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[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
KARPINSKI, A.J.: 

{¶1} Defendant-appellant Lynn Howard appeals the small claims 

court’s bench trial ruling on plaintiff-appellee Charles Ferrari’s 

complaint and her counterclaim. 

{¶2} Appellant Howard (“customer”) bought a used 1985 Plymouth 

Voyager from Ferrari (“merchant”) on October 31, 1997.  The total 

purchase price was $1,221.25 and was financed with a $550.00 down 

payment.  Customer signed a security agreement for the remaining 

$671.25 owed.   

{¶3} The used vehicle order stated that the contract was to be 

paid in three payments of $200.00 each, with the first payment due 

on November 30, 1997.  The order form failed to account for the 

additional $71.25 owed on the contract.  The used vehicle order 

filled out by the merchant listed the following: 

{¶4} car sales price:  $1,100.00 
{¶5} tax         77.00 
{¶6} filing fees       40.00 
{¶7} license plates        4.25 

{¶8} Total    $1,221.25 

{¶9} Neither the used vehicle order nor the security agreement 

contained any entry listed as a “finance charge.”  The actual cost 

of the filing fees was $21.00.  At trial, merchant testified that 

he considered the remaining $19.00 as a “documentary service 

charge.” Customer alleges, however, that it is a hidden finance 

charge. 
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{¶10} The car was purchased without any warranty.  After the 

down payment, customer failed to  make  any  payments on the car.  

 The first payment of $200.00 was due on November 1, 1997.  The car 

stopped running on December 1, 1997. 

{¶11} Customer testified that at merchant’s direction she 

signed a blank odometer certification form on October 31, 1997.  

Merchant allegedly later filled in the mileage on the title at the 

time he applied for the certificate of title on December 8, 1997.1 

 Merchant testified that he partially filled out the form in front 

of customer, but admitted that he did not give her a copy of the 

form when she left with the car.  Rather, customer received a copy 

of the odometer disclosure form at the time she picked up her 

certificate of title from merchant at the end of December 1997.   

                     
1The memorandum of certificate of title was obtained on 

December 30, 1997. 



[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
{¶12} In early January 1998 merchant sued customer in small 

claims court for $671.25, the balance on the contract.  Customer 

counterclaimed for violation of the federal Truth In Lending Act 

(TILA), 15 U.S.C. 1601 et seq.; the Ohio Retail Installment Sales  

Act (RISA), R.C. 1317.07; the Federal Odometer Act, 49 U.S.C. 

32705; the Ohio Odometer Act, R.C. 4549.45 and 4549.46; and the 

Ohio Consumer Sales Practice Act (CSPA).2  Customer requested a 

judgment declaring the contract unenforceable, an injunction 

restraining the merchant from further violations of the law, a 

release from any security agreement arising from the transaction, 

“monetary judgment,” and attorney fees and costs.  The small claims 

court denied customer’s motion to transfer the action to a higher 

court. 

{¶13} The magistrate ruled that although the customer’s 

purchase of the car constituted a consumer transaction under Ohio 

CSPA (R.C. 1345), she failed to request rescission in a timely 

manner.  The court additionally noted that the small claims court 

lacked jurisdiction over a claim for equitable relief; the court 

therefore denied customer’s claim for relief under the Ohio CSPA. 

                     
2Customer fails to cite a code section in her counterclaim to 

support this claim. 



[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
{¶14} The court also found that merchant did not qualify as a 

“creditor” under TILA and that therefore customer was not entitled 

to relief under this statute.  The court ruled that merchant 

complied with the Ohio Odometer Act by providing the odometer 

reading on the certificate of transfer of title and that the 

Federal Odometer Act did not apply to this vehicle because it was 

over ten years old and thus exempt from the act per 49 C.F.R. 

580.5(c).3   

{¶15} The court ruled that merchant violated the Ohio RISA by 

charging customer a “documentary service charge” without proving 

that this charge was a customary charge in the industry and awarded 

customer $200.00 in damages.  As a result of this violation, the 

court held that customer was entitled to reasonable attorney fees 

for the violations of CSPA and RISA.  Customer was subsequently 

awarded $600.00 in attorney fees, although the invoices submitted 

to the court at the hearing on attorney fees provided an itemized 

statement for $7,706.50.   

                     
3We note that some courts have held that the Federal Odometer 

“Act does not authorize the Secretary to make an exception to the 
disclosure requirements for transferors of vehicles that are ten or 
more years old.”  Lee v. Gallup Auto Sales (1998), 135 F.3d 1359, 
1361-1362.  The exemption still exists in the regulation, however, 
 which is now numbered 49 CFR 580.17(a)(3). 



[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
{¶16} The court also found customer liable on merchant’s 

complaint for the amount of $671.25 and offset this amount against 

the $200.00 award and $600.00 attorney fees, granting judgment for 

customer in the amount of $128.75 plus costs with statutory 

interest from the date of judgment.  Appellant customer lists seven 

assignments of error.4  She argues the court erred in ruling that 

TILA did not apply, in ruling that the federal and state odometer 

laws were not applicable and/or violated, and in determining the 

amounts awarded for attorney fees and in the judgment.   

{¶17} Appellant’s first two assignments of error are related 

and will be addressed together: 

{¶18}  I.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 
ERROR BECAUSE THE $19 EXCESS IN THE 
FILING FEE WAS A “FINANCE CHARGE” 
UNDER THE TRUTH IN LENDING ACT. 

 
{¶19}  II.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 

ERROR IN NOT FINDING A VIOLATION OF 

THE TRUTH IN LENDING ACT BECAUSE THE 

CONTRACT FAILED TO DISCLOSE, INTER 

ALIA: (A) THE $19 AS A “FINANCE 

CHARGE”; AND (B) THE NUMBER, AMOUNT 

AND DUE DATE OF THE $71.25 PAYMENT. 

                     
4Assignment Number 6 was omitted from appellant’s statement of 

assignments of error. 



[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
{¶20} Congress passed the Truth In Lending Act to protect 

consumers from dishonest business tactics and to provide them with 

an accurate means of comparing credit prices and assessing the cost 

of deferring payment.  Mourning v. Family Publications Service 

(1973), 411 U.S. 356 at 364.  “TILA is a remedial statute and 

should be given a broad, liberal construction so as to serve its 

purpose.”   Pearson v. Easy Living, Inc. (1981), 534 F.Supp. 884 at 

890.  In fact, the failure to disclose does not even have to result 

in the consumer being deceived: “[i]t is not sufficient for a 

lender to comply with the spirit of TILA; strict compliance with 

the disclosure requirement is necessary.”  Id.  Additionally, 

unless the lender or merchant has a statutory defense, “[o]nce a 

violation is found, liability is imposed ***.”  Id.   

{¶21} Further, the amount in question is not significant.  The 

failure to clearly disclose a finance charge as required by TILA 

automatically triggers liability.  Courts have held merchants 

liable for violating the act when the undisclosed amount was as 

small as $1.00.  Buford v. Welcome Finance Co. (1971), 333 F.Supp. 

1243; In re: Weaver v. Trust Company of Columbus (C.A. 5, 1980), 

632 F.2d 460 (amount in dispute was $7.50.) 

{¶22} Merchant claims, however, and the trial court held, that 

he is not liable under TILA because he does not fit the definition 

of a “creditor.”  TILA states 

{¶23}  The term “creditor” refers only to a 
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person who both (1) regularly 

extends, whether in connection with 

loans, sales of property or 

services, or otherwise, consumer 

credit which is payable in more than 

four installments or for which the 

payment of a finance charge is or 

may be required, and (2) is the 

person to whom the debt arising from 

the consumer credit transaction is 

initially payable on the face of the 

evidence ***.  (Emphasis added.) 

{¶24} The regulation further restricts this definition to 

exclude any down payment as one of the four installment payments.  

12 C.F.R. 226.2(a)(17).5  

{¶25} The contract between the parties states that payments 

are due in three payments of $200.00 each.  The merchant states 

that he forgot to include a final payment of $71.25, an amount 

necessary to reach the total amount agreed to by the parties.  Even 

if we were to include this last payment, the number of payments 

                     
5The regulation also defines “regularly extends” as extending 

credit “more than 25 times *** in the preceding calendar year.”  12 
C.F.R. (a)(17) n.3.  Neither the parties nor the court addressed 
the frequency with which merchant extended credit to his customers, 
and we cannot discern from the record if he qualifies as a creditor 
under this portion of the definition. 
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would not exceed four. Under that clause, therefore, merchant does 

not qualify as a creditor.  

{¶26} There is an alternative qualification, however, which 

the magistrate misunderstood.6  The magistrate erroneously 

                     
6  {¶a} In her decision the magistrate correctly states the 

statute. She then notes, “[i]n the present case, Plaintiff extended 
credit to the Defendant in the amount of $671.25, which would have 
been payable in four installments.  Therefore, TILA does not apply 
to the transaction in the present case and Defendant is not 
entitled to prevail on her counterclaim for damages under this 
statute.”  Magistrate’s Decision with Findings of Fact and 
Conclusions of Law at 2, 3.  She bases her decision that seller is 
not a creditor on this interpretation of the law.   
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interpreted the statute to require both more than four installment 

payments and a finance charge, in order to qualify the merchant as 

a creditor under TILA.  The trial court, therefore, did not address 

                                                                  
{¶b} The magistrate’s reading of the law omits the alternative 

means by which defendant could have qualified as a creditor under 
the first clause of the statute.  The first clause states that a 
creditor is either a person who extends credit with over four 
installments or one who charges a finance charge for extending 
credit.  The buyer clearly asserts that the unexplained charge of 
$19.00 is a finance charge.  This charge qualifies the seller as a 
creditor according to the statute. 

{¶c} The dissent ignores this mistake and concludes that 
because “[t]he trial court already has extensively addressed the 
issue and determined that TILA regulations were not, in fact, 
applicable to this transaction[,]” the appeals court has no 
business correcting the trial court.  On the contrary, the 
fundamental purpose of the appellate court is to correct such 
mistakes of law.  The dissent ignores the fact that the trial 
court’s decision was predicated on a misinterpretation of the law. 
 A significant misinterpretation of the law which directly affects 
the outcome of the case, moreover, qualifies as an abuse of 
discretion, contrary to the dissent’s opinion. (Emphasis added). 
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the issue of whether the excess charge in the filing fee 

constituted a finance charge.  

{¶27} From the facts in the record, however, merchant 

qualifies as a creditor under the alternate clause which confers 

creditor status for a merchant when the contract is one in “which 

the payment of a finance charge is or may be required.”  Merchant 

argues that the extra $19.00 he included in the filing fee was a 

“documentary service charge” and not a finance charge.  He relies 

on R.C. 1317.07, “Requirements of a retail installment contract,” 

which states, “[a] documentary service charge customarily and 

presently being paid on May 9, 1949, in a particular business and 

area may be charged if the charge does not exceed fifty dollars per 

sale.”  Ohio law, however, does not control the application of the 

federal statute.  12 C.F.R. 226.4(a) defines a finance charge as  

{¶28}  the cost of consumer credit as a 
dollar amount.  It includes any 
charge payable directly or 
indirectly by the consumer and 
imposed directly or indirectly by 
the creditor as an incident to a 
condition of the extension of 
credit.  It does not include any 
charge of a type payable in a 
comparable cash transaction.   

 
{¶29} Examples of finance charges include “[s]ervice, 

transaction, activity, and carrying charges, including any charge 

imposed on a checking or other transaction account to the extent 

that the charge exceeds the charge for a similar amount without a 

credit feature.”  12 C.F.R. 226.4(b). 
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{¶30}  The regulation also provides a list of examples of 

charges which are not finance charges:  a documentary service 

charge is not included in the exclusion list.  

{¶31} In a case with facts almost identical to those in the 

case at bar, a federal court held that an excess amount charged for 

anything other than what the contract described and was actually 

paid for (here, filing fees) was a hidden finance charge.  Williams 

v. Bill Watson Ford, Inc. (1976), 423 F.Supp. 345 at 348.  There is 

no evidence in the case at bar that the filing fees included a 

documentary service charge.  Unless the merchant can show he 

charges the identical “documentary service charge” in his cash 

transactions, the charge is a hidden finance charge.   

{¶32} Customer’s second assignment of error states that 

merchant violated the statute by failing to correctly state the 

payment terms. Because the trial court ruled that merchant is not a 

creditor and therefore that TILA does not apply to this case, the 

trial court did not address this issue.  This case is remanded to 

the trial court to determine (1) whether merchant qualifies as a 

creditor because of the amount of credit he extends per year, and 

(2) whether the amount he charges for a filing fee in a credit 

contract exceeds the amount he charges for a filing fee on a cash 

sale, thereby constituting a finance charge.  If the evidence shows 

that merchant is a creditor, the trial court is instructed to 

address the issue of whether he violated TILA in his documentation 
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on the sales contract.  If merchant is determined to be in 

violation of TILA, the trial court is further instructed to 

readdress the issue of attorney fees as mandated in 15 U.S.C. 

1640(a)(3).  

{¶33} Appellant’s third assignment of error states: 

{¶34}  III.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 

ERROR BECAUSE THE OHIO ODOMETER 

ROLLBACK AND DISCLOSURE ACT WAS 

VIOLATED IN THIS CASE. 

{¶35} Customer claims that because she was not provided with a 

copy of an odometer reading at the time she made her down payment 

and drove away in the auto, she was not provided with the odometer 

reading as required by law.  Merchant counters that by stating the 

correct odometer reading on the certificate of title, he has 

complied with the law.7  We agree. 

{¶36} Neither party disputes the accuracy of the reading, and 

customer admits that she knew the correct odometer reading when she 

                     
7The Magistrate’s Decision with findings of fact and 

conclusions of law states, “Defendant was given her copy of the 
Odometer Disclosure statement when she picked up her Memorandum of 
Certificate of Title from Plaintiff at the end of December, 1997.“ 
Id. at 2. 
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drove the car from the lot. 

{¶37} The Ohio Odometer and Rollback Disclosure Act, R.C. §§ 

4549.41 through 4549.51, governs the procedure for disclosure of 

odometer readings in the sale or transfer of autos.  R.C. 4549.46 

states, in pertinent part, “[n]o transferor shall fail to provide 

the true and complete odometer disclosures required by section 

4505.06 of the Revised Code.”  R.C. 4504.06 controls the procedure 

for applying for the certificate of title.  It states in pertinent 

part, “[t]he registrar shall prescribe an affidavit in which the 

transferor shall swear *** except as provided in this section, the 

true odometer reading of the motor vehicle.”  R.C. 4505.06(C)(1).  

The odometer disclosure statement then lists the three exceptions, 

one of which is that the “odometer reading reflects the amount of 

mileage in excess of its mechanical limits.”  This box is checked 

on the title for the car in question.  While this odometer 

disclosure form is not required to be on the same paper as the 

certificate of title, it frequently is, and is in this case.  

{¶38} This court has held that a car dealer has “complied with 

R.C. 4549.46 by providing complete disclosures on the back of the 

certificate of the title in question.”  Buchanan v. Spitzer Motor 

City, Inc. (Feb. 7, 1991), Cuyahoga App. Nos. 57893, 58058, 1991 

Ohio App. LEXIS 528 at 25.  Despite merchant’s failure to provide 

customer with a copy of the odometer disclosure form at the time of 

the sale and despite his failure to fill in the mileage on the 
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power of attorney form signed by customer for title transfer, 

merchant complied with Ohio law regarding disclosure of the 

odometer reading when he provided it on the certificate of title. 

{¶39} Despite buyer’s claim that seller was obliged to give an 

odometer statement to buyer at the time of sale, “R.C. 4549.46 does 

not provide a specific time frame for the disclosure of the 

odometer statement, nor does it require that the disclosure be made 

at the time of sale.”  T.C.I. Insurance v. Moore (June 17, 1991), 

Clermont App. No. CA90-12-111, 1991 Ohio App. LEXIS 2815, at *4.  

While we believe the better practice would be to disclose in 

writing the mileage on the car during negotiation for sale, Ohio 

law does not require this timing.  Seller was not in violation of 

the law in the manner in which he disclosed the mileage to buyer by 

stating it on the title at the time of transfer. 

{¶40} The trial court’s ruling on this issue is affirmed. 

{¶41} For her fourth assignment of error, customer states: 

{¶42}  IV.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 

ERROR BECAUSE THE MOTOR VEHICLE 

INFORMATION AND COST SAVINGS ACT WAS 

VIOLATED IN THIS CASE. 

{¶43} Customer objects to the magistrate’s conclusion of law 

holding that the federal motor vehicle information and cost savings 

act does not apply to this transaction because the car in question 

was over ten years old at the time of the sale.  The federal law in 
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question, 49 USCS section 32705, states in pertinent part: 

{¶44}  (a)(1) *** Under regulations 
prescribed by the Secretary of 
Transportation that include the way 
in which information is disclosed 
and retained under this section, a 
person transferring ownership of a 
motor vehicle shall give the 
transferee the following written 
disclosure [concerning the odometer 
reading] ***. 

{¶45}  (5) The Secretary may exempt such 

classes or categories of vehicles as 

the Secretary deems appropriate from 

these requirements. 

{¶46} The Secretary of Transportation then established 49 

C.F.R. 580.17(a)(3), which states: 

{¶47}  (a) A transferor *** of any of the 
following motor vehicles need not 
disclose the vehicle’s odometer 
mileage: 

{¶48}  *** 
{¶49}  (3) A vehicle that was manufactured 

in a model year beginning at least 

ten years before January 1 of the 

calendar year in which the transfer 

occurs ***. 

{¶50} Customer argues that other jurisdictions have found the 

law “void and unenforceable because the regulation is ultra vires.” 

 Appellant’s brief at 11.  Customer cites several cases holding 

that this law does not further the purpose of the Act, which is 
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designed to protect the consumer.  None of the case law customer 

cites, however, is controlling in this jurisdiction.  She asks us 

to “hold that 49 C.F.R. Section 580.6(a)(3) is void and 

unenforceable and that the Federal Odometer Act applies in this 

case.”  Appellant’s brief at 12.  We decline to address this issue, 

however, because merchant did include the odometer information on 

the title at the time of transfer.  As the magistrate stated in her 

findings of fact, merchant had  

{¶51}  completed an Odometer Disclosure 

Statement which certified the number 

of miles on the vehicles [sic] as 

23,797, which was signed by 

[customer] on October 31, 1997.  The 

back of [merchant’s] application for 

the Certificate of Title which was 

filed with the Clerk of Courts 

contained a certification of the 

mileage as 23,797. 

{¶52} The regulation promulgated by the Secretary of 

Transportation describing the means by which a dealer shall provide 

the odometer information to a customer requires that “each 

transferor shall disclose the mileage to the transferee in writing 

on the title ***.  In the case of a transferor in whose name the 

vehicle is titled, the transferor shall disclose the mileage on the 
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title, and not on a reassignment document.”  49 C.F.R. 580.5(c).  

Because the vehicle in question was titled to the merchant, he was 

required to disclose the odometer information on the title to 

comply with the regulation.  He did provide this information on the 

title, as the magistrate stated in her conclusions of law: 

{¶53}  Under the federal Motor Vehicle 

Information and Cost Savings Act 

[merchant] was required to tender a 

disclosure statement reflecting the 

odometer mileage at the time the 

ownership of the vehicle was 

transferred.  The title of the 

vehicle in question did contain such 

a disclosure.  Furthermore, 49 

C.F.R. sec. 580.9(a)(3) exempts the 

vehicle in question from the federal 

law requirements because it is more 

than ten years old.  The federal law 

does not address the time within 

which the certificate of title to a 

vehicle must be obtained and given 

to the buyer. 

{¶54} Because merchant complied with the requirements of the 

federal statute, we, therefore, need not address whether the 
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exception under 49 C.F.R. 580.17(a)(3) for cars more than ten years 

old is enforceable.  The fourth assignment of error is overruled. 

{¶55} For her fifth assignment of error, customer states: 

{¶56}  V.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 

ERROR BECAUSE THE MOTOR VEHICLE 

INFORMATION AND COST SAVINGS ACT WAS 

VIOLATED IN THIS CASE. 

{¶57} Because we decided in the fourth assignment of error 

that the motor vehicle information and cost savings act did not 

apply in this case, this assignment of error is moot. 

{¶58} Customer does not list a sixth assignment of error in 

her App.R. 16(A)(3) statement of the assignments of error, but she 

does argue one in her brief.  In the text of the brief, the sixth 

assignment of error states: 

{¶59}  VI.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 

ERROR IN NOT FINDING ADDITIONAL 

VIOLATIONS OF THE OHIO CONSUMER 

SALES PRACTICES ACT. 

{¶60} Customer asserts that the trial court, in addition to 

finding that the extra charge in the filing fee violated CSPA,  

should have found violations of the Ohio Consumer Sales Practices 

Act in merchant’s failure to include the additional payment of 

$71.25 in the contract; his failure to apply for the Certificate of 

Title within the statutory time period required by R.C. 4505.06; 
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and his violation of TILA and the state and federal odometer acts.  

{¶61} Private damages under CSPA are limited: “the consumer 

may rescind the transaction or recover *** three times the amount 

of his actual damages or two hundred dollars, whichever is greater 

***.”  R.C. 1345.09(B). Customer, here, therefore, is mistaken in 

believing that finding additional violations of the CSPA in the 

contract would affect her damages award.  Even  if merchant has 

 

committed other violations of the CSPA, “where multiple violations 

are alleged to have occurred within one consumer sales transaction, 

multiple awards of statutory damages cannot be sustained.”  

Rosenfield v. Tombragel (Dec. 31, 1996), Hamilton App. No. C-

950871, 1996 Ohio App. LEXIS 5885, at * 8-9.  Customer can receive 

only one award of damages, whether rescission or the statutory 

monetary damages, regardless of how many different violations 

occurred in the contract.  “The separate violations in the instant 

case formed a single instance of actionable conduct resulting in a 

single injury which was cured by rescission of the contract.”  

Eckman v. Columbia Oldsmobile, Inc. (1989), 65 Ohio App.3d 719, 

722.  Similarly here, customer received only one injury resulting 

from the contract for the car.  Customer, therefore, is limited to 

a maximum of $200 or three times her total damages. 

{¶62} On the basis of plain error, we first must address an 

underlying problem.  The magistrate erred when she determined the 
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small claims court lacked jurisdiction to order rescission8:  

                     
8  It is unclear why, if the magistrate believed that the 

small claims court lacked jurisdiction over the counterclaim, she 
denied customer’s motion to transfer the case to the municipal 
court, which would have had that jurisdiction.  

{¶63}  In an action for recission, 

revocation of the consumer 

transaction must occur within a 

reasonable time after the consumer 

discovers or should have discovered 

the ground for it.  O.R.C. 

1345.09(C). [Customer] did not 

attempt to rescind the transaction 

for the above-described acts of the 

[merchant] within a reasonable 

amount of time since [customer]’s 

first attempt at recission did not 

occur until she filed her 

counterclaim in late February, 1998. 
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 Furthermore, the Small Claims 

Division of Cleveland Municipal 

Court lacks jurisdiction over claims 

for equitable relief.  O.R.C. 

1925.02(A)(1).  Therefore, 

[customer]’s request for recission 

of the contract is denied. 

{¶64} The magistrate’s analysis of rescission is erroneously 

grounded on the premise that all claims for rescission are actions 

in equity.  This court has previously distinguished CSPA actions: 

{¶65}  Contrary to the trial court’s ruling 

in the case sub judice, consumer 

actions for rescission under CSPA 

are not actions “in equity” ***.  

Rather, CSPA actions do not involve 

claims of common law fraud but raise 

solely legal issues ***.  The 

plaintiffs in their complaint do not 

plead rescission pursuant to common 

law but base their complaint solely 

on the statutory action under the 

Consumer Sales Practices Act or 

CSPA. 

{¶66} Agee v. National City Bank (June 24, 1993), Cuyahoga App. No. 
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63408, 1993 Ohio App. LEXIS 3212, at * 15-16.  If the customer had 

requested rescission, therefore, the small claims court would have 

been required to award that remedy. 

{¶67} The magistrate made a second mistake in deciding to 

award damages even though the magistrate believed rescission was 

requested.  The magistrate lacked the authority to award  different 

damages from those requested in the counterclaim.  “The statute 

fails to grant the trial court the discretion to elect as between 

the two [remedies].  The language mandates the ‘consumer’ may 

elect, not the court.”  Bierlein v. Alex’s Continental Inn (1984), 

16 Ohio App.3d 294, 301. 

{¶68} A third error occurred when, in her decision discussing 

CSPA, the magistrate erroneously states that customer elected  

rescission, not damages.9  On the contrary, paragraph 24 of 

customer’s counterclaim states, “[customer] is entitled to judgment 

against [seller] in an amount of (3) three times actual damages or 

Two Hundred Dollars ($200) for each unlawful act specified, 

                     
9Customer requested “restitution” under RISA, R.C. 1317.08, 

which is addressed in Assignment of Error VIII.  Her counterclaim 
never asks for “rescission.” 
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whichever is greater, a declaration judgment, injunctive relief, 

attorney’s fees and costs.”    

{¶69} Despite the magistrate’s erroneous belief that customer 

had requested rescission instead of damages, however, and despite 

her erroneous belief that the court had the authority to award 

damages when rescission was requested, the award of the statutory 

maximum of $200 is correct and shall remain.  

{¶70} For her seventh assignment of error, customer states: 

{¶71}  VII.  THE COURT COMMITTED REVERSIBLE 
ERROR IN AFFIRMING THE MAGISTRATE’S 
DECISION REGARDING A REASONABLE 
ATTORNEY FEE, WHICH WAS CONTRARY TO 
LAW AND/OR AN ABUSE OF DISCRETION 
AND/OR WAS NOT SUPPORTED BY THE 
WEIGHT OF THE EVIDENCE. 

{¶72}   A.  THE AWARD OF ATTORNEY FEES 
WAS CONTRARY TO LAW IN THAT IT 
FAILED TO SPECIFY THE REASONS FOR 
ITS DECISION AS REQUIRED BY BITTNER 
V. TRI-COUNTY TOYOTA (1991), 58 OHIO 
ST.3D 143. 

{¶73}   B. THE AWARD OF FEES 

CONSTITUTES AN ABUSE OF DISCRETION 

AND/OR WAS NOT SUPPORTED BY THE 

WEIGHT OF THE EVIDENCE. 

{¶74} The magistrate stated that the customer was “entitled to 

an award of reasonable attorney’s fees per R.C. 1345.09 because 

[merchant’s] violations of the CSPA and RISA were knowingly 

committed.”  Magistrate’s decision.  The customer argues, however, 

that the trial court’s award of only $600 for attorney fees was 
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unreasonable and contrary to law when counsel had submitted an 

itemized statement documenting fees for this case in the amount of 

$7,706.50.  The customer cites Bittner v. Tri-County Toyota (1991), 

58 Ohio St.3d 143 to support her argument that the court 

erroneously allowed fees only for the time counsel spent in trial. 

 “When awarding reasonable attorney fees pursuant to R.C. 

1345.09(F)(2), the trial court should first calculate the number of 

hours reasonably expended on the case times an hourly fee, and then 

may modify that calculation by application of the factors listed in 

DR-2-106(B).”  Id. at syllabus.   

{¶75}  The factors in DR 2-106(B) are: 

{¶76}  (1) The time and labor required, the 
novelty and difficulty of the 
questions involved, and the skill 
requisite to perform the legal 
service properly. 

{¶77}  (2) The likelihood, if apparent to 
the client, that the acceptance of 
the particular employment will 
preclude other employment by the 
lawyer. 

{¶78}  (3) The fee customarily charged in 
the locality for similar legal 
services. 

{¶79}  (4) The amount involved and the 
results obtained. 

{¶80}  (5) The time limitations imposed by 
the client or by the circumstances. 

{¶81}  (6) The nature and length of the 
professional relationship with the 
client. 

{¶82}  (7) The experience, reputation, and 
ability of the lawyer or lawyers 
performing the services. 

{¶83}  (8) Whether the fee is fixed or 
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contingent. 

{¶84} Although the customer’s attorney methodically addressed 

each factor listed in DR 2-106(B) in his testimony at the hearing 

on attorney fees, the magistrate failed to address these factors in 

her decision.  Rather, the magistrate merely asserted she had 

considered the factors.  The only relevant finding of fact the 

magistrate stated in her decision was, “[t]he trial in this matter 

lasted approximately 1 1/2 to 2 hours.”  Id.   

{¶85} “Attorney fees in CSPA violations *** must be determined 

on a case-by-case basis based on the number of hours reasonably 

expended plus other factors that might be applicable.”  Fletcher v. 

Don Foss (1993), 90 Ohio App.3d 82, 90.  A conclusory statement 

that fails to address unrefuted testimony is not adequate to 

support the  court’s award of attorney fees.    

{¶86} The magistrate failed to acknowledge or discuss the fact 

that a large number of the attorney’s hours were spent with the 

former magistrate trying to settle the case.  Additionally, many of 

the motions filed by counsel were required because merchant refused 

to cooperate with discovery.  For example, merchant twice failed to 

appear for scheduled depositions.  As the Court noted in Bittner, 

the fees awarded in that case were in part a result of the 

merchant’s failure to cooperate with discovery which “required 

Bittner’s attorneys to expend their time and resources ***.”  

Bittner at 145.  Rather, it appears that the trial court in the 
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case at bar considered the amount of time counsel spent only in the 

actual trial and a small amount of preparation time.  

{¶87} Counsel testified that he charged $175.00 per hour.  The 

magistrate noted in the decision that the trial lasted between one-

and-a-half and two hours.  Counsel’s fee for just those two hours 

would be $350.00.  The remaining $250.00 awarded in attorney fees 

would have allowed less than one-and-a-half hours for trial 

preparation, all the remaining pretrials, research, motions, and 

canceled depositions.  Clearly the magistrate’s calculation cannot 

be correct.  This court notes that its own research of the complex 

legal issues presented in this case has taken considerable time.  

To allocate only one-and-a-half hours to the attorney for this task 

is unreasonable and an abuse of discretion. 

{¶88} The merchant emphasizes the fact that the amount in 

controversy is only $670.  This point is misplaced, however.  As 

the Supreme Court of Ohio stated in Bittner: 

{¶89}   At the outset, we reject the 
contention that the amount of  
attorney fees awarded pursuant to 
R.C. 1345.09(F) must bear a direct 
relationship to the dollar amount of 
the settlement, between the consumer 
and the supplier. The Act was 
amended in 1978 to include the 
payment of attorney fees "*** to 
prevent unfair, deceptive, and 
unconscionable acts and practices, 
to provide strong and effective 
remedies, both public and private, 
to assure that consumers will 
recover any damages caused by such 
acts and practices, and to eliminate 
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any monetary incentives for 
suppliers to engage in such acts and 
practices." (137 Ohio Laws, Part II, 
3219.)  

{¶90}   In order for private citizens 
to obtain redress under the Act, 
they first must be able to obtain 
adequate legal representation. 
Private attorneys may be unwilling 
to accept consumer protection cases 
if the dollar amount they are 
permitted to bill their adversary is 
limited by the dollar amount of the 
recovery, especially since monetary 
damages in many instances  under the 
Act are limited to $ 200. An 
attorney may expend inordinately 
large amounts of time and energy 
pursuing a claim that reaps 
relatively small monetary benefits 
for a prevailing plaintiff. We agree 
with the observation of the United 
States Supreme Court when it said: 
"A rule of proportionality would 
make it difficult, if not 
impossible, for  individuals with 
meritorious *** claims but 
relatively small potential damages 
to obtain redress from the courts." 
Riverside v. Rivera (1986), 477 U.S. 
561, 578.  

{¶91}   In addition to addressing an 
individual wrong, pursuing a claim 
under the Act may produce a benefit 
to the community generally. A 
judgment for the consumer in such a 
case may discourage violations of 
the Act by others. Prohibiting 
private attorneys from recovering 
for the time they expend on a 
consumer protection case undermines 
both the purpose and deterrent 
effect of the Act.  

    Bittner at 144. 

{¶92} The Bittner court also considered the fact that the 

trial court in that case had “been involved in the pretrial 
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proceedings” and therefore was aware of the effect the merchant’s 

lack of cooperation had on the amount of time spent by counsel.  In 

the case at bar, in contrast, the trial magistrate was involved 

only in the trial itself.  The magistrate who had handled the case 

up until trial, including all the pretrials and settlement 

negotiations, had recused herself because of her extensive 

involvement with the negotiations.  The trial magistrate has to 

rely upon testimony, therefore, to determine the scope of the 

pretrial expenditure of time.  Findings that consider testimony of 

the proceedings prior to the trial are, therefore, also necessary.  

{¶93} As this court held in Fletcher, “the trial court should 

first calculate the number of hours reasonably expended on the case 

times an hourly fee, and then may within its discretion modify that 

calculation by application of the factors listed in DR 2-106(B), if 

applicable.”  Fletcher at 91.  As the Supreme Court of Ohio 

clarified: “When making a fee award pursuant to R.C. 1345.09(F)(2), 

the trial court must state the basis for the fee determination.  

Absent such a statement, it is not possible for an appellate court 

to conduct a meaningful review.”  Bittner at 146, cited by Fletcher 

at 90-91. The monetary award of attorney fees is vacated and the 

case  remanded for a full consideration of the DR 106-B factors to 

determine the amount of attorney fees to be awarded, consistent 

with this opinion. 

{¶94} Finally, for her eighth assignment of error, customer 
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states: 

{¶95}  VIII.  THE TRIAL COURT COMMITTED 

REVERSIBLE ERROR IN AFFIRMING THE 

MAGISTRATE’S COMPUTATION OF 

JUDGMENT. 

{¶96} Customer points out that in computing the damages, the 

trial court failed to include the $19.00 “in actual damages the 

Magistrate found based upon the RISA violation.”  Appellant’s brief 

at 21.  The magistrate found that customer’s “actual damages under 

RISA with respect to this violation are $19.00.”  Magistrate’s 

decision.  R.C. 1345.13 states, “[t]he remedies in sections 1345.01 

to 1345.13 of the Revised Code, are in addition to remedies 

otherwise available for the same conduct under state or local law.” 

 The remedy under RISA, therefore, should have been awarded in 

addition to the remedy awarded under CSPA. 

{¶97} The magistrate erred in determining the effect of 

merchant’s violation of RISA.  As noted, the magistrate held that 

merchant’s “violations of the CSPA and RISA were knowingly 

committed.”  Magistrate’s decision.  R.C. 1317.08 as it existed at 

the time the contract was made, 1997, 

{¶98}  *** explicitly states that neither 

the retail installment contract nor 

the security interest created by the 

retail installment contract are 
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enforceable against the buyer if the 

seller has violated RISA.  Thus, 

according to the plain language of 

the statute, the seller may neither 

sue for the money owed in the 

contract nor retain right to 

repossess the goods. *** In short, 

“the buyer is left with the goods 

and the seller is left with an 

unenforceable evidence of 

indebtedness.”  See Allied Invest. 

Credit Corp. v. Wagon Master, Inc. 

(Mar. 8, 1976), Lake App. No. 5-230, 

 see, also, *** Domestic Credit 

Corp. v. Vasquez (Jan. 29, 1981), 

Cuyahoga App. No. 41985. 

{¶99} Glouster Community Bank v. Winchell (1995), 103 Ohio App.3d 

256, 264. See also, In the Matter of Dewie Sloan, Bankrupt (1968), 

285 F.Supp. 1 (“Section 1317.08 provides that if prohibited charges 

are received by the retail seller, the retail buyer ‘may recover 

the total amount paid to the retail seller.’ *** [It] was the 

legislative intent to deprive the retail seller of all rights 

arising under such contract.”) 

{¶100}  R.C. 1317.08 further stated in 1997: 



[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
{¶101}   No retail installment contract 

which evidences an indebtedness 

greater than that allowed by section 

1317.06 or 1317.07 of the Revised 

Code and no retail installment 

contract in connection with which 

any charge prohibited by sections 

1317.01 to 1317.11, inclusive, of 

the Revised Code, has been 

contracted for or received shall be 

enforceable against any retail 

buyer, or any other person who as 

surety, indorser, guarantor, or 

otherwise is liable on the 

obligation created by any retail 

buyer on any retail installment 

contract, and no security interest 

created by any such retail 

installment contract which is 

greater than that allowed by 

sections 1317.06 and 1317.07 of the 

Revised Code or in connection with 

which any charge is prohibited by 

sections 1317.01 to 1317.11, 
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inclusive, of the Revised Code, has 

been contracted for or received 

shall be enforceable against any 

retail buyer or any of the 

aforementioned persons, in default 

under the terms of the retail 

installment contract. In order for a 

retail buyer, or any of the 

aforementioned persons liable on his 

obligation, to avail himself of this 

section, he must prove that the 

retail seller or the holder of the 

retail installment contract has been 

notified in writing of the 

overcharge and has failed within ten 

days of such notification to advise 

the retail buyer of a full credit, 

or he must prove that the overcharge 

has been willful. A correction of 

any overcharge within sixty days of 

the date of making of the retail 

installment contract is conclusive 

proof of lack of willfulness. This 

section applies to cases in which 
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recovery is sought from the retail 

seller or holder of the retail 

installment contract.  If charges 

greater in amount than those 

provided for in sections 1317.01 to 

1317.11, inclusive, of the Revised 

Code, are received by the retail 

seller, his agent, assignee, or 

successor in interest, the retail 

buyer, his assignee, or successor in 

interest may recover the total 

amount paid to the retail seller, 

his agent, assignee, or successor in 

interest, from the retail seller or 

the holder of the retail installment 

contract.  (Emphasis added). 

{¶102} We therefore are constrained to apply the law to this 

contract as it existed at the time the contract was made: “‘when a 

contract is once made, the law then in force defines the duties and 

rights of the parties under it.’” Aetna v. Schilling (1993), 67 

Ohio St.3d 164, 168, quoting Goodale v. Fennell (1875), 27 Ohio St. 

426, 432.  Although the legislature later amended the law, we must 

apply the law as it existed at the time the contract was made in 



 
 

−35− 

1997.   

{¶103} Customer, therefore, is not liable to merchant for the 

$671.25 remaining on the unenforceable contract.  Nor does customer 

have to return the car which was the subject of the contract.  

Further, merchant is obliged to return any monies received from 

customer on the contract.  

{¶104} This case is affirmed in part and reversed in part and 

remanded for examination of the issues of whether merchant 

qualifies as a creditor under TILA by addressing the amount of 

credit he extends per year and whether the amount he charges for a 

filing fee in a credit transaction exceeds the amount he charges 

for a filing fee on a cash sale and thereby constitutes a finance 

charge.  If the evidence shows that merchant is a creditor, the 

trial court is instructed to address the issue of whether he 

violated TILA in his documentation on the sales contract.  If 

merchant is found to be in violation of TILA, the trial court is 

further instructed to readdress the issue of attorney fees not only 

as addressed in CSPA, but also as mandated in TILA, 15 U.S.C. 

1640(a)(3): 

{¶105}  Except as otherwise provided in this 
section, any creditor who fails to 
comply with any requirement imposed 
under this chapter *** with respect 
to any person is liable to such 
person *** in the case of any 
successful action to enforce the 
foregoing liability or in any action 
in which a person is determined to 
have a right of rescission under 
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section 125 [15 USCS § 1635], the 
costs of the action, together with a 
reasonable attorney's fee as 
determined by the court ***.   

    
{¶106} On remand, the trial court shall also readdress the 

issue of attorney fees as mandated under RISA and the other RISA 

issues, consistent with this opinion. 

This cause is affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded 

 for further proceedings in accordance with this opinion. 

It is, therefore, ordered that appellant and appellee shall 

pay their own costs herein taxed.  

It is ordered that a special mandate be sent to said court to 

carry this judgment into execution.  

A certified copy of this entry shall constitute the mandate 

pursuant to Rule 27 of the Rules of Appellate Procedure.  

TIMOTHY E. McMONAGLE, J., CONCURS    

MICHAEL J. CORRIGAN, J., DISSENTS,   

(See Dissenting Opinion).             

 
         

DIANE KARPINSKI 
   ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

N.B.  This entry is an announcement of the court's decision.  
See App.R. 22(B), 22(D) and 26(A); Loc.App.R. 22.  This decision 



 
will be journalized and will become the judgment and order of the 
court pursuant to App.R. 22(E) unless a motion for reconsideration 
with supporting brief, per App.R. 26(A), is filed within ten (10) 
days of the announcement of the court's decision.  The time period 
for review by the Supreme Court of Ohio shall begin to run upon the 
journalization of this court's announcement of decision by the 
clerk per App.R. 22(E).  See, also, S.Ct.Prac.R. II, Section 
2(A)(1).  

 
 
MICHAEL J. CORRIGAN, J., DISSENTING: 
 

{¶107} As I would affirm the decision of the trial court in 

this matter, I must respectfully dissent. 

{¶108} The majority remands this case to the trial court with 

instructions that the court “address the issue” of whether the 

Truth in Lending Act applies.  The trial court already has 

extensively addressed this issue and determined that TILA 

regulations were, in fact, not applicable to this transaction.  

Specifically, the magistrate stated in her opinion: 

{¶109}  The Truth in Lending Law (sic) TILA 
in pertinent part defines a 
“creditor” as a person who both (1) 
regularly extends consumer credit 
which is payable in more than four 
installments or for which payment of 
a finance charge may be required, 
and (2) is the person to whom the 
debt arising from the consumer 
credit transaction is payable.  15 
U.S.C. Sec. 1602(f).  “Credit” is 
defined as the right granted by a 
creditor to a debtor to defer 
payment of debt or to incur debt and 
defer its payment.  15 U.S.C. 
1602(e).  In the present case, 
Plaintiff extended credit to the 
Defendant in the amount of $671.25, 
which would have been payable in 
four installments.  Therefore, TILA 
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does not apply to the transaction in 
the present case and Defendant is 
not entitled to prevail on her 
counterclaim for damages under this 
statute.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
{¶110} The trial court subsequently overruled the appellant’s 

objections and adopted the magistrate’s opinion in its entirety. 

{¶111} The trial court properly concluded, pursuant to the 

competent and credible evidence adduced at the hearing conducted by 

the magistrate, that the appellant failed to meet the requisite 

burden of proof to be entitled to recovery under TILA.10  The 

                     
10Despite the majority’s assertion that the trial court failed 

to address the appellant’s dubious contention that the “unexplained 
charge” of $19.00 was actually a “hidden” finance charge, this 
argument was raised by the appellant at the trial court level 
repeatedly and rejected by the court.  To state that the failure of 
the magistrate to specifically address this one issue in her 
opinion, after she correctly cited to the controlling standard 
including the pertinent language concerning the payment of a 
finance charge, constitutes a “mistake of law” is yet another 
example of the majority’s misapprehension of this court’s “abuse of 
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majority now instructs the trial court to assume the role of 

independent fact finder and to conduct a wide-ranging inquiry into 

matters not pled or introduced into evidence.  I believe that such 

an approach exceeds this court’s proper scope of review. 

                                                                  
discretion” standard of review.  Furthermore, the magistrate’s 
opinion specifically found that the appellant was charged “$19.00 
excess in the filing fee” and that the same was a violation of the 
Consumer Sales Practices Act.  The magistrate’s failure to further 
find that the same $19.00 surplus also constituted a hidden finance 
charge is hardly “a significant misinterpretation of the law which 
directly affects the outcome of the case” as stated by the 
majority. 

{¶112} I also take issue with this court’s instructions to the 

trial court to “readdress the issue of attorney fees as mandated in 

(sic) 15 U.S.C. 1640(a)(3).”  Once again, this issue was thoroughly 

addressed in the opinion of the magistrate.  The appellant’s 

attorney’s request for legal fees in the amount of $7,706.50 for 

representation in a matter involving such a small amount in 
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controversy and for a trial lasting no more than two hours was on 

its face unreasonable.  The magistrate’s opinion properly 

referenced DR 2-106 which states that factors to be considered as 

guides in determining the reasonableness of a fee include “the fee 

customarily charged in the locality for similar legal services” and 

“the amount involved and the results obtained.”  See DR 2-

106(B)(3)&(4).  15 U.S.C. 1640(a)(3) adds nothing to this analysis 

as it merely states that a prevailing party is entitled to “a 

reasonable attorney’s fee as determined by the court.”  (Emphasis 

added.) 

{¶113} When reviewing an appeal from a trial court's adoption 

of a magistrate's decision under Civ.R. 53(E)(4), we must determine 

whether the trial court abused its discretion in adopting the 

decision.  In re: Gibbs (Mar. 13, 1998), Lake App. No. 97-L-067.  

As I do not believe that the trial court abused its discretion in 

its resolution of the instant matter, I dissent. 



[Cite as Ferrari v. Howard, 2002-Ohio-3539.] 
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