Emergency Guardianship
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FILINGS

1. SPF 15.0: Next of Kin of Proposed Ward

2. SPF 15.01: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing on
Application for Appointment of Guardian

. SPF 15.1: Waiver of Notice and Consent

. SPF 15.2: Fiduciary’s Acceptance — Guardian
. SPF 15.3: Guardian’s Bond

. SPF 15.5: Guardian’s Inventory
. SPF 15.9: Oath of Guardian

3
4
5
6. SPF 15.4: Letter of Guardianship
7
8
9

. SPF 17.1: Statement of Expert Evaluation
10. SPF 17.7: Guardian’s Report

11. SPF 17.8: Court Investigator’s Report on
Proposed Guardianship

JURISDICTION & VENUE [R(. 2111.02(A)]

Proposed ward has, or had before losing cognitive
ability to choose, residence in this county.

NOTICE/SERVICE [R(.211.04]

Notice provided to the ward, next of kin, and other
interested persons.

PROPOSED WARD’S RIGHTS |[R.C.2111.02(0)(7)]

1.

The right to be represented by independent
counsel of the proposed ward’s choice.

The right to have a friend or family member
of proposed ward’s choice present.

The right to have evidence of an
independent expert evaluation introduced.

If the proposed ward is indigent, upon the
proposed ward’s request:

a. The right to have counsel and an
independent expert evaluator appointed
at court expense; and

b. If the appointment of a guardian is
appealed, the right to have counsel
appointed and necessary transcripts
prepared at court expense.

GUARDIAN’S RESPONSIBILITIES/DUTIES

1. General Responsibilities

a.

a2

J-

k.

Obey all orders of the probate court and
comply with all local, state, and federal law
governing guardianships. [Sup.R. 66.08(A)]

Meet with the proposed ward at least.
[Sup-R. 66.08(B)]

Immediately report any allegations of abuse,

neglect, or exploitation of a ward.
[Sup-R. 66.08(C)]

Notify the court and seek to limit or
terminate the guardianship authority if
necessary. [Sup.R. 66.08(D)]

Notify of change of residence. [SupR. 66.08(F)]

Seek approval from this court before filing a
suit for the ward. [Sup.R. 66.08(F)]

File annually a guardianship. [Sup.R. 66.08(G)]

If a guardian has 10 or more wards, register
with the court and provide required
information. [Sup.R. 66108(H)]

Inform the court of the ward’s income.
[Sup.R. 66.08(1)]

Avoid conflicts of interest. [Sup.R. 66.08(K)]
File ward’s legal papers. [Sup.R. 66.08(1)]

2. Responsibilities to ward

a.

Professionalism, character, and integrity.
[Sup.R. 66.09(A)]

Exercise due diligence when making
decisions. [Sup.R. 66.09(B)]

Make choices that are the least restrictive.
[Sup.R. 66.09(0)]

Advocate for services focused on ward’s
wishes. [Sup.R. 66.09(D)]

Foster and preserve positive relationships in
ward life. [SupR. 66.09(E)]

Communicate privately with the ward
by meeting at least once quarterly or as
determined by the court. [Sup.R. 66.09(F)]
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. Do not provide direct services to the ward.

[Sup.R. 66.09(G)]

. Monitor and coordinate all services and

benefits provide to the ward. [Sup.R. 66.09(H)]

Seek advice and strive to honor ward’s

wishes regarding extraordinary medical
issues. [Sup.R. 66.09(1)]

Be informed about the ward’s end-of-life
preferences. [Sup.R. 66.09()]

. Manage caseload. [Sup.R. 66.09(K)]

Keep the ward’s personal and financial
information confidential. [Sup.R. 66.09(L)]

HEARING REQUIREMENTS [R (. 211.02(0)]

1. Requirements:

a. Prior to the appointment of a guardian
or limited guardian under division
R.C.21M.02(A) or (B)(1) of this section, the court
shall conduct a hearing on the matter of
the appointment.

b. Any proposed guardian shall appear at
the hearing.

c. All appointed guardians of the estate
shall swear under oath that the guardian:

i.  Will fulfill the duties of a guardian;
and [R(. 21113

ii. In addition, guardians of the
estate shall swear under oath that
the guardian has made and will
continue to make diligent efforts to
find and report all assets belonging
to the estate of the ward in a true
inventory in accordance with R 211114
and will faithfully and completely
file timely and accurate reports and
accountings.

d. If the hearing is conducted by a
magistrate, the procedures set forth in
(ivR.53 shall be followed.
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2.

3.

e. The burden of proving incompetency
shall be on the applicant for
appointment as guardian and shall be by
clear and convincing evidence.

f. Upon request of any interested party, a
recording or record of the hearing shall
be made.

Is the proposed ward incompetent?

[R.C.21M.01(D) and 2111.02(C)(3)]

a. Expert evaluation [R.C 2111.031; Sup.R. 66(A)]
b. Investigator’s report [R.C 2111.041]

c. Other interested parties

d. Other evidence

Are there less restrictive alternatives?

[RC.2M.02(0() and (6)]

a. The court may deny a guardianship
based upon a finding that a less
restrictive alternative to guardianship
such as the following exists:

i. Limited Guardianship

ii. Durable General Power of Attorney;
iii. Health-Care Power of Attorney;

iv. Living Will; or

v. Conservatorship. [R.C 211.021]

Is the applicant a suitable person/agency to
serve as guardian? [RC 211.02(O)(1)]

a. Residency [R.(C 2109.21(0)]
b. Prior criminal record [R.C.2111.03]

c. Criminal background check
[Sup.R. 66.05(A)(N)]

d. Civil background check

e. Education/continuing education

documentation [Sup.R. 66.05(A)(2)]

f. Caseload of guardianships of the
guardian. [Sup.R. 66.05(B)]




PRIOR TO THE MONITORING HEARING

1.

Notice of the hearing shall be sent at least 7
days prior to the: [RC 211.04]

a. ward;
b. next of kin; and
c. other interested persons.

Is the most recent guardian’s report timely
and has it been reviewed? [R.C 2111.49(A) and (B)];
[Sup.R. 78]

Is the most recent Statement of Expert
Evaluation within 3 months prior to the date
of the report and has it been reviewed?

[R.C.2MA9AM D]

Has the guardian completed and evidenced
Guardian Continuing Education? [Sup.R. 66.07]

Is a Guardian ad litem required? [RC 211.23];
[Sup.R. 48]

Is an updated investigation required?
[RC 2MAAD)]

Should the ward be present? Is the ward able
to be present? [R.C 2111.49(8) and (0]

Are there any unique logistical concerns
for the case (security considerations, court
interpreter, mobility accommodations,
participant separation)?

What triggered the need for a hearing
(nature of complaint received by the court,
changing guardian’s status, change in the
ward’s capacity, or family conflicts)? [R.(. 2111.49]

MONITORING HEARING

1.

2.

Address any issues raised by the Statement of
Expert Evaluation (change in diagnosis)

[R.C 2M.A9AD(e)]

Address any issues raised by the guardian’s
report. [RC 211.49]

a. Is the guardian still living in the county?
In re Guardianship of Santrucek, 120 Ohio
St.3d 67, 2008-Ohio-4915, 896 N.E.2d 683;
In re Guardianship of Replogle, 164 Ohio
App.3d 54, 2005-Ohio-5530, 841 N.E.2d
330 (2d Dist.); State ex rel. Florence v. Zitter,

106 Ohio St.3d 87, 2005-Ohio-3804, 831
N.E.2d 1003.

b. Has there been any legal proceedings
involving either the ward or the
guardian? If living at home, has there
been any legal proceedings involving
anyone living in the home? [RC 21117, 21118,
21181, and 2111.19]; [Sup.R. 65(D), 68, and 69]

3. If notliving with the ward, address the

frequency, nature and duration of guardian
contact with the ward. [R.C. 2111.49(A)(d)]

. Inquire if there any significant celebratory

or special events that have occurred since
the last report.

. Inquire if there are any changes in the status

of guardian: [R.C 2111.49]
a. Change of living arrangement:

i. Guardian must provide current

address in guardian’s report; and
[R.C.21.49(M)(D(0)]; [Sup.R. 66.08(E)N)]

ii. Residency requirement of guardian.
[R.C.2109.2100)]

Health
Functioning

Parenting issues

o a0 o

Employment

i. Conflict of interest for person
providing services to a ward to serve
as guardian of ward. [R.C.5123.93];

[Sup.R. 66.04(D)]

f. Criminal record

g. If a public guardian, inquire into the
current caseload size.

i. Guardian’s report shall include
number of times guardian has visited
with Ward during the period.

[R.C. 2M.49A(D(d)]

. Is there a change in the ward’s financial

status (inheritance, lump-sum Social
Security payment, lottery winnings, or
other)?

a. Duties of guardian of estate [R(. 211114]
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b. Investment powers [R.( 2109.37]
c. Deposit of funds [R.C.2109.41]

7. Are any of the following necessary?

a. Funeral arrangements:

i.  Simpson v. Holmes, 106 Ohio St. 437,
140 N.E. 395 (1922): legal effect of
the guardianship ends upon the
death of a ward.

ii. State ex rel. Beedle v. Kiracofe, 176
Ohio St. 149, 194 N.E.2d 61 (1964):

a guardian has the power after

the ward’s death to make a proper
accounting and settlement of any acts
taken in regard to the ward’s assets.

iii. Consent for autopsy. [R.C21113(D) and (F)]

iv. Disposition of ward’s remains.

[R.C.21M13(E) and (F)]
b. Guardianship plan

o

Financial management plan

d. An inventory of all important legal
documents:

i. Duties of guardian of estate; and
[R.C.2111.14]

ii. Evidence to support inventory, and
verification of inventory. [RC. 2111.141]

e. Establishment of a will
f. Other (land sale)

i. Completion of real property
contracts. [R.C.211119]; [Sup.R. 65]

. Closing
a. Should a follow-up review be set?
i. Hearings for guardianship.

[R.C.2M.49(0]

b. Review the duties of the guardian.
(report due dates)

i. Probate court powers of guardianship

[R.C.21M.50]

ii. Guardian’s report and court
intervention [R.C. 2111.49]

iii. Duties of guardian of person [R.C.2111.13]
iv. Duties of guardian of estate [R.(. 211114]
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c. Inform the guardian that they may be
required to have contact with the court
investigator.

i. Duties of guardian of person [R.C2111.13]

ii. Court intervention in guardianship
[RC 2MAA D]

iii. Investigating circumstances of alleged
incompetent. [R.C 2111.041]

d. Remind participants that at any time a
monitoring hearing can be set by the
court or at the request of the guardian or
other interested person. [R.C 211.49(0)]

ADDITIONAL REVIEW ITEMS
FOR GUARDIAN OF THE ESTATE

1. Should the representative payee status be
changed to guardian of the estate, from
guardian of the estate, or bifurcated?

a. Appointment of guardian [R.C 2111.02]
b. Duties of guardian of person and estate

[R.C.2MM015]

c. Probate court powers of guardianship
[R.C.2111.50]

2. Is the posted bond adequate and
maintained?

a. Bond [R.(.2109.04]
b. Bond conditions — guardians [R.(. 2109.12]
c. New or additional bond [R.C. 2109.06]

3. Has a separate bank account been
established accessible only by the guardian?
a. Deposit of funds [R.C.2109.41]

4. Address issues, if any, arising from

the annual account (unauthorized
expenditures, lack of receipts)

a. Verification of inventory [R.(. 2111.141]




OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1. Master Commissioners — appointment, bond,
and duties [R.C. 2101.06]

Jurisdiction of probate court [R.C. 2101.24]
Removal of fiduciary [R.C. 2109.24]
Appointment of guardian [R(. 2111.02]

Ot o L0 o

Court intervention in guardianship
[R.C.2111.49(B)]

6. Probate court powers of guardianship
[R.C. 2111.50]

7. Jurisdiction and other states [R.(.2112.]
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FILINGS
1. SPF 17.1: Statement of Expert Evaluation

2. SPF 17.1A: Supplement for Emergency
Guardian of Person

3. SPF 15.4: Letters of Guardianship

VENUE

Filed in the county in which the ward resides or has
legal settlement

GROUNDS

1. Minor or incompetent has not been placed
under guardianship pursuant to R.C. 2111.02(A)

2. An emergency exists; and

3. Itis reasonably certain that immediate
action is required to prevent significant
injury to person or estate of minor or
incompetent.

APPLICATION

1. Notice of emergency presented to court

ore

HEARING/NOTICE OF HEARING

1. Court may issue an emergency order
ex parte

ORDER

1. Court may issue an order, ex parte, at
any time after it receives notice of the
emergency

2. Court may issue any order considered
necessary to prevent injury to person or
estate of minor or incompetent; or

3. Court may appoint an emergency guardian
for maximum of 72 hours

4. Order shall be served upon incompetent or
minor as soon as possible after issuance

a. Failure to serve order after issuance or
prior to taking of any action under its
authority does not invalidate the order
or actions taken

5. Letters of appointment shall specify powers
of an emergency guardian

a. Powers limited to those necessary to
prevent injury to person or estate of
minor or incompetent

6. Court shall enter upon the journal:
a. A record of case; and

b. Specific reasons for acting ex parte or
without notice

EXTENSION
1. Extension may be granted by court:

a. For good cause shown; and

b. After notice to minor, or incompetent,
and interested parties; and

c. After a hearing.

2. Extension may be granted for specific
period, but not exceeding additional 30 days
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CIVIL COMMITMENT

Civil Commitment in Criminal Cases
Civil Commitment of the Mentally Il

Voluntary Admission
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) [

If jurisdiction to commit a person is terminated
under R( 2945 due to the expiration of the
maximum prison term or term of imprisonment
for a defendant found incompetent to stand trial
or not guilty by reason of insanity, the criminal
court or the prosecutor may file an affidavit for civil
commitment of a defendant under R.C.5122 or R.(.5123.

ore

The court retains jurisdiction over the person
for 10 days after the filing of an affidavit for the
probate court to conduct a civil-commitment
hearing.

If the probate court commits the person, the chief
clinical officer of the facility or the person to which
the defendant is committed or admitted shall send
to the prosecutor the notices required under

R.C. 2945.38(H)@)(a)(i) - (ii).

e R(5I22 covers the involuntary civil
commitment of a mentally ill person subject

to hospitalization as defined under
R.C.5122.01(8).

e R(SIZ covers the civil commitment of a
person with an intellectual disability, 18
years of age or older, who is subject to

institutionalization by court order as defined
under R.(.5123.01(0).
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FILINGS

Available Standard Forms
1. Affidavit of Mental Illness [R.C.5122.111]

2. Notification Form for Record Checks (available
from BCI)

3. Application for Emergency Admission
[R.C.512210] - available from Ohio Department of
Mental Health, form DMH-0025)

Forms Filed by the Local Prosecutor
1. Motion For Continuance [R.C.5122.141(B)]

2. Motion for Change of Place of Detention
[R.C.5122.15(1) or (N)]

3. Application for Continued Commitment
[R.C.512215(H)]

4. Motion for Court Ordered Medication and/or
Treatment [R.C. 2101.24(A)(D(u)]

Forms Filed by the Local Board of Mental Health
and Addiction Recovery Services (or Designee)

1. Prescreening Investigation Report [R.C.5122.13]

2. Notice to Court or Agency [R.C512215F)()] -
available from Ohio Department of Mental
Health, form DMH-0041

Forms Must Be Created Locally by Probate Court

1. Certificate of Examination [R.C512211&R.C.5122.19]

2. Temporary Order of Detention [R.C.512211]

3. Order Appointing Independent Evaluator
[R.C512214] — may be optional, consult your
appellate law

4. Order Referring Affidavit for Screening
[R.C.5122.13)]

5. Order Granting Motion for Continuance
[R.C.5122.141(B)]

6. Entry Setting Full Hearing and Ordering Notice
[R.C. 512212 & 5122.141(A)]

7. Notice to Respondent of Hearing and Service of
Rights of an Involuntarily Detained Person

[R.C.5122.05(C) and R.C. 5122.29]

8. Rights of an Involuntarily Detained Person
[R.C.5122.05(C) & R.C. 5122.29]

9. Entry Appointing Counsel for Respondent
[R.C.5122.05(0)(2)]

10. Precipe for Subpoena Duces Tecum
11. Subpoena for Witness

12. Order to Produce Hospital Records (Subpoena
Duces Tecum)

13. Decision and Judgment Entry of Commitment
After Initial Full Hearing [R.C.512215(C)]

14. Entry Ordering Continued Commitment
[R.C.5122.15(H)]

15. Entry Changing Least Restrictive Setting
[R.C512215(F) & (N)]

16. Entry Granting Motion for Court Ordered
Medication and/or Treatment [R.C. 2101.24(A)(D(u)]

DEFINITIONS (as outlined in R.C. 5122.01 & R.C. 5T19)

A. “Mental illness” means a substantial disorder
of thought, mood, perception, orientation,
or memory that grossly impairs judgment,
behavior, or capacity to recognize reality, or
ability to meet the ordinary demands of life.
[R.C.5122.01(M)]

* An anti-social personality disorder may
qualify as a “mental illness” under Ohio law
if the disorder is “substantial” and there is
“gross” impairment. State v. Welch, 125 Ohio
App. 3d 49, 707 N.E. 2d 1133, 1997 Ohio
App. LEXIS 5335 (Ohio Ct. App., Portage
County 1997)

B. “Mentally ill person subject to court order”
means a mentally ill person who, because of the
person’s illness:

1. Represents a substantial risk of physical
harm to self as manifested by evidence of
threats of, or attempts at, suicide or serious
self-inflicted bodily harm;

2. Represents a substantial risk of physical
harm to others as manifested by evidence of
recent homicidal or other violent behavior,
evidence of recent threats that place another
in reasonable fear of violent behavior and
serious physical harm, or other evidence of
present dangerousness;
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3. Represents a substantial and immediate risk
of serious physical impairment or injury
to self as manifested by evidence that the
person is unable to provide for and is not
providing for the person’s basic physical
needs because of the person’s mental illness
and that appropriate provision for those
needs cannot be made immediately available
in the community;

4. Would benefit from treatment for the
person’s mental illness and is in need of
such treatment as manifested by evidence of
behavior that creates a grave and imminent
risk to substantial rights of others or the
person;

(a)Would benefit from treatment as
manifested by evidence of behavior that
indicates all of the following:

(i) The person is unlikely to survive
safely in the community without
supervision, based on a clinical
determination.

(ii) The person has a history of lack
of compliance with treatment
for mental illness and one of the
following applies:

I. Atleast twice within the 36
months prior to the filing of an
affidavit seeking court-ordered
treatment of the person under
R.C.512211, the lack of compliance
has been a significant factor in
necessitating hospitalization in a
hospital or receipt of services in
a forensic or other mental-health
unit of a correctional facility,
provided that the 36-month
period shall be extended by the
length of any hospitalization or
incarceration of the person that
occurred within the 36 months.

ore

II. Within the 48 months prior to
the filing of an affidavit seeking
court-ordered treatment of the
person under RC 512211, the lack
of compliance resulted in one
or more acts of serious violent
behavior toward self or others, or
threats of, or attempts at, serious
physical harm to self or others,
provided that the 48-month
period shall be extended by the
length of any hospitalization or
incarceration of the person that
occurred within the 48-month
period.

(iii) The person, as a result of the
person’s mental illness, is unlikely to
voluntarily participate in necessary
treatment.

(iv)In view of the person’s treatment
history and current behavior, the
person is in need of treatment
in order to prevent a relapse or
deterioration that would likely result
in substantial risk of serious harm to
the person or others.

(b)An individual who meets only the criteria
described in division(B) (5) (a)of this
section is not subject to hospitalization.
[R.C.5122.01B)(1 - 5)]
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EMERGENCY HOSPITALIZATION

1.

CUSTODY & TRANSPORT FOR MEDICAL EXAMINATION — Any
psychiatrist, licensed clinical psychologist,
licensed physician, health officer, parole officer,
police officer, or sheriff may take a person

into custody if he or she has reason to believe
that the person is a mentally ill person subject
to court order under R.C.5122.01(B) and that the
person represents a substantial risk of physical
harm to self or others if allowed to remain at
liberty pending examination.

a. The person should be taken into custody in
the least conspicuous manner.

b. The person taking the respondent
into custody shall explain their name,
professional designation, that the custody
is not a criminal arrest, and that the person
is being taken for examination by mental-
health professionals. [R.C.512210]

APPLICATION FOR EMERGENCY ADMISSION — A written
statement must be given to the hospital by the
transporting party stating the circumstances
under which the person was taken into custody
and the reasons for the transporting parties’
belief that the person is a mentally ill person
subject to court order under R.C 5122.01(8) and
that the person represents a substantial risk

of physical harm to self or others if allowed to

remain at liberty pending examination.
[R.C.5122.10]

INITIAL EXAMINATION (CERTIFICATE OF EXAMINATION) — Persons
transported to a hospital shall be examined

within 24 hours after arrival at the hospital.
[R.C.512210 &R.C. 5122.19]

INVOLUNTARY HOLD — The chief clinical officer may
detain a patient for not more than 3 court days
(after the initial 24 hours). During the 3 court
days, the chief clinical officer may admit the
person as a voluntary patient, discharge the
patient, or file an AFFIDAVIT with the probate
court. [R(.512210] See also, In re John Doe, 2002
Ohio 5210 and 150 Ohio App.3d 532.

TR
.

R

5. AFFIDAVIT — Filed in any county according to form

and content specified in R.C 512211

a. In the case of emergency hospitalization,
the affidavit usually is completed by a
psychiatrist.

b. An affidavit may be filed by a member of the
public presenting to the probate court when
the person alleged to be mentally ill resides
in the community.

6. DETENTION ORDER AND NOTICE

a. Probate courtissues a temporary order of
detention; if hospital outside county, court
retains jurisdiction. [R.C.512211]

b. Person may be observed and treated until
the hearing, provided for in R(.5122141 or
R.C.512215.

c. Any person who is involuntarily detained
in a hospital or otherwise in custody under
R.C5122, immediately upon being taken into
custody, shall be informed and provided
with a written statement that the person may
do any of the following:

i. Immediately make a reasonable
number of telephone calls or use
other reasonable means to contact
an attorney, a licensed physician, or a

2018 « CIVIL COMMITMENT OF THE MENTALLY ILL p.3




licensed clinical psychologist, to contact
any other person or persons to secure
representation by counsel, or to obtain
medical or psychological assistance, and
be provided assistance in making calls if
the assistance is needed and requested;

ii. Retain counsel and have independent
expert evaluation of the person’s mental
condition and, if the person is unable
to obtain an attorney or independent
expert evaluation, be represented
by court-appointed counsel or have
independent expert evaluation of the
person’s mental condition, or both, at
public expense if the person is indigent;

iii. “Independent expert evaluation” means
an evaluation conducted by a licensed
clinical psychologist, psychiatrist, or
licensed clinical physician who has
been selected by the respondent or the
respondent’s counsel. [R.C5122.01(P)]

iv. Have a hearing to determine whether or
not the person is a mentally ill person
subject to court order. [R.C.5122.05(0)( - 3)]

. PRESCREENING INVESTIGATION REPORT — Within 2 business

days, the affidavit is referred to the board of
alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health
services or community mental health services

provider the board designates for investigation.
[R.C.5122.13]

. APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT EVALUATOR — Immediately
after acceptance of an affidavit, the court may
appoint a psychiatrist, or a licensed clinical
psychologist and a licensed physician to
examine the respondent. At the first hearing,
the psychiatrist, psychologist, and/or physician
shall report to the court his or her findings as
to the mental condition of the respondent, and

need for custody, care, or treatment in a mental
hospital. [R(.522]4]

. SCHEDULING THE HEARING - The hearing must be held
within 5 court days from the day on which
the person is detained or an affidavit is filed,
whichever occurs first. The hearing may be

conducted in a hospital in or out of the county.
[R.C.5122.141(B)]

10. NOTICE OF HEARING — Upon receipt of an affidavit
under R.(.512211, the court shall issue written
notice by mail, or, as the court directs, to the
following:

a. The respondent;

b. The legal guardian for the respondent,
or the spouse of the respondent, or the
respondent’s parents if a minor, if these
persons’ addresses are known or can be
obtained through exercise of reasonable
diligence;

c. The person who filed the affidavit;

d. Any one person designated by the
respondent and if the respondent does not
make a selection, to an adult next of kin;

e. To respondent’s counsel along with a copy
of the affidavit and the temporary order of
detention;

f. The director, chief clinical officer, or
designee of the hospital, board, community
mental health service provider, or facility to
which the person has been committed;

g. The board of alcohol, drug addiction, and
mental services serving the respondent’s
county of residence or a services provider
designated by the board.

Adult and competent persons, other than the
respondent, may waive notice. [R( 512212]

11. CONTINUANCE — A continuance of the hearing may
be granted for no more than 10 calendar days
from the day on which the person is detained or
the affidavit is filed, whichever occurs first. [R.C.
5122.141(B)]

12. RIGHTS OF THE RESPONDENT AT THE HEARING —

a. To attend the hearing and to be represented
by counsel of the respondent’s choice or by
court-appointed counsel if the respondent is
indigent.

b. To subpoena witnesses and documents and
to examine and cross-examine witnesses.
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c. To have all relevant documents,
information, hospital records, and other
evidence.

d. To testify, but the respondent may not be
compelled to testify. [R.C.512215(A)]

13. FULLHEARING — By clear and convincing evidence,

court finds respondent mentally ill and subject
to court order, court may order respondent, for

not more than 90 days, to: See 1 - 6 in R.C.512215(0).

a. Burden of Proof. See, Addington v. Texas,
441 U.S. 418 and State v. Castrataro, 2007
Ohio 2764 App. LEXIS 2552 (Ohio Ct. App.,
Cuyahoga County June 7, 2007).

b. “Totality of the Circumstances” — Test
is to be used to determine whether an
alleged mentally ill person is subject to
hospitalization under R.C5122.01(). See, In re
Burton, 11 Ohio St. 3d 147, 464 N.E. 2d 530,
1984 LEXIS 1123 (Ohio 1984).

c. Three-part Test for Involuntary
Commitment — See, In re TB., 2006 Ohio
4789, 2006 Ohio App. LEXIS 4639 (Ohio Ct.
App., Franklin county, Sept. 12, 2006).

1 There must be a substantial disorder of
thought, mood, perception, orientation,
or memory. [RC 5122.01(A)]

ii The substantial disorder of thought,
mood, perception, orientation, or
memory must grossly impair judgment,
behavior, or capacity to recognize reality,
or the ability to meet the ordinary
demands of life. [R.C.5122.01()]

iii The mentally ill person must be
hospitalized for one of the reasons set
forth in R.C.5122.01(B).

d. Closed Hearing — The hearing shall be
closed to the public. Counsel for the
respondent, with the permission of the
respondent, may request the hearing be
open to the public. For good cause shown,
the court may admit persons who have a
legitimate interest in the proceedings, but
the respondent may object. [RC 512215(A)(5) & (6)];
[Sup. R. 55]

COMMITMENT OF A PERSON RESIDING
IN THE COMMUNITY

1. A person, who resides in the community and is
not hospitalized at the time of the hearing, may
be found mentally ill and subject to court order
prior to being taken into custody. Proceedings
have to be initiated under R.( 512211 (i.e., an
affidavit must have been filed with the probate
court).

2. Pursuant to RC5122141(A) and (B), an initial hearing,
rather than a full hearing which is held when a
person is hospitalized, may be conducted and
the respondent shall have the right to counsel,
notice, and be afforded all other procedural
due-process safeguards that apply when a full
hearing is held, pursuant toR(C512215. An initial
hearing shall be held within 5 court days from
the day on which the respondent is detained
or an affidavit is filed, whichever occurs first or
within 10 calendar days from the day on which
the respondent is detained or the affidavit is
filed, whichever occurs first.

3. If a person who resides in the community has
been found by the court to be mentally ill and
subject to court order, the court may issue an
interim order of detention ordering any health
or police officer, or sheriff to take the person
into custody. See R.( 512210.

a. When the interim order of detention is
issued, the court must have an agreement
from the receiving hospital to admit the
respondent or the order may be ineffective.

b. The court’s finding of mentally ill and
subject to court order must be based on
clear and convincing evidence. When a
person is at large in the community, the
prosecutor may be challenged to find a
medical professional to testify as to the
person’s current medical condition and
mental state.

c. An individual who meets only the criteria
described in R.C5122.01B)5)(@) is not subject to
hospitalization.
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CONTINUED COMMITMENT HEARINGS

1.

A full evidentiary hearing must be held at
the end of the first 90-day period of civil
commitment, and at least every 2 years
thereafter; this hearing may not be waived.

[R.C.512215(H)]

A full evidentiary hearing must be held
every 180 days if requested by respondent or
respondent’s counsel. [R.C512215(H)]

FORCED MEDICATION ORDERS

The state’s parens patriae power can override
a mentally ill patient’s decision to refuse
antipsychotic medication. A person need not
be adjudicated incompetent before the state’s
parens patriae power may be legitimately
exercised in a forced-medication hearing.

A court may issue an order permitting the
administration of antipsychotic medication,
by hospital employees, against a patient’s
wishes and without a finding that the patient is
dangerous, when the court finds by clear and
convincing evidence that:

. The patient lacks the capacity to give or

withhold informed consent regarding
treatment;

The medication is in the patient’s best interest;
AND

No less intrusive treatment will be as effective
in treating the mental illness. Steele v. Hamilton
County Community Mental Health Board, 90 Ohio
St. 3d 176, 180, 185, 2000-Ohio 47.

I
.

Procedural due-process concerns:

1. An attorney must be appointed to represent the
patient;

2. An independent psychiatrist or licensed
clinical psychologist and a licensed physician
must be appointed to examine the patient, to
evaluate the recommended treatment, and to
report such findings and conclusions to the
court regarding the patient’s capacity to give
or withhold informed consent, as well as the
appropriateness of the proposed treatment;

3. The patient, appointed counsel, and treating
physicians must receive notice of all hearings;

4. Patient must be provided the opportunity to be
present at all hearings and to present and cross-
examine witnesses. Id. at 189, 190.

TRANSFERS

1. The director of mental health and addiction
services or his or her designee may file a motion
with the court to seek an order to transfer an
involuntary patient if the transfer is consistent
with the medical needs of the patient. [R.C512215(N)
&R.(.5122.20]

2. If the transfer is to a more restrictive setting, the
involuntary patient may request a hearing on
the transfer. The hearing shall be held with all
the rights of a full hearing under R.C512215.

3. The hearing shall be held within 10 days of the
transfer and may be continued for up to an
additional 10 days. [R.C.5122.20]

4. Written notice of the transfer of an involuntary
patient shall be given to the patient’s legal
guardian, parents, spouse, counsel, and, if

none, to the patient’s nearest-known relative or
friend. [R.C.5122.20]
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DISMISSAL & EXPUNGEMENT REPORTING CIVIL COMMITMENTS TO BCI

1. Patients may consent to voluntary treatment
and court may dismiss case. [R.C512215@)(1)] @’

2. If treatment needs could be met in less

restrictive setting, court may dismiss case.
[R.C512215 (H(2)]

3. Board and treatment provider may
recommend the court discontinue court-
ordered treatment if respondent fails to
comply with treatment plan. [RC 512215(N)]

4. If a person taken into custody under R.C.52210
or RC51221 is released from custody prior to
a hearing, the probate court shall expunge
any records of the person. [R.C.522.09]

CONFIDENTIALITY

All records, other than court journal entries or
court docket entries, shall be kept confidential

and shall not be released except as otherwise
allowed under R.C.5122.31.
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VOLUNTARY ADMISSION [R.(.5122.02]

1. A person 18 years of age or older may apply for
voluntary admission to the chief medical officer
of a hospital if the person:

a. Appears to be mentally ill, or
b. Believes self to be mentally ill.

2. A parent may make application for voluntary
admission on behalf of a minor.

.

3. A guardian of a person may make application
on behalf of an adult incompetent ward.

4. The chief clinical officer shall discharge
any voluntary patient who has recovered or
whose continued hospitalization is no longer
advisable.

5. The chief clinical officer may deny admission
if he or she finds that hospitalization of the
person is inappropriate.

6. The chief clinical officer may discharge
any voluntary patient who refuses to accept
treatment consistent with the written treatment
plan required by R.C5122.27 or may file an Affidavit
of Mental Illness under R.C.512211.

7. A person found incompetent to stand trial or
not guilty by reason of insanity, and who was
committed under R.(.2945.39, R.C. 2945.40, R.C. 2945.401
or R(.2945.402 shall not be voluntarily admitted to
a hospital until after the final termination of
commitment, as provided under R.C. 2945.401()).

RELEASE OF VOLUNTARY PATIENTS
[R.C.5122.03]

A person who was admitted voluntarily shall be
released upon written request unless within 3 court
days of receipt of the request, the chief clinical
officer of the hospital files with the probate court
of the county where the patient is hospitalized or
the probate county where the patient resides, an
Affidavit of Mental Illness under R.C.512211.

If the patient is not released within 3 days of the
receipt of the request for release, the request shall

serve as a request for an initial hearing under
R.C.5122.141.

The chief clinical officer of the hospital shall
provide reasonable means and arrangements for
informing patients of their right to release under

R.C.5122.03(B).

PATIENT RIGHTS [R(. 5122.29]

A person who has been admitted for voluntary

treatment has all patient rights set forth under
R.C.5122.29.

CIVIL RIGHTS OF PATIENTS [R(.5122.301]

Any person admitted voluntarily to a hospital
retains all civil rights not specifically denied in the
Revised Code or removed by an adjudication of
incompetence as provided for under the Revised
Code.
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MISCELLANEOUS

Adult Protective Services
Concealment of Assets
Minor Settlements

Name Change
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FILINGS

1. SPF 23.0 Petition for Protective Services

2. SPF 23.1 Notice of Petition for Court
Ordered Protective Services

3. SPF 23.2 Petition for Emergency Protective
Services

4. SPF 23.3 Notice of Petition for Court
Ordered Protective Services on an
Emergency Basis

5. SPF 23.4 Petition for Temporary Restraining
Order to Prevent Interference with
Investigation of Reported Abuse of an Adult

6. SPF 23.6 Petition for Temporary Restraining
Order to Prevent Interference with the
Provision of Protective Services to an Adult

7. SPF 23.7 Notice of Hearing on Petition for

Temporary Restraining Order to Prevent
Interference With the Provision of Services

DEFINITIONS [R.C5101.60]
Adult — Person age 60 or older within this

state handicapped by infirmities of aging
or has physical or mental impairment that
prevents person from providing for their
own care or protection and who resides

in an independent living arrangement,
including residential facility licensed under
R.C.5119.22

Court — Probate court in county where adult

resides

Emergency — Adult is living in conditions that

present substantial risk of immediate and
irreparable physical harm or death to self or
another person

Incapacitated person- Person who is impaired

to the extent that person lacks sufficient
understanding or capacity to make and
carry out reasonable decisions concerning
person’s self or resources, with or without
the assistance of a caretaker. Refusal to
consent to provision of services shall not
be the sole determinative that person is
incapacitated.

In need of protective services — An adult known
or suspected to be suffering from abuse,
neglect, or exploitation to an extent that
either life is endangered or physical harm,
mental anguish, or mental illness results or
is likely to result

Abuse — Infliction upon adult by self or others
of injury, unreasonable confinement,
intimidating or cruel punishment with
resulting physical harm, pain, or mental
anguish

Neglect — Failure of an adult to provide for
self the goods or services necessary to avoid
physical harm, mental anguish, or mental
illness, failure of caretaker to provide such
goods or services, or abandonment

Exploitation — Unlawful or improper act of a
person using, in one or more transactions,
an adult or adult’s resources for monetary
or personal benefit, profit or gain when the
person obtained or exerted control over
adult or the adult’s resources in any of the
following ways:

e Without adult’s consent or consent of
the person authorized to give consent

* Beyond scope of express or implied
consent of adult or person authorized to
give consent

¢ By deception
e DBy threat
¢ By intimidation

ore
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TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER [R(.5101.651];
[R.C. 5101.69]

Investigation/Access to Residence [R.(.5101.65]]

¢ County Dept. of Job & Family Services (Co.
DJFS) may petition the court for temporary
restraining order to prevent interference or
obstruction by any person, including the adult,
who denies or obstructs access to residence of
adult during course of investigation under

R.C. 5101.65

¢ Temporary Restraining Order — Court shall
issue temporary restraining order if it finds
reasonable cause to believe:

o0 Adultis being or has been abused,
neglected, or exploited, AND

o Access to adult’s residence has been
denied or obstructed

o Such finding is prima-facie evidence that
immediate and irreparable injury, loss,
or damage will result, so notice is not
required

Provision of Services [R.C.5101.69]

¢ Co. DJFS may petition court for temporary
restraining order to restrain any person from
interfering with provision of protective services
for the adult, when the adult has consented to
the provision

o Petition — Petition shall state specific facts
sufficient to demonstrate need for protective
services, the consent of adult, and refusal of
some person to allow provision of services

o Notice — Notice of petition shall be given to
person alleged to be interfering

o Hearing — Court shall hold hearing on
petition within 14 days after its filing

o0 Temporary Restraining Order — Court shall
issue temporary restraining order if it finds:

= Protective services are necessary

= Adult has consented to provision of
services

= The person who is subject of petition has
prevented such provision
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COURT ORDERED PROTECTIVE SERVICES
[R.C. 5101.68]; [R.C. 5101.681 - .682]

Petition [R.C.5101.68]

¢ Co. DJFS may petition court for an order
authorizing provision of protective services if
it determines the adult is in need of protective
services and is an incapacitated person (adult
did not voluntarily accept services)

Notice of Petition [R.C. 5101.681]

* Notice to be personally served on adult at least
5 working days prior to hearing date

* Notice to adult shall be given orally or in writing

* Notice shall include all petitioners’ names,
basis of belief that protective services are
needed, rights of adult in court proceedings,
consequences of court order, adult’s right to

counsel, adult’s right to appointed counsel if
indigent and requests appointed counsel

¢ Written notice by certified mail shall be given
to adult’s guardian, legal counsel, caretaker,
and spouse, if any, or, if none of these, to adult
children or next of kin if any, or to any other
person court may require

¢ Adult may not waive notice

Hearing & Order [R.(.5101.682]

¢ Hearing held within 14 days after filing of
petition

¢ Rights of adult:
o Be present at hearing
o Present evidence
o Examine and cross-examine witnesses
o

Be represented by counsel unless knowingly
waived

Court appointed counsel if indigent

Court appointed counsel if court determines
adult lacks capacity to waive right to counsel




Order

Court shall issue order requiring provision of
protective services IF:

o Court finds by clear and convincing
evidence that:
= Adult has been abused, neglected, or
exploited;
= Isin need of protective services;
= Isincapacitated; AND

= No person authorized by law or court
order is available to give consent.

= If above findings are made,
protective services are ordered to be
provided only if services are available
locally

Placement

If placement is ordered, consideration shall be
given to choice of residence of the adult

May be in settings approved by the DJFS that
meet minimum community standards for safety,
security, and requirements of daily living

Institutional placement shall not be ordered
unless specific finding was entered in the
record that no less restrictive alternative can be
found to meet the adult’s needs

Cannot order commitment to a hospital or
public hospital as defined in R.(.5122.01

Change of placement ordered only upon
court’s finding of compelling reasons to justify
transfer

Court shall notify adult of transfer at least 30
days prior, unless emergency exists

Order provided for in this section shall remain
in effect for no longer than 6 months

If Co. DJFS determines continued need for
services after review of adult’s needs, it shall
apply for renewal of order for additional
periods of no longer than one year each

Adult may petition for modification of order at
any time

COURT ORDERED PROTECTIVE SERVICES -
EMERGENCY BASIS [R(.5101.70]

Petition (Emergency Basis) [R.C. 5101.70]

¢ Filed by Co. DJFS or its designee and shall
include:

o0 Adult’s name, age, address
o Nature of emergency

o Proposed protective services
O

Petitioner’s reasonable belief and supportive
facts that:

= Adult is incapacitated

= An emergency exists

= No person is available or willing to
consent for the adult

o Facts showing attempts to obtain adult’s
consent

Notice of filing and petition contents
e To adult, shall include both:

o Right to be present at hearing, present
evidence, examine and cross-examine
witnesses

o Possible consequences of order

¢ To spouse, if any, or to adult child or next of
kin, and guardian, if any, if whereabouts known

o Given 24 hours prior to hearing, unless
waived by court if:

= Immediate and irreparable physical or
financial harm to adult or other will
result from 24-hour delay; and

= Reasonable attempts were made to notify
adult, spouse, if any, adult children or
next of kin, if any, and guardian, if any, if
whereabouts are known

o If 24-hour notice is waived, notice of this

determination shall be given to persons
receiving notice
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Hearing
e Shall be held no sooner than 24 and no later

than 72 hours after notice is given, unless court
waived notice

Order (Emergency Basis)

¢ Court shall issue order if it finds by clear and
convincing evidence that:

o Adultis incapacitated;
o Emergency exists; and

o No person authorized by law or court order
is available to consent.

Limitations to Order

® Specifically designate only necessary and locally
available services to remove the emergency

* No change of residence unless finding
necessary

* Services for 14 days, unless Co. DJFS or its
designee petitions court for renewal of 14-day
order upon showing is necessary to remove
emergency

o If services are necessary beyond emergency
period, petition can be filed under
R.C.5101.68; Co. DJFS or its designee, after
filing petition, permitted under R.C.5101.70(F)
to continue to provide services pending
hearing by court

o Authorize Co. DJFS director, designee,
or rep. of designee to give consent for
adult until order expires

= Cannot order commitment to a hospital
or public hospital, as defined in R.C.5122.01

COURT ORDERED PROTECTIVE SERVICES
= EX PARTE EMERGENCY BASIS [R.(.5101.701]

Ex Parte Emergency Order [R.C.5101.701]

* Court (judge or magistrate under direction
of judge) may issue by telephone an ex parte
emergency order if ALL of the following are
applicable:

o  Co. DJFS/authorized employee of Co.

DJFS/Co. DJFS designee/authorized
employee of designee notifies court that

p.4 2018 « ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES

they believe emergency order is needed as
described herein;

o Reasonable cause to be believe adult is
incapacitated; and

o Reasonable cause to believe there is
substantial risk to adult of immediate and

irreparable physical or financial harm, or
death.

¢ Order shall be journalized

® Order effective for not longer than 24 hours
(except if day following day on which order is
issued is not a working day, then order shall
remain in effect until next working day)

e Not later than 24 hours after order is issued,
petition under RC.501.70(A) shall be filed with
court (unless day following day on which order
was issued is not a working day, then petition
shall be filed on next working day)

® Proceedings shall be conducted in accordance
with R.C5101.70, except as provided in R.C.5101.702

Hearing [R.C. 5101.702]

e Shall be held not later than 24 hours after
issuance of order to determine if there is
probable cause for the order (except if day
following day on which order is issued is not a
working day, then order shall remain in effect
until next working day)

¢ Court shall determine whether protective
services are least restrictive alternative available

¢ Court may issue temporary orders, including,
but not limited to, temporary protection orders,
evaluations, and orders requiring a party
to vacate adult’s place of residence or legal
settlement

o Temporary order(s) are effective for 30 days

o Court may renew order for additional 30-day

period

o Information in order may be entered into
law-enforcement automated-data system

o Court may order emergency services

o Court may freeze financial assets of adult




PAYMENT OF SERVICES [R(.5101.71]

Payment of Services [R.C.501.7]

¢ Adult shall not be required to pay for court-
ordered services unless court determines upon
a showing by Co. DJFS that adult is financially
able to pay and court orders the same

ore
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JURISDICTION [R.(C. 2109.50]

Probate court has jurisdiction when:

® Court has jurisdiction of administration
of an estate, testamentary trust, or
guardianship; or

® Person subject of complaint resides in that
county

Court has no jurisdiction over real estate

COMPLAINTS MADE BY [R(.2109.50]

* A person interested in the estate,
testamentary trust, or guardianship

* The creditor of a person interested in the
estate, testamentary trust, or guardianship

COMPLAINTS MADE AGAINST [R.(.2109.50]

* Any person suspected of having concealed,
embezzled, or conveyed away or of being
or having been in the possession of any
moneys, personal property, or choses in
action of the estate, testamentary trust, or
guardianship.

PROCEEDING [R(.2109.50]

1) Complaint filed in probate/court’s own motion

2) Issue citation/other judicial order to compel
person suspected to appear to be examined, on
oath

® May be issued into any county in Ohio

® Service and return by officer to whom it is
delivered (Officer liable for negligence)

* Before issuing extra-county citation, judge
may require complainant to post security
in an acceptable amount and form to cover
costs of proceeding (e.g., travel expenses of
person subject to extra-county citation)

3) Examination of person suspected, court may
swear witnesses (examination and answers in
writing, signed by party examined, filed in
court)

4) Costs generally assessed against complainant

5) Burden of proof by preponderance of the
evidence

IMPRISONMENT FOR DISOBEYING
CITATION [R.(C.2109.51]

¢ Court may commit person to county jail who
fails to answer interrogatories; remain until
complies

JUDGMENT ON COMPLAINT ([R.C.2109.5]

® Jury may be demanded by either party

®  Guilty verdict: court may assess damages,
order return of asset, order restoration in
kind

¢ Court may issue citation into any county
in Ohio requiring any person who claims
interest in assets to appear before the court
(hearing to determine title)

* Except when person found guilty is
fiduciary, judgment for fiduciary. If no
fiduciary in Ohio, judgment for the state

* Judgment in amount of:

® Moneys/value of personal property/
choses in action concealed, embezzled,

conveyed away, or held in possession;
PLUS

® ]0-percent penalty and all costs

¢ Judgment reduced to extent of value of
anything restored or returned in kind

FIDUCIARY FOUND GUILTY [R.(.2109.52,2109.53]

* Judgment for the state against the fiduciary
for amount of moneys or value of personal
property or choses in action concealed,
embezzled, conveyed away, or held in
possession, together with penalty and costs
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JUDGMENT IN FAVOR OF STATE [R(.2109.55]

¢ Fiduciary removed with successor appointed
o Removed fiduciary; no compensation
o Charged amount of judgment

o Fiduciary’s property liable for satisfaction
of judgment on execution issued on
judgment

CERTIFICATE OF JUDGMENT; DELIVERY TO
CLERK OF THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
[R.C. 2109.54]

1) Fiduciary delivers certificate of judgment to
clerk of court of common pleas

2) Probate court completes and delivers certificate
to fiduciary on demand

3) Clerk issues execution of court of common
pleas for amount of judgment and costs accrued
or that may accrue on judgment

4) Further proceedings on execution same as if
judgment rendered in court of common pleas
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When no fiduciary in Ohio, prosecuting
attorney files certificate in clerk’s office and
executes on judgment

Prosecuting attorney pays money realized
upon execution to county treasurer for use
of estate, testamentary trust, or guardianship
(probate court allows reasonable attorney
compensation)

CONVEYANCES |R.(.2109.56]

All gifts, grants, or conveyances of real
property, rents, or personal property

and all bonds, judgments, or executions
made or obtained with intent to avoid the
purpose of concealment proceedings, or
in contemplation of any examination or
concealment complaint, are void




FILINGS

1. SPF 22.0: Application to Settle a Minor’s
Claim and Entry Setting Hearing

2. SPF 22.1: Waiver and Consent to Settle
Minor’s Claim

3. SPF 22.2: Entry Approving Settlement of a
Minor’s Claim

4. SPF 22.3: Verification of Receipt and Deposit

5. SPF 22.4: Report of Distribution and Entry
of a Minor’s Claim

APPLICATION

1. Brought by guardian of the estate or parent
or the custodial parent if the court dispenses
with the need for a guardian.

[Sup.R. 68(A)]

2. Captioned in the name of the minor.
(Sup.R. 68(A)]

3. Shall be accompanied by: [Sup.R. 68(B)]

a. A current statement of an examining
physician stating the injuries sustained,
the extent of recovery, and the
permanency of any injuries.

b. The existence and amount of additional
consideration being paid to persons
other than the minor as a result of the
incident causing injury.

c. The arrangement, if any, that has been
made with respect to counsel fees
(subject to court approval).

NOTICE

Noncustodial parents are entitled to 7 days notice.
The notice may be waived. [Sup.R. 68(A)]

PRESENCE AT THE HEARING

Both the injured minor and the applicant are to be
present at the hearing. [Sup.R. 68(0)]

The court has the ability to waive the appearance of
the minor for good cause. [Sup.R.76]

APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN

1. Either parent or the custodian of the minor
can apply. The court does not favor co-
guardians.

2. The guardianship and settlement
applications can be heard at the same time.

a. Exception: If the minor is over the age
of 14, then personal service on the
minor for the appointment of his or her
guardian is required. A minimum of 7
days notice is required and cannot be
waived. [R.C 21M.04A)(1@)]

3. Guardians may be required to give a bond.
[R.C.2111.38]

ESTATE $25,000 OR LESS

1. If the net proposed settlement of the claim
is $25,000 or less after payment of fees
and expenses as allowed by the court, the
court, upon application by any suitable
person whom the court may authorize to
receive and receipt for the settlement, may
authorize without the appointment of a
guardian. [RC. 211.18]

2. The court may authorize the delivery of
monies in the following manner:

a. In a depository authorized to receive
fiduciary funds, payable to the guardian
when appointed, or to the ward when
the ward attains majority; or

b. To the natural guardian of the minor,
to the person by whom the minor is
maintained, to the executive director of
children services in the county, or to the
minor’s own self. [R.C.2111.05]
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ESTATE NOT MORE THAN $10,000 [Sup-R.67]

1.

Each application shall indicate the amount
of money or property to which the minor
is entitled and to whom such money or
property shall be paid or delivered.

The attorney representing the interests of
the minor shall prepare an entry that orders
the following:

a. The deposit of funds in a financial
institution in the name of the minor;

b. Impounding the principal and interest;

c. Releasing the funds only upon an order
of the court or to the minor at the age of
majority.

The entry order shall be presented at the

time the entry dispensing with appointment

of a guardian or approving settlement is
approved.

The attorney shall be responsible for
depositing the funds and for providing the
financial institution with a copy of the entry.

The attorney shall obtain a Verification
of Receipt and Deposit (SPF 22.3) from
the financial institution and file the form
with the court within seven days from the
issuance of the entry.
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RELEASE

The court may authorize the person receiving the
moneys to execute a complete release on account
of the receipt. The payment shall be a complete
and final discharge of that claim. [R.C 211118]

WAIVER BY MINOR’S PARENTS

The parent(s) of the minor may waive all claims for
damages on account of loss of service of the minor,

and that claim may be included in the settlement.
[R.C.2111.18]




FILINGS

MINOR NAME CHANGE:
SPF 21.2: Application for Change of Name of
Minor

SPF 21.2 (On reverse side of SPF 21.2): Judgment
Entry

SPF 21.4: Consent to Change of Name
SPF 21.5: Notice of Hearing on Change of Name

SPF 21.3: Judgment Entry — Change of Name of
Minor

ADULT NAME CHANGE:
SPF 21.0: Application for Change of Name of Adult

SPF 21.0 (On reverse side of SPF 21.0): Judgment
Entry Setting Hearing/Ordering Notice

SPF 21.5: Notice of Hearing on Change of Name

SPF 21.1: Judgment Entry — Change of Name of
Adult

VENUE

Application is filed in the county in which the
person resides.

TIME FRAME

Applicant shall be a bona fide resident of that
county for at least one year prior to the filing of the
application.

APPLICATION

1. Made by person desiring change of name.

2. Made on behalf of a minor by either of
minor’s parents, legal guardian, or guardian
ad litem.

3. Shall set forth cause for which change of
name is sought.

4. Shall set forth requested new name.

5. Requires the applicant to state whether
he/she has a duty to comply with R.(. 2950.04
or 2950.041 because he/she was convicted
of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a
delinquent child for having committed a

sexually oriented offense or a child-victim
oriented offense.

6. Requires the applicant to state whether he/
she has pleaded guilty to, been convicted or,
or been adjudicated a delinquent child for
committing violation of R(. 291349 (identity
fraud) unless the guilty plea, conviction, or
adjudication has been reversed on appeal.

NOTICE OF HEARING

1. Once by publication in a newspaper of
general circulation in the county at least
thirty days before the hearing.

a. If applicant submits to the court
satisfactory proof that publication of
notice would jeopardize personal safety,
then:

i. Court shall waive notice requirement.

ii. If Court orders change of name,
Court shall order record of
proceeding sealed and opened only
by order of the court for good cause
shown or at request of applicant for
any reason.

2. Additional requirements for a minor:

a. Notice given to parent or parents not
consenting by certified mail, return
receipt requested, or:

1. If no known father of minor, notice
given to person who mother of minor
alleged to be father.

ii. If no father is alleged or either
parent or address of either parent
is unknown, notice by publication
is sufficient as to father or parent
if applicant exercised reasonable
diligency to locate parent. Notice by
publication must include the name
and last known address of the non-
consenting parent.

iii. Any additional notice required may
be waived in writing by any person
entitled to the notice.
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ENTRY

1. Court may order change of name:

a.

b.

Upon proof that proper notice was given
or that notice was waived.

Upon proof that the facts in application
show reasonable and proper cause.

i. For a minor’s name change, all
factors relevant to the best interest of
the child should also be considered.

2. Court shall NOT order change of name if:

a.

Person applying or for whom application
is made has a duty to comply with
R.(.2950.04 or 2950.041 because was convicted
of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated
a delinquent child for having committed
a sexually oriented offense or a child-
victim oriented offense.

Person applying or for whom application
is made has pleaded guilty to, been
convicted or, or been adjudicated

a delinquent child for committing
violation of R.C.2913.49 unless the guilty
plea, conviction, or adjudication has
been reversed on appeal.
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3. A certified copy of entry ordering change

ore

of name shall be sent to the Vital Statistics
Office of the state of birth. [R.C.3705.3]
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