LATE COMPLIANCE INSTRUCTIONS

To cure your deficiencies and avoid being sanctioned by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education (“Commission”), you must comply with the following directions:

CLE DEFICIENCIES 

1.	Between January 1 and March 31, 2017, you must attend sufficient approved CLE activities to make up all deficiencies from the immediate prior biennium (2015/2016).  Activities taken or completed after March 31, 2017, cannot be used to cure deficiencies from the prior biennium.

2.	You must submit a Continuing Legal Education Late Compliance Reporting Form (Form 19, enclosed) identifying specifically the deficiencies that are now cleared and indicate by Activity Code, date, and title the approved CLE courses you attended.  Certificates of Completion must be attached for all online courses you completed during the late compliance period. 

3.	You must include with your Form 19, the late compliance fee (check or money order only), made payable to the Supreme Court of Ohio, CCLE, in the amount indicated on the first page of the notice of apparent noncompliance.   Below is a summary of the late compliance fees.  

	DEFICIENCY: 
	LATE COMPLIANCE FEE:

	
Six hours or less 
	
$75 

	
More than six hours but not more than twelve hours 
	
$150 

	
More than twelve hours but not more than eighteen hours 
	
$225 

	
More than eighteen hours   

	
$300


NEW LAWYERS TRAINING DEFICIENCIES 

1.	Between January 1 and March 31, 2017, you must attend sufficient New Lawyers Training courses to make up the deficiency from the immediate prior compliance period.  Remember:  These courses must be pre-approved by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education as New Lawyers Training courses.  If in doubt, please contact us. 

2.	You must submit a Continuing Legal Education Late Compliance Reporting Form (Form 19, enclosed) identifying specifically the deficiencies that are now cleared and indicate by Activity Code, date, and title the New Lawyers Training courses you attended.

3.    The Form 19 must be accompanied by the late compliance fee, check or money order only, made payable to the Supreme Court of Ohio, CCLE in the amount indicated on the first page of the notice of apparent noncompliance.  Below is a summary of the New Lawyers Training late compliance fee:

Late fee for completing New Lawyers Training requirement after 12/31/16 is $300.00.

IMPORTANT  -- PLEASE NOTE

· CLE Activities you take to cure your hour deficiency must be taken and completed on or before March 31, 2017.

· Requests for late compliance must be postmarked on or before May 1, 2017, or the submission will not 	       be accepted.  Failure to submit the request for late compliance by the May 1, 2017, deadline, will result in the Commission issuing a sanction against you and/or suspending you from the practice of law.  	

· For attorneys with a CLE hour deficiency, you can take up to twelve hours of CLE designated as self-study credit for the 2015/2016 compliance period.  This includes online CLE courses, live webcasts, and teleconferences.  The total number of self-study courses you can take during the 2015/2016 compliance period and the late compliance period (January 1, 2015 through March 31, 2017) cannot exceed twelve hours.

· For attorneys and judges with a Judicial College deficiency, please note that there are a limited number of activities offered by the Ohio Judicial College.  When attending Judicial College courses make sure that the activity has been approved for Judicial College credit. Activities offered by the Judicial College that have not been approved for Judicial College credit do not apply towards any Judicial College credit hour deficiencies.
  
· [bookmark: _GoBack]Attorneys who fail to complete the New Lawyers Training requirement by the March 31, 2017, late compliance deadline, will be suspended from the practice of law.  See Rule X, Sec. 17(B).

· If you provide evidence of timely compliance or you successfully complete late compliance, you will 	receive        written confirmation from us.  We will also notify you if we are unable to process your request for late compliance.

· Your CLE record can be checked online at https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/attorneyportal.  If you have any further questions, please contact us at 614/387-9320.
