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SEAN C. GALLAGHER, P.J.: 

{¶ 1} Appellant, Michael E. Aziz, appeals his conviction and sentence for one 

count of sale to underage persons, a misdemeanor of the first degree, under 

R.C. 4301.69(A).  Finding no error in the proceedings below, we affirm.  

{¶ 2} On April 17, 2008, at approximately 11:00 p.m., 20-year-old David Klink 

went to the Coventry Food Mart at 2780 Mayfield Road in Cleveland Heights, Ohio, 

and purchased a “30 pack” of Keystone Light beer.  The sales clerk completing the 

sale was Aziz.  Although Klink had a “fake” or “false” identification card that depicted 

him as being over the age of 21, he was not asked for an ID to prove his age, nor did 

he voluntarily produce it during the sale.  Klink testified that he purchased beer from 

the store on at least ten prior occasions and had used the false ID to secure those 

purchases on at least some of those occasions.  It is undisputed that on at least one 

prior date, Klink purchased beer from Aziz at the store and Aziz asked for and 

checked Klink’s ID to ensure he was 21 years of age.  

{¶ 3} When Klink left the store with the beer on the night of the purchase, he 

was stopped by two Ohio Department of Public Safety officers, John Phillips and 

Jillian Arnold, and questioned about the purchase.  Klink admitted to the agents he 

was not 21, and admitted to having a false ID, but stated he did not use it during this 

specific purchase.  Klink pointed out Aziz as the person who sold him the beer.  The 

agents recovered the false ID from Klink at this time.  



{¶ 4} Aziz was charged with  one count of sale to underage persons pursuant 

to R.C. 4301.69(A), a misdemeanor of the first degree.  A bench trial was conducted 

on October 23, 2008, where the trial court found Aziz guilty of the offense charged.  

On December 8, 2008, Aziz was sentenced to six months in jail with all the days 

suspended and six months of active probation followed by six months inactive 

probation.  In addition, Aziz was ordered to complete 30 hours of community work 

service, attend three AA meetings, and pay a $250 fine plus court costs.       

{¶ 5} Aziz appeals his conviction and sentence, assigning two errors for our 

review.  

{¶ 6} “A. The trial court erred in failing to properly interpret the affirmative 

defense of good faith acceptance of false identification as contained in 

R.C. 4301.639(A).” 

{¶ 7} Aziz was charged with one count of sale to underage persons under 

R.C. 4301.69(A).  The statute  reads as follows: 

{¶ 8} “4301.69 Sale to underage persons; restrictions relating to 
public and private places and accommodations 

 
{¶ 9} “(A) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person 

shall sell beer or intoxicating liquor to an underage person, * * * or shall 

furnish it to an underage person, unless given by a physician in the 

regular line of the physician’s practice or given for established religious 

purposes or unless the underage person is supervised by a parent, 

spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian.” 



{¶ 10} Ohio has adopted an affirmative defense to the offense of sale of 

alcohol to an underage person in R.C. 4301.639.  The statute has three distinct 

components.  

{¶ 11} “4301.639 Immunity of permit holder, agent or employee 
 
{¶ 12} “(A) No permit holder, agent or employee of a permit holder, 

or any other person may be found guilty of a violation of any section of 
this chapter or any rule of the liquor control commission in which age is 
an element of the offense, if the liquor control commission or any court 
of record finds all of the following: 

 
{¶ 13} “(1) That the person buying, at the time of so doing, 

exhibited to the permit holder, the agent or employee of the permit 
holder, or the other person a driver’s or commercial driver’s license, an 
identification card issued under sections 4507.50 to 4507.52 of the 
Revised Code, or a military identification card issued by the United 
States department of defense, that displays a picture of the individual for 
whom the license or card was issued and shows that the person buying 
was then at least twenty-one years of age, if the person was buying beer 
as defined in section 4301.01 of the Revised Code or intoxicating liquor, 
or that the person was then at least eighteen years of age, if the person 
was buying any low-alcohol beverage; 

 
{¶ 14} “(2) That the permit holder, the agent or employee of the 

permit holder, or the other person made a bona fide effort to ascertain 
the true age of the person buying by checking the identification 
presented, at the time of the purchase, to ascertain that the description 
on the identification compared with the appearance of the buyer and that 
the identification presented had not been altered in any way; 

 
{¶ 15} “(3) That the permit holder, the agent or employee of the 

permit holder, or the other person had reason to believe that the person 
buying was of legal age.”  (Emphasis added.) 

 
{¶ 16} Aziz argues that Klink was a repeat customer to the store, that Klink 

purchased alcoholic beverages on prior occasions, and that Klink was asked for 

proof of his age by Aziz and other store personnel in the past.  On at least some of 



those occasions, including at least one with Aziz, Klink offered the false ID as proof 

of his age.  Further, Aziz argues the store security camera showed that while Aziz 

did not check Klink’s ID on the night in question, he checked the ID of customers 

both before and after the sale to Klink.  Last, Aziz argues Klink looked to be about 

“twenty-five” years of age. Aziz asserts these facts create a good faith basis for Aziz 

to believe Klink was 21 years of age.   

{¶ 17} Aziz makes a compelling argument that he had a good faith basis for 

believing Klink was 21.  Nevertheless, the legislature has drafted R.C. 4301.69(A), 

sale to underage persons, as a strict liability offense.  Lesnau v. Andate Enterprises, 

Inc., 93 Ohio St.3d 467, 756 N.E.2d 97, 2001-Ohio-1591. 

{¶ 18} Further, the legislature drafted the affirmative defense statute outlined 

under R.C. 4301.639 to require all three of the conditions listed be satisfied for 

immunity to apply.  State v. Chumbley (1998), 128 Ohio App.3d 323, 714 N.E.2d 

968.  Unfortunately for Aziz, the affirmative defense statute was not written in the 

alternative.  Clearly, under the facts presented here, if these factors were written in 

the alternative, Aziz would have easily met the third exception requiring that he have 

a “reason to believe the person buying was of legal age.”1  

{¶ 19} The affirmative defense statute requires a trial court to find that “all of 

the following” apply in reference to the three immunity subsections.  Further, 

                                                 
1We decline to adopt Judge Painter’s well reasoned dissent in Chumbley to the facts 

in this case as suggested by Aziz.  In Chumbley, unlike here, the issue was the seller’s 
reliance on a “hand stamp” indicating the purchaser was of legal age.  Because there was 
no evidence that an ID was produced during this purchase, we cannot use Judge Painter’s 



subsections one and two are applicable only if an ID is displayed “at the time of 

purchase.”  It is undisputed that Aziz did not ask for, and Klink did not voluntarily 

display, an ID at the time of purchase. 

{¶ 20} We are cognizant that this is likely viewed as a harsh result for a clerk 

who otherwise appears to have acted in good faith to determine the age of the 

purchaser.  Nevertheless, we believe the underlying criminal statute and affirmative 

defense was drafted in a way to severely limit the possibility of underage persons 

being able to purchase alcohol.  The state obviously has a compelling interest in 

keeping alcohol from being sold to underage persons. Unfortunately for Aziz, the 

only way to take advantage of the affirmative defense immunity is to ask for the ID 

each and every time.  

{¶ 21} “B. The sentence imposed by the trial court is contrary to the evidence 

presented at trial.” 

{¶ 22} In this assigned error, Aziz claims that he was sentenced to a harsher 

penalty than Klink, who Aziz views as the more culpable party in this transaction.  

Aziz was sentenced to six months in jail with all the days suspended and six months 

of active probation followed by six months inactive probation.  In addition, Aziz was 

ordered to complete 30 hours of community work service, attend three AA meetings, 

and pay a $250 fine and the court costs.  Klink was charged with possession of a 

false identification card and underage purchase, both misdemeanors of the first 

                                                                                                                                                             
logic from Chumbley even if we found it compelling to the facts in that case.      



degree.  Klink pled guilty to the underage purchase, and the possession of a false ID 

charge was dismissed.  Klink received a suspended jail sentence, was fined only 

$150, and had his probation terminated after only three months of inactive probation.  

{¶ 23} Although we agree with Aziz that Klink misrepresented his age on 

repeated occasions with the intent to deceive Aziz and others, this alone does not 

make the sentence imposed on Aziz improper.  

{¶ 24} We must consider whether the sentence is contrary to law.  In so doing, 

we examine whether the trial court complied with applicable rules and statutes. State 

v. Kalish, 120 Ohio St.3d 23, 896 N.E.2d 124, 2008-Ohio-4912, at ¶26.  

{¶ 25} First, we note that the sentence imposed was within the statutory 

parameters for a conviction of a misdemeanor of the first degree.  The sentence 

ordered for a conviction of a first-degree misdemeanor may be any term not 

exceeding 180 days.  R.C. 2929.24(A).    

{¶ 26} Next, we examine whether the trial court abused its discretion in 

imposing the sentence. 

{¶ 27} “An abuse of discretion is more than error of law or 
judgment.  It implies perversity of will, passion, prejudice, partiality or 
moral delinquency.  In order for a trial court to abuse its discretion, the 
result of its determination must be so grossly violative of fact and logic 
that such result evidences the exercise of passion or bias instead of 
reason.”  

 
{¶ 28} State v. Brooks, 9th Dist. No. 07CA0111-M, 2008-Ohio-3723, at ¶46.   

{¶ 29} In this instance, Aziz did not file a transcript of the sentencing hearing. 

In the absence of the transcript, we presume regularity in the trial court below.  



{¶ 30} A misdemeanor sentence must be “reasonably calculated to achieve the 

two overriding purposes of misdemeanor sentencing[,]” namely “to protect the public 

from future crime” and “to punish the offender.”  R.C. 2929.21(A) and (B).  The court 

may also consider any other factors relevant to achieving the purposes of sentencing 

as provided in R.C. 2929.21.  R.C. 2929.22(B)(2); State v. Coryell, 9th Dist. No. 

24338, 2009-Ohio-1984.  

{¶ 31} The jail time for both offenders was suspended, and the additional 

conditions for Aziz do not appear to be unreasonable on their face.  There is nothing 

to indicate the trial court abused its discretion or failed to consider the factors 

outlined under in R.C. 2929.21 and 2929.22.   

{¶ 32} In light of the above, we are not persuaded that the sentence constitutes 

an abuse of discretion. 

Judgment affirmed. 

     It is ordered that appellee recover from appellant costs herein taxed. 

The court finds there were reasonable grounds for this appeal. 

It is ordered that a special mandate issue out of this court directing the 

municipal court to carry this judgment into execution. 

A certified copy of this entry shall constitute the mandate pursuant to Rule 27 

of the Rules of Appellate Procedure. 

 
 

SEAN C. GALLAGHER, PRESIDING JUDGE 
 
MARY EILEEN KILBANE, J., and 



PATRICIA ANN BLACKMON, J., CONCUR 
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