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Wise, P. J. 
 

{¶1} Appellant R.D. appeals the August 8, 2016, Judgment Entry of the Licking 

County Court of Common Pleas, Juvenile Division, denying his Motion to Vacate 

Classification and designating him a sexually-oriented offender pursuant to Megan’s Law. 

{¶2} Appellee is the State of Ohio. 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS 

{¶3} On October 13, 2005, the Licking County Prosecutor's Office filed a 

complaint alleging that R.D., then fourteen years old, was a delinquent child for one count 

of rape, in violation of R.C. §2907.02(A)(1)(b), a felony of the first degree if committed by 

an adult.  

{¶4} On January 26, 2006, R.D. entered an admission to the rape charge and 

was adjudicated delinquent.  

{¶5} On March 9, 2006, the trial court held a disposition hearing and R.D. was 

committed to the Department of Youth Services (DYS) for a minimum period of three (3) 

years, or until the age 21.  

{¶6} Upon his release date in June, 2009, the trial court conducted a juvenile sex 

offender classification hearing. At the conclusion of said hearing, the trial court ordered 

that R.D. be classified as a "Tier III" juvenile sex offender subject to community 

notification, requiring him to register as a juvenile sex offender every 90 days for the rest 

of his life. (T. at 37, 40).  The trial court further found that community notification was 

“automatic” but that “the court would conduct a hearing in five years and modify the 

community notification provision, which is separate and apart, of course from the actual 

registration, which is for life.”  (T. at 34-35). 
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{¶7} Defense counsel objected to the constitutionality of S.B. 10, to R.D.’s 

classification as a Tier III offender and to community notification.  The trial court overruled 

these objections. 

{¶8} Appellant appealed to this Court from the decision of the trial court 

classifying him a tier Ill sex offender and subjecting him to statutory registration 

requirements. In re R.D., 5th Dist. Licking No. 09CA97, 2010-Ohio-2986. On appeal, this 

Court vacated Appellant's classification with instructions to the trial court to conduct a new 

classification hearing and consider the factors set forth in R.C. §2152.83(D)(1)-(6), 

explaining that it appeared the trial court believed that it had no discretion as to the tier 

classification and that such classification was offense-based.   

{¶9} On remand, the trial court held a hearing on the issue of classification and 

whether Appellant was subject to community notification provisions. The trial court 

acknowledged that the registration requirements under the facts of the case were 

discretionary, not mandatory. The trial court then re-imposed the Tier III classification but 

specified that Appellant was not subject to community notification in a Judgment Entry 

filed January 6, 2011. That hearing occurred on September 22, 2010, when Appellant 

was 20 years-old.   

{¶10} On July 25, 2016, Appellant filed a Motion to Vacate Classification. In his 

motion, Appellant argued that the Licking County Juvenile Court must vacate his 

classification as a Tier III juvenile sex offender registrant because such classification was 

void. In support of his motion, Appellant cited to the Ohio Supreme Court's decision in 

State v. Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-0hio-3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108. 
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{¶11} On August 4, 2016, Appellee filed State's Response to the Delinquent's 

Motion to Vacate Classification. In its response, Appellee argued that Appellant's motion 

should be denied because he should have been classified as a sexually oriented offender 

pursuant to Megan's Law, the law in effect at the time the offense was committed, and 

that such classification attached as a matter of law.  

{¶12} On August 6, 2016, the Licking County Juvenile Court denied Appellant's 

Motion to Vacate Classification stating, "[t]he Court finds that this youth was classified as 

a sexually oriented offender pursuant to Megan's Law which was the law that was in effect 

at the time that the offense was committed, and the Court agrees with the prosecution's 

Memorandum of Law and adopts the same as its own." (8/8/2016 Judgment Entry). 

{¶13} Appellant now appeals, raising the following assignment of error: 

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 

{¶14} “I. THE LICKING COUNTY JUVENILE COURT ERRED WHEN IT DENIED 

R.D.'S MOTION TO VACATE HIS VOID JUVENILE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION, 

BECAUSE THE COURT FAILED TO APPLY THE WILLIAMS REMEDY TO HIM 

BEFORE HIS 21ST BIRTHDAY. FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE U.S. 

CONSTITUTION; OHIO CONSTITUTION, ARTICLE I, SECTION 16.” 

I. 

{¶15} Appellant argues that the trial court erred in denying his motion to vacate 

his juvenile sex offender registration.  We agree. 

{¶16}  In 1963, the General Assembly created a designation of “habitual sexual 

offender” for individuals convicted two or more times of specified crimes and imposed 

registration and change of address notification duties on those individuals. Am.S.B. No. 
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160, 130 Ohio Laws 669–71. In 1996, the General Assembly enacted Ohio's version of 

the federal “Megan's Law” legislation, which created a comprehensive registration and 

classification system for sex offenders. State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-

2424, 933 N.E.2d 753, ¶ 6–7. Under Megan's Law, a sentencing court was required to 

determine whether a sex offender fell into one of three classifications: (1) sexually 

oriented offender, (2) habitual sex offender, or (3) sexual predator. State v. Cook, 83 Ohio 

St.3d 404, 407, 700 N.E.2d 570 (1998). Megan's Law also included registration and 

address verification provisions, as well as community notification provisions. Id. at 408–

09, 700 N.E.2d 570. In 2007, the General Assembly further amended the law, enacting 

Senate Bill No. 10 (“S.B. No. 10”), the Ohio version of the federal “Adam Walsh Act.” 

Bodyke at ¶ 20. S.B. No. 10, which went into effect on January 1, 2008, imposed a three-

tiered sex offender classification system, based solely on the offense committed. Id. at ¶ 

21. It also modified the registration, address verification, and community notification 

provisions related to each type of sex offender. Id. at ¶ 23–28. 

{¶17} The Supreme Court of Ohio subsequently found several portions of the sex 

offender classification system under S.B. No. 10 to be unconstitutional, either on their 

face or as applied to certain defendants. In Bodyke, the court held unconstitutional 

provisions requiring the attorney general to reclassify sex offenders under S.B. No. 10 

whose classifications had already been adjudicated by a court and made the subject of a 

final order under Megan's Law. Id. at ¶ 60. 

{¶18} In July 2011, the Supreme Court released its decision in State v. Williams, 

129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3372, which held that applying the sex offender 

classification system under S.B. No. 10 to individuals who committed their crimes prior to 
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enactment of that law violated the constitutional prohibition against retroactive laws. 

Williams at ¶ 20. It is within this context of the development and evolution of sex offender 

classification laws that we consider the particular details of appellee's classification. 

{¶19} The Williams decision held that “S.B. 10, as applied to Williams and any 

other sex offender who committed an offense prior to the enactment of S.B. 10, violates 

Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution, which prohibits the General Assembly from 

enacting retroactive laws.” (Emphasis added.) Id. at ¶ 21. “In applying Williams, Ohio 

appellate courts have held that a retroactive classification of a sex offender under S.B. 10 

for an offense committed before the effective date of that act is ‘void.’ ” State v. Salser, 

10th Dist. No. 12AP–792, 2014-Ohio-87, 2014 WL 117386, ¶ 8, citing State v. Lawson, 

1st Dist. No. C–120077, 2012-Ohio-5281, 2012 WL 5830593, ¶ 18. See also In re C.W., 

4th Dist., 2013-Ohio-2483, 991 N.E.2d 1167, ¶ 8 (“[B]ecause the juvenile court classified 

C.W. as a sex offender using a retroactive application of law, its sex offender classification 

is unconstitutional and, therefore, void.”); State v. Alsip, 8th Dist. No. 98921, 2013-Ohio-

1452, 2013 WL 1501503, ¶ 8 (“Where a defendant whose offenses were committed prior 

to the effective date of the Adam Walsh Act is improperly classified under the Act in 

violation of Williams, such classification is void.”); State v. Carr, 4th Dist., 2012-Ohio-

5425, 982 N.E.2d 146, ¶ 11 (“Because Carr committed his sex offense prior to S.B. 10's 

enactment, his Tier III sex offender classification under S.B. 10 violates Ohio's 

Retroactivity Clause and is void.”); State v. Dillon, 5th Dist. No. CT11–0062, 2012-Ohio-

773, 2012 WL 626258, ¶ 19 (“Based upon the Ohio Supreme Court holding in Williams 

and the analysis set forth in [State v. Eads, 197 Ohio App.3d 493, 2011-Ohio-6307, 968 

N.E.2d 18 (2d Dist.)], we find the trial court erred in classifying Appellant a Tier III sex 
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offender under the provisions of S.B. 10 and the Adam Walsh Act where the offenses for 

which Appellant was convicted occurred prior to the enactment of the legislation.”); State 

v. Eads, 197 Ohio App.3d 493, 2011-Ohio-6307, 968 N.E.2d 18, ¶ 18 (2d Dist.) (“[T]he 

retroactive application of S.B. 10 to [persons who committed sex offenses prior to the 

effective date of the statute] is a nullity, and Eads's classification as a Tier III sex offender 

is void.”). 

{¶20} In the case sub judice, the State agrees that the trial court was correct in 

holding that the original Tier III classification was void because the offenses in this case 

were committed prior to the enactment of the Adam Walsh Act. As the statute was void 

from its inception, Appellant was never classified as a “tier offender”. 

{¶21} The State, however, argues that the trial court had authority to reclassify 

Appellant as a “sexually oriented offender pursuant to Megan’s Law, and that such 

classification does not require a hearing because it attaches as a matter of law. 

{¶22} Appellant argues that the juvenile court lost jurisdiction over him when he 

turned 21 on August 25, 2011, and therefore did not have jurisdiction to reclassify him in 

August, 2016. 

{¶23} Appellant relies on R.C. §2152.02(C)(6), which states, “The juvenile court 

has jurisdiction over a person who is adjudicated a delinquent child or juvenile traffic 

offender prior to attaining eighteen years of age until the person attains twenty-one years 

of age.” 

{¶24} Upon review, we find that the language of the statute is straightforward. It 

states that juvenile courts have jurisdiction over adjudicated delinquents until they are 21 

years old. The obvious flip side of that statement is that juvenile courts do not have 
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jurisdiction over adjudicated delinquents once they are 21 years old. There is no need to 

interpret the statute; we need only apply the facts of this case to the law. Bernardini v. 

Conneaut Area City School Dist. Bd. of Edn., 58 Ohio St.2d 1, 4, 387 N.E.2d 1222 (1979). 

{¶25} R.D. turned 21 on August 25, 2011. Accordingly, the juvenile court had no 

jurisdiction over him after that date. Nevertheless, in August, 2016, the juvenile court held 

a sentencing hearing to impose the new classification. Based on the plain language of 

R.C. §2152.02(C)(6), the juvenile court did not have jurisdiction over R.D. The juvenile 

court acted outside its jurisdiction and, therefore, the classification issued in August, 2016, 

is void. 

{¶26} Accordingly, we sustain Appellant’s First Assignment of Error. 

{¶27} Based on the foregoing, we find the decision of the Court of Common Pleas, 

Juvenile Division, Licking County, Ohio, is void and hereby vacate same. 

 
 
By: Wise, P. J. 
 
Delaney, J., and 
 
Baldwin, J., concur. 
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