The Supreme Court of Ohio

CASE ANNOUNCEMENTS AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS

December 2, 2003

MOTION AND PROCEDURAL RULINGS

2003-0753. State ex rel. Frazier v. Brigano.

Warren App. No. CA2003-01-001. This cause is pending before the court as an appeal from the Court of Appeals for Warren County.

IT IS ORDERED by the court, sua sponte, that this cause be held for a decision in *Pratts v. Hurley*, Supreme Court case Nos. 2003-0392 and 2003-0560.

APPEALS NOT ACCEPTED FOR REVIEW

2003-1635. Ross v. Clark.

Franklin App. No. 02AP-222, 2003-Ohio-2657 and 2003-Ohio-4056. Upon consideration of the jurisdictional memoranda filed in this case, the court declines jurisdiction to hear the case.

Lundberg Stratton and O'Donnell, JJ., dissent, would accept, and would reverse on the authority of *Westfield Ins. Co. v. Galatis*, 100 Ohio St.3d 216, 2003-Ohio-5849, 797 N.E.2d 1256.

MISCELLANEOUS DISMISSALS

2003-1684. Hocking Valley Community Hosp. v. Community Health Plan of Ohio.

Hocking App. No. 02CA28, 2003-Ohio-4243. This cause is pending before the court as a discretionary appeal. Upon consideration of appellant's application for dismissal,

IT IS ORDERED by the court that the application for dismissal be, and hereby is, granted.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS FURTHER ORDERED by the court that this cause be, and hereby is, dismissed.

ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS

1. Judge David Tobin and Judge Nancy Drake Hammond were reappointed to the Board of Commissioners on Character and Fitness. Judge Sara E. Lioi was reappointed Chair.

2. Paula Hicks-Hudson, Stanley M. Chesley, and Martin J. O'Connell were reappointed to the Board of Commissioners on Grievances and Discipline of the Supreme Court. Robert V. Housel was appointed to the board.

3. Judge Mark K. Wiest was reappointed to the Board of Bar Examiners. Michael E. Murman and Ellen M. McCarthy were appointed to the board. Michael P. Morrison was reappointed Chair.

4. Diane Smilanick was reappointed to the Board of Commissioners of the Clients' Security Fund of Ohio.

5. Dean Richard Aynes was reappointed to the Commission on Continuing Legal Education. Lester S. Potash was appointed to the commission.

6. Andrew Singer was reappointed to the Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists.

7. Joel Wesp was appointed to the Committee for Lawyer Referral and Information Services.

8. Ralph E. Dill was reappointed Chair of the Board of Commissioners on the Unauthorized Practice of Law.

9. Judge Phil Campbell, Judge Jack R. Puffenberger, Judge Thomas J. Grady, and Marianna Brown Bettman were approved for the Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee.