
IN THE HIGHLAND COUNTY COURT 
MADISON TOWNSHIP DIVISION 

GREENFIELD, OHIO 

LOCAL RULES OF THE COURT 

JAN ~ 8 2020 

CLERK OF COURT 
SUPREME COURT OF OHIO 

It is hereby ordered that the following rules be, and adopted for the governance of the practice and 

procedures in the Highland County Court, with a judicial district encompassing Madison Township, Highland 

County, Ohio until otherwise provided. Pursuant to Article IV of the Ohio Constitution, Rules 83 of the Ohio 

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 57 of the Ohio Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 19 of the Ohio Traffic 

Rules, and Rules of Superintendence promulgated by the Supreme Court of Ohio. All previous Rules of 

Court are hereby revoked and rescinded. 

EFFECTIVE DATE 11/13/2019 

GENERAL RULES OF COURT 

Rule 1: Court Hours and Clerk's Hours 

(A) Court hours shall be as follows: 

Monday ................... 9:00 a.m. until adjournment 

Tuesday .................. No Court unless a special session is called 

Wednesday ............. 9:00 a.m. until adjournment 

Thursday ................. No Court unless a special session is called 

Friday ...................... 9:00 a.m. until adjournment 

(B) Clerk's hours shall be as follows: 

Monday ................... 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. 

Tuesday .................. 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. 

Wednesday ............. 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. 

Thursday ................. 8:00 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. 

Friday ...................... 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. 

The Court shall close for legal holidays observed by the public offices of Highland County, Ohio. The Court may be 

closed or its hours of operation changed at any time without prior notice by order of the Judge of the Highland County 

Court. If Court is closed by order of the Judge, all filings due on the day that Court closes will be timely if filed the next 

business day. 

1 



RULE 2: AUTHORIZATION FOR CLERK TO SIGN COMMITMENT ORDERS/ SUBPOENA AND MAKE UPDATES 

The Clerk of this Court or Deputy Clerk are hereby authorized to place the Judge's signature stamp and/or sign for 

this Court on all necessary Commitment Orders (consistent with judgment entry signed by the Judge) and all 

subpoenas required by Ohio law. The Clerk and Deputy Clerk are authorized to use the Judge's signature stamp on 

Limited Driving Privileges, Warrants to Convey, and other documents specifically approved by the Judge. Furthermore, 

the Clerk is authorized to make updates to the schedule of bond, waiver, fines and costs in these rules to reflect 

changes brought about by legislation or changes in Court costs. 

RULE 3: SCHEDULE OF COSTS 
Costs charged in all cases in this Court are as set forth in the Ohio Revised Code in Section 1907. and 2303., 

and/or as set by the Court. 

RULE 4: FEES AND DEPOSITS IN CIVIL CASES AND FILING LIMITATIONS 
(A) All filing fees shall be required at the time of filing of any civil action in this Court. A detailed listing of filing fees 

is available upon request. 
(B) All filing fees received shall be applied to costs associated with the case, or to general Court costs unless 

otherwise directed by the Court. If Court costs exceed the fee, the Clerk shall invoice the appropriate party for 
additional costs. 

(C) $26.00 of the fee collected in civil cases and $11.00 of the fee collected in small claims cases shall be for the 
benefit of Legal Aid Societies in the St~te of Ohio and non-refunable. 

RULE 5: CASE MANAGEMENT IN CIVIL CASES 
(A) Purpose: The purpose of this rule is to establish, pursuant to M.C. Sup. R 18, a system for civil case 

management which will achieve the prompt and fair disposal of civil cases. 
(B) Scheduling of events: The scheduling of a case begins when a civil case is filed. Thereafter, the case is 

managed in five (5) clerical steps and four (4) judicial steps. 
(C) Clerical steps: 

(1) Summons shall be served in accordance with the Ohio Rules of Procedure. In the event there is a failure of 
service, the clerk shall notify counsel by ordinary mail within 14 days of return with lack of service that if counsel fails to 
obtain service of summons within four (4) months from the date the cause of action has been filed, then the case will 
be dismissed without prejudice unless good cause is shown to the contrary. 

(2) Within 90 days of perfection of service, if no answer or responsive pleading has been filed, the clerk shall 
notify counsel of the default and that a failure to submit a motion for default judgment and entry within thirty (30) days 
shall result in the case being dismissed. 

(3) After any responsive pleading is filed, the clerk shall immediately forward said pleading and file to the 
Judge so the matter may be set for a hearing. 

(4) If no action has been taken on a file for a six (6) month period and the case is not set for trial, then the clerk 
shall notify the party that the matter will be dismissed within fifteen (15) days unless good cause is shown. 

(5) When a file has been marked "settlement entry to come" and the entry has not been received, within thirty 
(30) days, then the clerk shall notify the party that his case will be dismissed unless the entry is received within ten (1 O) 
days. 

(D) Judicial steps: 
(1) Pretrial Hearing: After an answer is filed in the case, the clerk will forward the file to the Judge. The Court 

will then set the case for pretrial within 60 days. 
Any attorney for a party to the action who fails to attend at a scheduled pretrial conference, without just cause 

being shown, may be punished for contempt of this Court. 
Notice of pretrial conference shall be given to all counsel of record by mail and/or by telephone, fax or other 

means from the assignment commissioners not less than seven (7) days prior to the conference. Any application for 
continuance of the conference shall be addressed to the Judge to whom the case has been assigned. 

Counsel attending the pretrial conference must have complete authority to stipulate on items of evidence and 
must have full settlement authority. 

The primary purpose of the pretrial conference shall be to achieve an amicable settlement of the controversy 
in suit and set discovery deadlines. 
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The Court shall attempt to narrow legal issues, to reach stipulations as to facts in controversy and, in general, 
shorten the time and expense of trial. The Court shall, at that time, determine whether or not trial briefs should be 
submitted and shall fix a date when they are to be filed. 

Any Judge presiding at pretrial conference of trial shall have the authority to dismiss the action for want of 
prosecution on motion of Defendant, upon failure of Plaintiff, and/or his counsel to appear in person at any pretrial 
conference or trial; to order the Plaintiff to proceed with the case and to decide and determine all matters ex parte 
upon failure of the Defendant to appear in person or by counsel at any pretrial conference of trial as required; to make 
such other orders as the Court may deem appropriate under all the circumstances. 

If the case cannot be settled at pretrial, then the case will be set for trial at a time agreeable to all parties. 
(2) Motions: All motions must be in writing and accompanied by a written memorandum containing citations or 

the arguments of counsel. Opposing counsel shall answer in like manner within fourteen (14) days thereafter. All 
motions will be considered submitted at the end of said fourteen (14) day period unless time is extended by the Court. 

There will be no oral hearings granted in said motions unless the parties request an oral hearing in writing and 
the Court deems it necessary. Faxed Motions are accepted and considered original filing. 

(3) Continuances: No party shall be granted a continuance of a trial or a hearing without a written motion from 
the party or his counsel stating the reason for the continuance. 

When a continuance is requested for the reason that counsel is scheduled to appear in another case assigned 
for trial on the same date in the same or another trial Court of this state, the case which was first set for trial shall have 
priority and shall be tried on the date assigned. Criminal cases assigned for trial have priority over civil cases assigned 
for trial. The granting of any other request for continuance of a scheduled trial is a matter within the discretion of the 
trial Court. 

(4) Judgment entries: Counsel for the party in whose favor an order or judgment is rendered shall prepare a 
journal entry. That entry shall be submitted to opposing counsel within five (5) days of the decision. Opposing counsel 
shall approve or reject the entry within the next five (5) days. Within fourteen (14) days of the decision, the journal 
entry shall be submitted to the Judge, or, thereafter, the Court will prepare the journal entry. 

Entries of settlement may be filed at any time. The avoidance of trial by settlement shall be allowed and 
continued by Court entry upon attorneys' representation of settlement, but a final settlement entry shall be filed within 
thirty (30) days after the date set for trial or the case will be dismissed for want of prosecution. 

Court costs shall be assessed from the filing fee paid by Plaintiff unless otherwise stated by the Court. 

RULE 6: SWORN AFFIDAVITS IN CRIMINAL CASES 
All complaints in criminal cases shall have attached affidavit in which must be sworn to before a warrant to arrest 

will be issued by this Court. 
Exception due to safety concerns for the public involving trespassing violations at the Greenfield Quarry and East 

Monroe Falls, M4 trespassing charges may be issued as summonses without complaint or affidavit being sworn. The 
Court authorizes the clerk's office to accept guilty waivers for violations on M4 trespassing offenses at the Greenfield 
Quarry and East Monroe Falls. 

RULE 7: CASE MANAGEMENT IN CRIMINAL CASES 
(A) The purpose of this rule is to establish, pursuant to Sup. R. 5 a system for criminal case management which 

will provide the fair and impartial administration of criminal cases. These rules shall be construed and applied to 
eliminate unnecessary delay and expense for all parties involved in the Court system. 

(B) Scheduling of events: The scheduling begins after arraignment.Thereafter,the case is managed in four (4) 
judicial steps. 

(1) Pretrials: After arraignment, all first, second, third or fourth degree misdemeanors shall be set for pretrial 
by the Judge or assignment commissioner within twenty-one (21) days. All other misdemeanors shall be set for trial 
unless the Judge orders a pretrial in said case. The pretrial shall be conducted in accordance with Criminal Rule 17.1 
and a memorandum of the matters agreed upon should be filed in said case. Any attorney who fails to appear for 
pretrial, without just cause being shown, may be punished for contempt of Court. 

To facilitate the efficient operation of the Court, all counsel for Defendants and for the State are to be present 
30 minutes prior to the time the pretrial or other hearing is scheduled to take place. When each case is called, the 
Defendant and legal representatives for the Defendant and the State are to be present in the Courtroom. 

If the parties cannot resolve the case, then the case should be set for trial to Court unless a jury is demanded. 
If a jury demand is filed, a second pretrial will be conducted in all cases coming before this Court. The second pretrial 
shall be held within two weeks before the case is set for trial. Complete proposed jury instructions are to be submitted 
in writing or electronically to the Court within 7 days of jury trial by counsel for the Defendant and the State. 

Parties wishing to enter into a plea bargain agreement will indicate at this time their intention to do so. The 
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Clerk of Court shall be notified within 1 O days of trial of the existence of any plea bargain agreement. 
(2) Motions: All motions shall be made in writing and accompanied by a written memorandum containing the 

arguments of counsel. Motions must be filed within the time limits established by the Ohio Rules or Criminal 
Procedure. All motions shall be set for oral hearing. Motions are accepted by fax and such fax shall be considered the 
original on file. 

(3) Trials: Each case not resolved at pretrial shall be set for trial to Court. If a jury demand is timely filed, then 
the case will be moved to the jury trial schedule. All attorneys shall notify the Court by 3:00 p.m. seven (7) days prior to 
the day of their trial of any change in plea or jury costs will be attached to their case. 

(4) Sentencing: Sentencing hearings shall be set within fourteen (14) days from trial if no pre-sentence report 
is requested. After the Court receives the pre-sentence report, the Court will set the hearing for sentencing within 14 
days. 

RULE 8: DISCOVERY .:.. CIVIL - CRIMINAL- TRAFFIC 
(A) Parties shall comply with the provisions of the Ohio Civil Rules of Procedure and the Ohio Criminal Rules of 

Procedure regarding discovery. The court shall set general discovery deadlines in its case scheduling orders. 
The court expects the parties to resolve discovery issues between them without court intervention. Any motion 
filed seeking enforcement of discovery requests, sanctions or protective orders shall set forth the efforts of the 
moving party to resolve the issues prior to the filing of the motion. 

(B) The parties are expected to conduct their discovery expeditiously. The court's case scheduling order will allow 
sufficient time to complete discovery in most cases. Any requests for extensions of discovery deadlines should be filed 
as soon as it becomes evident that an extension is needed but no later than the pretrial. 

(C) Any party filing requests for discovery shall not file a copy of that document with the Clerk. A document 
certifying that a discovery request has been served upon the opposing party shall be filed with a certificate of service. 
When the party responds to the request, that party shall file the original or copy of the discovery request with 
responses thereto with the Clerk and serve a copy on the opposing party. The responding party need not file copies of 
the documents provided, but shall identify them in the response to the discovery request filed with the Clerk. Such 
filings are accepted by fax. 

RULE 9: PLEA NEGOTIATIONS - CIVIL - CRIMINAL- TRAFFIC 
(A) Legal counsel for all parties in all cases; criminal and civil; should complete settlement or plea negotiations no 

later than 7 days before a case is set for trial, should a settlement or plea bargain agreement have been reached by 
the parties. 

(B) Plea bargain agreements entered into without notification to the Clerk of this Court within the time frame of 
Rule 6 (A), shall be approved only upon a showing of good cause of why earlier notification was not given or in the 
interest of justice. 

(C) In all cases wherein trial counsel have agreed to a plea bargain in which a demand for jury has been 
previously filed, all parties in all cases shall immediately notify the Clerk of this Court of the existence of a plea bargain 
in which no jury will need be summoned. 

RULE 10: MOTIONS FOR DEFAULT JUDGMENT - CIVIL 
All motions for default judgment filed with this Court in civil cases, shall be accompanied by a record of all 

payments and a summary of how calculations were made. A hearing will be scheduled within fourteen (1 O days) upon 
all motions for default judgment. Plaintiff's appearance is not required. 

RULE 11: JURY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR HIGHLAND COUNTY COURT 
(A) Opportunity for Service: 

1. The opportunity for jury service shall not be denied or limited on the basis of race, national origin, gender, 
age, religious belief, income, occupation, disability, or any other factor that discriminates against a cognizable group in 
the jurisdiction. 

2. Jury service is an obligation of all qualified citizens of Madison Township, Highland County, Ohio. 
(B) Jury Source List: 

1. The jury source list shall be obtained from the Board of Elections' list of registered voters. The Jury 
Commissioners shall then receive a computer printout from the Board of Elections and provide to the Court annually. 

2. The jury source list shall be representative and should be as inclusive of the adult population in the 
jurisdiction as is feasible. 

3. The Court shall annually review the jury source list for its representativeness and inclusiveness of the adult 
population in the jurisdiction as is feasible. 
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4. Should the Court determine that improvement is needed in the representativeness of inclusiveness of the 
jury source list, appropriate corrective action shall be taken. 

(C) Random Selection Procedures: 
1. The jury source list from the Board of Elections shall be printed out on address labels which are filed with 

the Clerk. Such list shall be valid for use for a period of 1 year. 
2. Departures from the principle of random selection are appropriate only to comply with lawful exceptions. 

(D) Eligibility for Jury Service 
1. All persons shall be eligible for jury service except those who: 

a. Are less than eighteen (18) years of age; 
b. Are not citizens of the United States; 
c. Are not residents of Madison Township, Highland County, Ohio; 
d. Are not able to communicate in the English language; 
e. Have been convicted of a felony and have not had their civil rights restored. 

(E) Term and Availability for Jury Service 
1. The time that persons are called upon to perform jury service and to be available should be the shortest 

period consistent with the needs of justice. 
2. Jurors shall be selected in the order of the address labels listing given to the Clerk. 

(F) Exemption, Excuse, and Deferral 
1. All automatic excuses or exemptions, with the exception of statutory exemptions, from jury service shall be 

eliminated. 
2. Prospective jurors are excused for the following reasons: absence from the county; physical inability to 

serve; recent death of the juror's spouse or the recent death or dangerous illness of the juror or juror's spouse; prior 
service within the same jury year; material harm to the interests of the juror or public; the juror is a member of a 
cloistered religious organization. Requests to be excused shall be determined by the Judge of the Court. 

3. Deferral of jury service for reason of hardship, vacation, etc. shall be permitted upon determination by the 
Judge of the Court. 

4. Any request for excuse or deferral and their disposition shall be recorded and maintained until the 
conclusion of the trial for which they have been called. 

(G). Voir Dire 
1. Voir Dire examination shall be limited to matters relevant to determining whether to remove a juror for cause 

and to determine the juror's fairness and impartiality. 
2. The Judge of the Court shall conduct a preliminary voir dire examination. Counsel shall then be permitted to 

question panel members for a reasonable period of time. 
3. The Judge shall ensure that the privacy of prospective jurors is reasonably protected, and the questioning is 

consistent with the purpose of the voir dire process. 
4. In criminal and civil cases, the voir dire process shall be held on the record 
5. Rules on Voir Dire 

a. The case may not be argued in any way while questioning the jurors. 
b. Counsel may not engage in efforts to indoctrinate jurors. 
c. Jurors may not be questioned concerning anticipated instructions or theories of law. This does not 

prevent general questions concerning the validity and philosophy of reasonable doubt or the presumption of 
innocence. 

d. Jurors may not be asked what kind of verdict they might return under any circumstance. 
e. Questions are to be asked collectively of the entire panel whenever possible. 

(H). Removal from the Jury Panel for Cause 
1. If the Judge determines during the voir dire process that any individual is unable or unwilling to hear the 

particular case at issue fairly and impartially, that individual shall be removed from the panel. Such a determination 
may be made on motion of counsel or by the Judge. 

(I) Preemptory Challenges 
1. Rules determining procedure for exercising peremptory challenges shall be in accordance with Ohio Civil 

and Criminal Rules adopted by the Supreme Court of Ohio and applicable statutory authority. 
(J) Administration of the Jury System 

1. The responsibility for administration of the jury system shall be vested exclusively in the Highland County 
Court. 

2. All procedures concerning jury selection and service should be governed by Ohio Rules of Courts. 
(K) Notification and Summoning Procedures 

1. A notice summoning a person to jury service shall be: 
a. Combined in a single document; 
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b. Phrased so as to be readily understood by an individual unfamiliar with the legal and jury systems; and 
c. Delivered by regular U. S. Mail. 
(L) A summons should clearly explain how and when the recipient must respond and the consequences of 

a failure to respond. 
(M) Policies and procedures have been established for monitoring failure to respond to a summons and for 

enforcing a summons to report for jury service. 
1. Upon failure of a juror to appear as summoned for jury service, and upon instruction from the Judge, the 

Clerk shall attempt one phone call to reach the prospective juror and remind him/her of his/her duty to appear and 
serve if required. 

2. If the prospective juror cannot be reached by telephone, a letter shall be mailed to the person requesting 
him/her to appear before the Court and explain the failure to appear. 

3. If the Judge should determine that the juror purposely failed to appear for jury service, a contempt citation, 
upon the order of the Judge, shall be issued and a hearing conducted. 

N. Monitoring the Jury System 
The Court shall collect and analyze information periodically regarding the performance of the jury system in order 

to evaluate: 
1. The representativeness and inclusiveness of the jury source list; 
2. The effectiveness of qualification and summoning procedures; 
3. The responsiveness of individual citizens to jury duty summonses; 
4. The efficient use of jurors; and 
5. The cost-effectiveness of the jury management system. 

0. Juror Use 
1. The Court shall employ the services of prospective jurors so as to achieve optimum use with a minimum of 

inconvenience to jurors. 
2. The Court shall determine the minimally sufficient number of jurors needed to accommodate trial activity. 

P. Jury Facilities 
1. The Court shall provide an adequate and suitable environment for jurors. 
2. The entrance and registration area shall be clearly identified and appropriately designed to accommodate 

the daily flow of prospective jurors to the Courthouse. 
3. Jurors shall be accommodated in pleasant waiting facilities furnished with suitable amenities. 
4. Jury deliberation rooms shall include space, furnishings, and facilities conducive to reaching a fair verdict. 
5.The safety and security of the deliberation room shall be ensured. 
6 .. To the extent feasible, juror facilities should be arranged to minimize contact between jurors, parties, 

counsel and the public. 
Q. Juror Compensation 

1. Persons called for jury service shall receive a reasonable fee for their services and expenses pursuant to 
statutory authority. 

2. Such fees shall be paid promptly. 
3. Employers shall be prohibited from discharging, laying-off, denying advancement opportunities, or otherwise 

penalizing employees who miss work because of jury service. 
R. Juror Orientation 

1. The Court shall provide preliminary instructions to all prospective jurors. Complete proposed jury 
instructions are to be submitted in writing or electronically to the Court within 7 days of jury trial by counsel for the 
Defendant and the State/Plaintiff. 

2. Instructions shall be given directly following empanelment of the jury to explain the jury's role, the trial 
procedures including note taking and questioning by jurors, the nature of evidence and its evaluation, the issues to be 
addressed, and the basic relevant legal principles. 

3. Prior to commencement of deliberations, the jury shall be instructed on the law, on the appropriate 
procedures to be followed during deliberations, and on the appropriate method for reporting the results of its 
deliberations. 

4. Instructions should be prepared and delivered which are readily understood by individuals unfamiliar with 
the legal system; and 

5. Utilization of written instructions is preferable. 
6. Before dismissing a jury at the conclusion of a case, the Judge shall: 

a. Release the jurors from their duty of confidentiality; 
b. Explain their rights regarding inquiries from counsel or the press; 
c. Advise them that they are discharged from service. 
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d. Express appreciation to the jurors for their service. 
7. All communication between the Judge and members of the jury panel from the time of reporting to the 

Courtroom for voir dire until dismissal shall be in writing or on the record in open Court. Counsel for each party shall be 
informed of such communication and given the opportunity to be heard. 

S. Jury Size and Unanimity of Verdict 
1. Jury size and unanimity in civil and criminal cases shall conform with existing Ohio law. 

T. Jury Deliberations 
1. Jury deliberations should take place under conditions and pursuant to procedures that are designed to 

ensure impartiality and to enhance rational decision-making and shall conform with existing Ohio law. 
2. The Judge shall instruct the jury concerning appropriate procedures to be followed during deliberations. 
3. A jury shall not be required to deliberate after a reasonable hour unless the trial Judge determines that an 

additional day of deliberation would cause an undue hardship upon the jurors and in the interest of justice. 

RULE 12: CLARIFICATION OF EFFECTIVE DA TES ON CHANGES IN FINES, COSTS 
Because fines and costs collected by the Court are subject to change due to legislation, Court orders or other 

amendments which may require re-programming of the Court's computer system, the disposition date of cases is to be 
used in determining appropriate fines and costs rather than the filing date. 

RULE 13: PAYMENT OF WITNESSES 
When a witness is subpoenaed to testify in multiple cases on the same date at approximately the same time, the 

witness shall be paid the standard witness fee plus any mileage due for one appearance only. In such cases where 
there are multiple Defendants, witness fees shall be divided equally among all applicable cases. If a dispute arises 
concerning payment of witness fees, the Judge will make final determination. 

RULE 14: SUMMONS, ARREST AND BOND 
(A) Consistent with Rule 4 of the Ohio Rules of Criminal Procedure, all officers of the Ohio State Highway Patrol, 

Sheriff, Sheriffs' Deputies, and Greenfield Police Department, shall issue a summons in lieu of an arrest where 
said summons would appear to be reasonably secure and the Defendant's appearance and said law 
enforcement officer shall use the complaint and summons forms specified. 

(B) Consistent with Rule 3 of the Ohio Traffic Rules, all officers of the Ohio State Highway Patrol, Sheriff, Sheriffs' 
Deputies, and Greenfield Police Department, shall issue a summons in lieu of an arrest in traffic cases where 
said summons would appear to reasonably secure and the Defendant's appearance and said law enforcement 
officer shall use the traffic complaint and summons forms specified in Rule 3 of the Ohio Traffic Rules in all 
traffic cases. 

a. The use and filing of a traffic ticket that is produced by computer or other electronic means is hereby 
authorized pursuant to Traffic Rule 3(F). The electronically produced traffic ticket shall conform in all 
substantive respects to the Ohio Uniform Traffic Ticket. If an electronically produced traffic ticket is 
issued at the scene of an alleged offense, the issuing officer shall serve the defendant with the 
defendant's paper copy of the ticket as required by division (e) of Traffic Rule 3. The Court record of 
the Ticket shall be filed with the Highland County Court on paper of sufficient quality to allow the court 
record copy to remain unchanged for the period of the retention schedule for the various traffic 
offenses as prescribed by the Rules of Superintendence for the Courts of Ohio. 

(C) In all felony cases and in misdemeanor cases where the law enforcement office determines that summons 
would not reasonably assure the Court appearance of a Defendant, the Bond Schedules set forth in these Rules of 
Court apply. 
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RULE 15: CRIMINAL BOND SCHEDULE 
(A) The following bond schedule shall apply for all non-traffic criminal misdemeanor cases and all felony cases 

within the jurisdiction of this Court prior to arraignment or initial appearance. 

OFFENSE BOND 
Murder ............................................................................ No Bond 

Felony 1st Degree .......................................................... $50,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Felony 2nd Degree ......................................................... $25,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Felony 3rd Degree .......................................................... $10,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Felony 4th Degree .......................................................... $ 5,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Felony 5th Degree .......................................................... $ 2,500.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Misdemeanor 1st Degree ............................................... $ 1,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Misdemeanor 2nd Degree .............................................. $ 750.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Misdemeanor 3rd Degree ............................................... $ 500.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Misdemeanor 4th Degree ............................................... $ 250.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Minor Misdemeanor ........................................................ $ O.R. only - per schedule 

EXCEPTIONSTOTHEABOVEBONDSCHEDULE 
Possession Marijuana/Drug M.M .................................... $ O.R. only - must appear 

Unclassified Misdemeanors ............................................ $ As authorized by Judge 

For any and all cases that involve the drug Methamphetamine or Heroine the following Bond Schedule applies: 

Felony cases ................................................................... $70,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

Misdemeanor cases ....................................................... $10,000.00 for each count, cash or surety 

(B) All bonds issued pursuant to this rule must be cash or guaranteed by a surety company licensed in the State of 
Ohio and whose agent is properly registered in Ohio and approved by the Court pursuant to ORC 3905.87. 

(C) Person posting a bond may post a cash bond or surety bond. The Court will not accept 10% bonds unless 
personally authorized by the Judge of the Highland County Court. 

(D) Any modification of the above criminal bond schedule must be personally authorized by the Judge of the 
Highland County Court. 

(E) The schedule listed below is the schedule of Bond, Waiver, and Fine and Costs in Criminal Minor 
Misdemeanors, except Marijuana and Drug Minor Misdemeanors. Any criminal minor misdemeanors not listed must 

appear unless otherwise authorized by the Judge of Highland County Court. 

Addendum: Any person released on bond for a domestic violence charge, domestic menacing, a menacing by 
stalking or violation of a protection order charge shall stay completely away from the complainant and or 
alleged victim until further order of the court. 
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Exceptions to ue : -R I 15 CRIMINAL BOND SCHEDULE FOR GUil TY WAIVERS 
City Code State Code Offense Bond Waiver 
509.03 a 1-5 2917.11 Disorderly Conduct 110.00 110.00 
509.03 bed 1-2 2917.11 Disorderly by Intoxication 110.00 110.00 
509.03 e3 2917.11 Persistent Disorderly Conduct 250.00 COURT 
509.08 Disturbinq the Peace 110.00 110.00 
509.10 Loitering 110.00 110.00 
513.01 2925.01 Possess / Use Marihuana OR Bond COURT 
529.04 4301.64 Liquor consumption in motor vehicle (M4) 250.00 COURT 
529.07 4301.62 Open container (MM) 110.00 110.00 
541.05 2911.21 Trespassing at Greenfield Quarry or East 110.00 110.00 

Monroe Falls ONLY (all other Trespass= Court) 
521.10 3791.03 Smokinq in Public Areas 110.00 110.00 
521.13 4737.05 Noxious Weeds / Litter prohibited 110.00 110.00 

RULE 16: TRAFFIC BOND SCHEDULE - SCHEDULE FOR GUil TY WAIVERS 
The following bond schedule is adopted in traffic cases and schedule of fine and costs applicable in guilty waivers in 
traffic cases. 
City Code State Code Offense Bond Waiver 
333.03A 4511.21A Assured clear distance ahead 120.00 120.00 
373.03 4511.54 Attached to motor vehicle bicycle or sled 120.00 120.00 
331.13 4511.38 Backinq / startinq without safety 120.00 120.00 
373.01 4511.52 Bicycle or motorized bicycle passenger 110.00 110.00 
373.04 4511.55 Bike or motorcycle - three or more abreast 120.00 120.00 
337.29 4513.021 Bumper Height 120.00 120.00 
337.26 4511.81 Child Restraint 111.00 111.00 
331.32 Controlled highway 120.00 120.00 
337.12 4513.13 Cowl, fender & backup liohts 120.00 120.00 
331.36 ------------ Cracking exhaust / Squealing Tires 120.00 120.00 
331.31 4511.35 Crossinq Divided hiohwav 120.00 120.00 
351.12 4513.28 Disabled vehicle Warning 120.00 120.00 
337.13 4513.14 Disolay of liohts 120.00 120.00 
335.04 4507.30 Dr Lie Misrep 250.00 Court 
333.07 4511.251 Drag racina / Street Racinq 1000.00 Court 
371.04 4511.49 Drive /Move upon right half of crosswalk 110.00 110.00 
331.37 4511.711 Drive on sidewalk 120.00 120.00 
331.29 4511.60 Drive throuqh safety zone 120.00 120.00 
337.27 4513.263 Drivers & Passenoers Seat Belts Reauired 101.00 101.00 
331.42 Drivinq / Parkinq on private parking area 120.00 120.00 
331.39 4511.62 Drivino across Grade RR Crossinq 120.00 120.00 
341.05 4506.15A Drivinq Commercial M/ Vehicle while disqualified (M1) 250.00 Court 
341.05 4506.03 Driving Commercial M/ Vehicle without CDL (M1) 250.00 Court 
331.26 4511.71 Drivinq on Closed Hwv / Street 120.00 120.00 
331.22 4511.44 Driving on road from olace other than roadway 120.00 120.00 
331.28 4511.73 Drivinq over fire hose 120.00 120.00 
335.07 4510.037(J) Driving under 12 Point Susoension 250.00 Court 
335.074 4510.111 Drivinq Under Child Suooort Suspension 250.00 Court 
335.072 4510.16(A) Driving Under FRA Susoension 250.00 Court 
335.072 4510.16 Drivinq Under Non-Payment Judgement Suspension 250.00 Court 
335.071 4510.14 Driving Under OVI Susoension 500.00 Court 
335.03 4507.05 Drivinq with permit, no licensed driver 250.00 Court 
337.10 4513.11 Emblem Reauired animal-drawn/slow-movinq vehicle 120.00 120.00 
331.20 4511.03 Emergency vehicle (stopped) 120.00 120.00 
331.34A 4511.202 Failure to Control 120.00 120.00 
335.09 4503.21 Failure to display license olates 120.00 120.00 
335.06 4507.35 Failure to Display operator's license 120.00 120.00 
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City Code State Code Offense Bond Waiver 
335.073 4510.21(8) Failure to Reinstate 250.00 Court 
331.18 4511.42 Failure to yield 120.00 120.00 
337.17 4513.19 Focus of liqhts 120.00 120.00 
331.27 4511.72 Follow emergency vehicle 120.00 120.00 
331.09 4511.34 Follow to Close 120.00 120.00 
331.07 4511.31 Hazardous or No Passing Zone 120.00 120.00 
337.03 4513.04 Headliqhts Required 120.00 120.00 
335.12 4549.02 Hit/ Skip ; Leaving the Scene 1000.00 Court 
371.06 4511.51 Hitchhikina / Solicitina Ride 110.00 110.00 
337.19 4513.21 Horn, Siren & Theft Alarm 120.00 120.00 
335.11 4503.12 llleaal Plates; Transfer Reaistration (Fictitious Taas) 120.00 120.00 
331.04 4511.28 Improper passing 120.00 120.00 
339.09 4513.31 Improperly secured load/ loose load 120.00 120.00 
337.18 4513.20 Inadequate brakes 120.00 120.00 
331.10 4511.36 Intersection, rules for turns 120.00 120.00 
335.14 4549.03 Leaving scene with damage to real estate 500.00 Court 
331.06 4511.30 Left of center prohibited 120.00 120.00 
337.02A-D 4513.03 Lighted Lights; Measurement of Distance and Heights 120.00 120.00 
337.15 4513.16 Liahts - Slow Movina Vehicle 120.00 120.00 
337.06 4511.56 Lights & Reflector on Bicycle 120.00 120.00 
337.09 4513.10 Lights on parked / stopped vehicle 120.00 120.00 
331.44 4511.82 Littering from Motor Vehicle 120.00 120.00 
337.23 4513.30 Load extendina over left side of vehicle 120.00 120.00 
339.08 4513.31 Loads Dropping of leaking, mud, tracking 120.00 120.00 
331.08 4511.33 Marked Lanes I Chanae Lanes 120.00 120.00 
339.03 5577.05 Maximum width, length, height 120.00 120.00 
331.43 Motor Vehicle on City Bike Path 120.00 120.00 
337.24 4513.07 Motor Vehicle Stop Lights 120.00 120.00 
339.05 5577.11 Mud flaps / Wheel Protectors 120.00 120.00 
337.20 4513.22 Mufflers, excess smoke 120.00 120.00 
373.02 4511.53 No protective headaear 120.00 120.00 
335.10 4503.21 No valid sticker (expired tags) 120.00 120.00 
337.16 4513.17 Number of Liahts 120.00 120.00 
337.07 4513.08 Obscured Liahts 120.00 120.00 
331.25 4511.70 Obstructed View / Passenaer overload 120.00 120.00 
331.33 4511.712 Obstruction of intersection 120.00 120.00 
331.35 4511.701 Occupy travel trailer in motion 120.00 120.00 
331.30 4511.32 One way street or hiahway 120.00 120.00 
335.01 4510.12(A) Operate motor vehicle with Expired O.L. 120.00 120.00 

EXPIRED LESS THAN 6 MONTHS 
335.01 4510.12 Operate motor vehicle without valid O.L. / NO O.L. 500.00 Court 
335.08 4505.18 Operation or sale without certificate of sale I Title Via. 120.00 120.00 
339.01 4513.99 Oversized/ overweight Vehicle 120.00 120.00 
331.05 4511.29 Overtakina / Passinq Left of Center 120.00 120.00 
333.01A 4511.19A OVI / Driving under the influence 1000.00 Court 
331.02 4511.26 Passing to the riaht when proceedina in oooosite directions 120.00 120.00 
373.11 4511.713 Paths Exclusive for Bicycles 120.00 120.00 
313.05 4511.14 Pedestrian control liaht 120.00 120.00 
371.03 4511.48 Pedestrian Cross road outside crosswalk I Diaaonal 110.00 110.00 
371.10 4511.511 Pedestrian on railroad 110.00 110.00 
371.01 4511.46 Pedestrian Yield right of way in crosswalk 120.00 120.00 
335.02 4507.02 Permittina Operations without valid O.L. 500.00 Court 
333.01 B 4511.194 Physical control 500.00 Court 
337.05 4513.06 Rear Red Reflectors 120.00 120.00 
337.21 4513.23 Rear view mirror 120.00 120.00 
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Citv Code State Code Offense Bond Waiver 
333.09 4510.15 Reckless Operation on St/ Private Prop 120.00 120.00 
337.08 4513.09 Red Liqht or Red Flaq Extended Loads 120.00 120.00 
373.07 4511.55(A) Ridging Rt side of roadway I Obedience Traffic Rules 120.00 120.00 
373.02 4511.53 Ridinq on handlebars 120.00 120.00 
371.06 4511.51 Riding outside vehicle 120.00 120.00 
371.02 4511.47 Riqht of way - blind person 120.00 120.00 
331.21 4511.45 Right of way - emergency vehicle 120.00 120.00 
331.24 4511.451 Riqht of way - funeral 120.00 120.00 
331.16 4511.41 Right of way - intersection 120.00 120.00 
331.17 4511.42 Riqht of way - left turn 120.00 120.00 
331.01 4511.25 Right side of road 120.00 120.00 
337.06 4513.07 Safety Liqhtinq on Commercial Vehicles 120.00 120.00 
331.41 Shortcut to avoid traffic control device 120.00 120.00 
373.05 4511.56 Siqnal device on bicycle 120.00 120.00 
333.04 4511.22 Slow speed 120.00 120.00 
339.02 4513.34 Special permit for vehicle - use of local streets 120.00 120.00 
333.05 4511.23 Speed - bridge 120.00 120.00 
333.03 4511.21 Speed - SEE SCHEDULE 
333.06 4511.24 Speed exception - emergency or safety vehicle 100.00 100.00 
337.11 4513.12 Spotlight or auxiliarv liqht 120.00 120.00 
335.13 4549.021 Stop after accident on private property 500.00 Court 
331.40 4511.61 Stop at qrade crossinq 120.00 120.00 
331.38 4511.75 Stop for school bus 500.00 Court 
331.19 4511.43 Stop siqn 120.00 120.00 
339.11 5589.99 Studded tires and chains 120.00 120.00 
337.04 4513.05 Tailliqhts 120.00 120.00 
333.11 4511.204 Texting While Driving Prohibited 120.00 120.00 
339.07 4513.32 Towing Requirements 120.00 120.00 
313.01 4511.12 Traffic control device/ sign 120.00 120.00 
313.03 4511.13 Traffic control liahts 120.00 120.00 
330.07 4513.32 Trailer improperly attached towing requirement 120.00 120.00 
331.11 ------ Turn into private drive 120.00 120.00 
331.14 4511.39 Turn siqnal 120.00 120.00 
331.12 4511.37 U turns Prohibited 120.00 120.00 
331.20 4511.213 Unsafe Operation around emergency vehicle 120.00 120.00 
337.01A-D 4513.02 Unsafe vehicle 120.00 120.00 
337.14 4513.15 Use of Headliqht Beams 120.00 120.00 
339.10 5589.99 Vehicles with spikes, luas, chains 120.00 120.00 
371.05 4511.50 Walkina on hiahway 110.00 110.00 
371.09 4511.481 Walking on highway under influence 120.00 120.00 
331.348 Weavina / Full time Attention 120.00 120.00 
333.02 4511.20 Willful or Wanton Disreaard for Safetv 250.00 Court 
337.28 4513.241 Window tintinq 120.00 120.00 
337.22 4513.24 Windshield, windshield wipers 120.00 120.00 
335.05 4511.203 Wronqful Entrustment of Motor Vehicle 250.00 Court 
371.08 4511.452 Yield to Public safety vehicle 120.00 120.00 

SPEED SCHEDULE / WAIVER 

OVER 30 MPH IN EXCESS OF SPEED LIMIT - MUST APPEAR IN COURT 

1 sT Offense w/in a vear 2nd Offense w/in a year 3rd and Subsequent offense w/ in year 
$1 Per Mile over Speed Limit $2 Per Mile over Speed Limit Must Aooear in Court 

Plus $100 Costs Plus $100 Costs 
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BOND & WAIVER: OVERLOAD OF TRUCKS --SECTION 5577.01 to 5577.07 
The following Bond Schedule is stablished to deal with all non-jailable citation issued to defendant for operating 
vehicles weighing greater than the legal limit. One hundred ($100.00) dollars of this Bond represents assessed Court 
Costs. Forfeiture of the applicable bond in lieu of Court appearance will dispose of the case. 

0-2,000 LBS $180.00 

2,000 - 5,000 lbs. - $200.00 for the first 2,000 lbs. plus $1.00 per hundred pounds for the amount over between 2,000 
and 5,000 lbs. 

5,001 - 10,000 lbs. - $230.00 for the first 5,000 lbs. plus $2.00 per hundred pounds for the amount over between 5,001 
and 10,000 lbs. 

Over 10,000 lbs. - $260.00 for the first 10,000 lbs. plus $3.00 per hundred pounds for the amount over 10,000 lbs. 

NOTE: 100% of fines on overloads go to "County" even if cited by OSP. 

RULE17:PROCEDUREFORIMPOUNDMENT 
Upon arrest the arresting officer has discretion to place a holder on vehicle following guidelines set by the arresting 

department. 
A. A Court release is not required to release vehicle unless the Court has been notified a valid reason for holder 

such as possible forfeiture, being held for evidence, possible immobilization, used during commission of crime. 
1. If holder is placed on vehicle notification to the Court and reason for holder must be filed with initial 

paperwork ( complaint or traffic ticket) 
B. If the Court determines that the vehicle is held pretrial, the Court will notify the arresting department, and the 

arresting department will continue to impound the vehicle pending disposition. 
1. If no notification is given to hold vehicle to the arresting department, vehicle is authorized to be released. 

RULE 18: PROCEDURE FOR IMMOBILIZATION 
A. When the Court issues an immobilization order either pretrial or at disposition, the arresting department or 

appropriate agency as determined by the Court will locate the motor vehicle, immobilize it, and make return on the 
appropriate BMV form to the Court. The Court will send appropriate paperwork to the BMV. 

B. the Court will notify the arresting department or appropriate agency release date of Immobilization. 

RULE 19: WILDLIFE- BOND -WAIVER-FINE AND COSTS 
The following Bond Schedule is stablished to deal with all non-jailable citation issued to defendant. Ninety ($90.00) 
dollars of this Bond represents assessed Court Costs. Forfeiture of the applicable bond in lieu of Court appearance will 
d' f th ISDOSe 0 e case. 

State Offense Bond 1st offense In 2nd offense 

code year In year 

1533.17 Huntinq, fishinq, pursuinq oame without written permission 140.00 Court Court 
1533.32 Fishinq without license 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.32 Nonresident without valid license 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.32 Fishinq with another's license 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.32 Sale or purchase falsely dated license 140.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Take or possess froqs in closed season 140.00 140.00 Court 
1531.02 Each additional frog in closed season 20.00ea 
1531.02 Trap or shoot froas or turtles 140.00 140.00 Court 
1531.02 Over froos 140.00 140.00 Court 
1531.02 Usina untaaaed trotline, bank lines or float lines 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 No name on ice fishinQ shelter 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 SeininQ minnows illegally 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Take game fish by spear, snag, traps, shooting or illegal method 140.00 140.00 Court 

1531.02 Harvesting wild ginseng upon the lands of another without written 275.00 250.00 Court 
permission of owner 
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State Offense Bond 1st offense In 2nd offense 

code year In year 

1533.54 Illegal possession of fish trap or seine 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.40 Sellina minnows without license 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.63 Transport, sell, possess undersized commercial fish 550.00 Court Court 
1533.58 Poison or dynamite fish, frogs or turtles 350.00 Court Court 
1533.02 Sale of game fish 275.00 275.00 Court 
1533.10 Subscribed to false affidavit; obtained license by fraud 275.00 Court Court 
1533.10 Hunting without license 250.00 Court Court 
1533.14 Fail to carry and exhibit license 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.10 Non-resident without valid license 275.00 Court Court 
1533.02 Take animals from den 250.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Pursue furbearing animals at night without continuous white light 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Take animals by use of fire 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Hunting before or after hours 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Shoot from or take qame from or by use of auto or attachments 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Shoot at or take game on, from or across public road/hiahway 300.00 Court Court 
1533.16 Take wild quadrupeds and game birds by illegal method; traps, 250.00 Court Court 

crossbow, etc. 
1531.02 Illegal possession of hen pheasant 140.00 140.00 Court 
1531.02 Additional hen pheasant 20.00 ea 20.00 ea Court 
1531.02 Illegal possession of quail 140.00 140.00 Court 
1531.02 Each Additional quail 20.00 ea 20.00 ea Court 
1531.02 Hunt, take or possess game in closed season 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Take or possess over limit of qame 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Hunting fowl or deer with unplugged gun (too many shells) 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Possess firearm while pursuinq furbearinq animals in closed season 300.00 Court Court 
1533.07 Take or possess eagle or osprey 550.00 Court Court 
1533.07 Take or possess non-aame bird 550.00 Court Court 
1533.02 Sale of wild game 350.00 ea Court Court 
1531.02 Hunting ducks from boat under power 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.71 Hold live game in captivity for sale without license 300.00 Court Court 
1533.22 Hunt within a field trial area 200.00 Court Court 
1533.71 - Regulations for license shooting preserve; tags, records, release of 250.00 Court Court 
1533.80 game thereon 
1533.161 Shininq from vehicle with qun 300.00 Court Court 
1533.161 Shining from vehicle without gun 200.00 200.00 Court 
1533.161 Shininq deer while havinq aun in possession 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Hunt, take or possess deer in closed season 550.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Hunt or take deer with qun in no-qun zone 550.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Hunt or take deer with prohibited weapon 550.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Possession of deer or parts of a deer without statement showing 250.00 Court Court 

date received and from whom 
1531.02 Transport deer without temporary tag 140.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Fail to check in a deer at an official checking station for permanent 140.00 Court Court 

taaainq 
1531.02 Hunting without wearing hunter orange 140.00 140.00 Court 
1533.02 Sale of deer 550.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Sale of deer 550.00 Court Court 
1533.11 Hunt deer without permit 250.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Takinq additional deer in year without permit 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Traooinq durinq closed season 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Illegal possession of fur in closed season $20.00 each additional fur 350.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Usinq oversized traps 140.00 Court Court 
1533.23 Buying fur without fur buver's license $20.00 each additional offense 350.00 Court Court 
1533.66 Trespass on fish pond 140.00 140.00 Court 
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State Offense Bond 1st offense In 2nd offense 

code year In year 

1533.171 lniurv to person on private oropertv 1,100.00 Court Court 
1533.02 Swimming, wildlife area 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Tarqet shootinq on non-desiqnated area 140.00 140.00 Court 
1531.02 Horseback riding without permit 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Dump rubbish on State public huntinq area 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Hunting in closed zone, State controlled area 140.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Use outboard motor on lakes where prohibited 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1531.02 Park /drive vehicle on closed area of oublic huntina area 140.00 140.00 Court 
1501.311 Consuminq alcoholic beveraqe 140.00 140.00 160.00 

Curfew violations 140.00 140.00 160.00 
1533.67 Interfere, assault, deter a qame protector 1,100.00 Court Court 
1531.29 Stream litter and litter on State owned, controlled and administered 550.00 1st Court Court 

land ($1,000.00 subsequent offense) 
1531.29 Picnic litter 200.00 200.00 Court 
1531.25 Hunt, kill, take or possess endanaered soecies 550.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Pursue wild animals with doos two weeks prior to fur bearino season 300.00 Court Court 
1531.02 Kill or cripple migratory game bird without making a reasonable effort 140.00 140.00 160.00 

to retain it 
1531. Other miscellaneous violations under Section 1531 as approved by 140.00 140.00 160.00 

Court 

RULE 20· DOMESTIC ANIMAL VIOLATIONS BOND & WAIVER MINOR MISDEMEANOR 
City Code State Code Offense Bond Waiver 2nd offense 

within year 

505.10 951.02 Doa I other animals at larae 110.00 110.00 COURT 
505.10C2 955.22 Doo - Reasonable Control 110.00 110.00 COURT 
505.09 955 .. Barkina / Howling Doas 110.00 110.00 120.00 
505.15 955 Vicious Doo 110.00 COURT COURT 

Because of changing requirements from the State and variations in the waiver amounts indicated by 
officers, the Clerk's office is authorized to accept waiver payments up to $10.00 plus or minus the amount 
listed in waiver schedule. Adjustment plus or minus will be adjusted in the Court costs on the case being 
waived. Any other variations from the waiver schedule must be approved by the Judge 

RULE 21: TRUSTEESHIP 
Any person entitled to the benefits of Ohio Revised Code Sections 2329. 70 and 2329. 71, and desiring to receive 

the benefits thereof, may file with the clerk of Highland County Court, an application, sworn to under oath, which shall 
contain an accurate account and complete statement of the names and addresses of his/her unsecured creditors, with 
liquidated claims, and the amount due and owing to each of them, and also the amount if any due and owing to each 
for work, labor and necessaries. 

Upon the presentation of such an application, the debtor is to pay a filing fee of $250.00 payable to the Highland 
County Court. The clerk shall thereupon notify such debtor that said application will be presented to a Judge of the 
Highland County Court upon a date to be fixed the clerk for a hearing upon said application. The clerk shall likewise 
instruct said debtor to be present at the time and place of the hearing, and notify all creditors listed by the applicant of 
the hearing. Any proof of claim by a creditor shall be verified before an officer authorized to administer oaths. Such 
proof of claim shall state the creditor's correct address, the amount which such creditor believes to be due him/her, the 
consideration for such claim and that it is for work and labor or necessaries, if such be the fact. 

Any claimant or the debtor may by motion obtain a hearing to settle disputes concerning any proof of claim filed. 
(A) The debtor shall pay to the clerk, as trustee, monthly, semi-monthly or weekly, in cash, the portion of his/her 

wages not exempt by law and such portion as such debtor wishes to pay over and above said sum not exempt by law. 
(B) Within ninety (90) days after the receipt of such payments from the debtor, the clerk shall deliver checks 

payable to the order of the debtor's creditors, addressed to the creditors, to the address shown upon the creditor's 
authenticated proof of claim. Within the same time limit such checks shall be mailed to all creditors living outside of the 
jurisdiction of this Court to the address shown upon the creditor's authenticated proof of claim. 

14 



(C) All funds received by the clerk shall be deposited in the bank designated by this Court as the depository for 
funds held by the clerk as trustee to prevent garnishment. Such deposits shall be in the name of the clerk. 

(D) If the debtor is the subject of a wage garnishment, the petitioner has fourteen (14) days from the date he or she 
receives the fifteen (15) day Notice of Garnishment to file a Petition for Appointment of Trustee. 

(E). Any other procedure will require Court approval. 
RULE 22: RESTITUTION AND VICTIMS' RIGHTS 

The Court being aware of the enactment of Senate Bill 186 regarding victims' rights, and of provisions of law 
requiring restitution as a part of a sentence upon conviction of certain crimes, or as a term of probation, it is the finding 
of the Court that reasonable procedures for payment of restitution by convicted offenders should be adopted. 

Therefore, it is the order of this Court that Local Criminal Rule 23 is hereby adopted with regard to payment of 
restitution in all criminal and traffic cases in this Court; whether ordered as part of a sentence imposed upon a 
Defendant, as a term of probation, or as part of a plea agreement entered into between the parties and approved by 
the Court. 

The provisions of said rule are, as follows: 
(A) Restitution ordered by the Court will be paid by the offender directly to the Highland County Victim Witness 

Office as established by Highland County Prosecutor's office, unless the Court finds the offender is unable to do so 
solely due to his financial status. 

(8) Periodic payment of restitution offenders will pay a fee of $5.00 for each payment. 
(C) The Highland County Victim Witness office is authorized to communicate directly with the offender 

regarding all restitution matters, including payments, balance, receipts, and failure to pay, etc., unless the attorney for 
the offender notifies the Pros·ecuting Attorney's Office, in writing, that he or she is counsel for the offender. Thereafter, 
all contact is to be made through that attorney as provided in the Code of Professional Responsibility. 

(D) As of February 2, 2004, the Court established a Victim-Witness Assistance Fund, assessing an additional 
Court cost of $5.00 in all criminal and traffic cases filed in this Court. Said Victim-Witness Assistance Fund shall be 
assessed one time on each case number. This cost shall be in addition to any other Court costs imposed in a criminal 
or traffic case and subject to collection with other Court costs. Monies collected in the Victim-Witness Assistance Fund 
shall be forwarded to the Highland County Commissioners with each monthly distribution, designated for deposit in the 
Victim-Witness Assistance Fund. 

RULE 23: SPECIAL PROCESS SERVER 
From time to time as the need arises, the Court may utilize a Special Process Server to serve warrants, 

subpoenas and other items to people living within or outside the immediate jurisdiction of this Court. 
The Judge shall appoint a Special Process Server to perform these duties. 
The Special Process Server shall be paid at the following rate: Within the City of Greenfield: $3.00 per person 

served or per location if served on a business or other address. Within Madison Township but outside the City of 
Greenfield and also within all townships contiguous to Madison Township: $10.00 per person served or per location if 
served on a business or other address. For all other areas beyond contiguous townships: $10.00 per person served, 
plus mileage at the rate of $.50 for the first mile and $.20 per mile thereafter. The Process Server shall complete the 
"service and return" portion of the original document and return it to the Court. 

Payment of the Special Process Server is to be made monthly from Court costs collected or from a budget 
category designated by the Judge. 

In civil and small claims cases, parties may request appointment of a Special Process Server who has agreed to 
attempt service pursuant to an agreement between one of the parties and the Special Process Server. Such request is 
to be made via a motion and is subject to approval of the Court. In such cases, payment of the Special Process Server 
shall be made by the party requesting the appointment in accordance with terms agreed upon by the parties and shall 
not be paid by the Court. 

RULE 24: BAD CHECK FEE 
If a bad check is received by the Court, a $25.00 bad check fee shall be assessed as Court costs unless waived by 

the Court. 
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RULE 25: FACSIMILE (FAX) AND ELECTRONIC FILINGS 
The filing of motions or pleadings and other papers may be made by electronic means at the discretion of the 

Clerk. Any signature on electronically transmitted pleadings or papers shall be considered that of the attorney or party 
it purports to be for all purposes. If it is established that the pleadings or papers were transmitted without authority, the 
Court shall order the filing stricken. 

1. The Clerk or Deputy Clerk shall notify the attorney or other parties if a transmitted document cannot be filed for 
any reason. All documents submitted will be considered filed only when file-stamped by the Clerk or Deputy Clerk and 
the document has been properly docketed. 

RULE 26: COPIES AND REPORTS 
Upon receipt of written request for copies of public records, the Court is to provide such records within a 

reasonable time and according to established guidelines. The costs of any such copies or reports shall be 1 O cents per 
copy, or a minimum fee of $1.00 per report, whichever is greater. 

RULE 27: SPECIAL PROJECTS FUND 
October 3, 2003 the Court authorized establishment of a Special Projects Fund pursuant to ORC 1907.24(6), 

authorizing the assessment of $1.00 for the Court's Special Projects Fund on each new case number filed with the 
Court. This assessment was amended to $21.00 effective January 1, 2009. 

RULE 28: OVERPAYMENT ON FINES, COSTS AND FEES 
In order to save on the time and expense of processing overpayments and refunding same, overpayments of 

$10.00 or less sent to the Court for fines and costs may be accepted by the Clerk or Deputy Clerk, with the additional 
amount assessed as Court costs on the case or cases involved. Similarly, overpayments on civil filing fees of $10.00 
or less may be accepted by the Clerk or Deputy Clerk and applied to Court costs. 

RULE 29: AUTHORIZATION FOR CLERK TO PROCESS ELECTRONIC REPORTS/ PAYMENTS AS MANDATED 
BY THE OHIO SUPREME COURT AND/ OR STATE OF OHIO 

The Clerk of this Court or Deputy Clerk are hereby authorized to submit reports and electronic transfers consistent 
with the same as previously done by paper; furthermore these shall be considered true and accurate records of the 
Court the same as previous paper reports/checks. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF RULES 

These rules shall take effect November 13.2019. They govern all proceedings in actions brought after they take 

effect, and also all further proceedings in action then pending, except to the extent that their application in a particular 

action pending when these rules take effect would not be feasible or would work injustice, in which event, former 

procedure applies. 

ENTER: 

Robert J. Judkins, Judge 
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