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{¶ 1} This case requires us to decide (1) whether former R.C. 4511.191(L) 

authorized the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (“BMV”) to collect only one 

reinstatement fee from a driver who had made a single request for license 

reinstatement after receiving an administrative license suspension (“ALS”) and a 

judicial license suspension for a single arrest under R.C. 4511.19(A) and (2) if so, 

whether the trial court erred in awarding postjudgment interest against the state 

pursuant to R.C. 1343.03(A). 

I 

{¶ 2} During separate incidents in 1994, Ohio law enforcement officers 

arrested Steven Judy and Mark Poirier for driving under the influence of alcohol 

(“DUI”). Judy and Poirier submitted to breath-alcohol tests, which revealed breath-

alcohol concentrations that exceeded the legal limit. In accordance with R.C. 

4511.191(F), the arresting officers issued both Judy and Poirier a 90-day ALS. Judy 

and Poirier subsequently pled no contest to DUI charges, and each received a 

judicial license suspension for six months under R.C. 4507.16(B). 

{¶ 3} At the conclusion of their suspensions, Judy and Poirier petitioned 

the BMV to reinstate their licenses pursuant to former R.C. 4511.191(L). To that 

end, Judy and Poirier provided proof of financial responsibility, and each tendered a 

$250 reinstatement fee. The BMV, however, interpreted former R.C. 4511.191(L) 

to require a $250 reinstatement fee for each license suspension. Consequently, the 

BMV required both Judy and Poirier to pay $500 — $250 for the ALS and $250 for 

the judicial license suspension. 

{¶ 4} On February 6, 1995, Judy and Poirier filed a class-action lawsuit in 

the Lucas County Court of Common Pleas, alleging that the BMV incorrectly 

interpreted former R.C. 4511.191(L) and wrongfully assessed two reinstatement 

fees against the members of the certified class.1 The trial court granted partial 

                                                           
1. The trial court certified the class to include “[a]ll persons who, having been issued a DUI 
citation, within the State of Ohio after September 3, 1993, consented to testing for driving with a 
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summary judgment in favor of the certified class and ordered the BMV to pay 

$5,266,650 in restitution and postjudgment interest at the rate of ten percent per 

annum from the date of the partial summary judgment.  The BMV appealed to the 

Sixth District Court of Appeals, arguing that the trial court (1) lacked subject matter 

jurisdiction, (2) incorrectly interpreted former R.C. 4511.191(L), and (3) erred in 

awarding postjudgment interest against the state. The court of appeals affirmed the 

judgment of the trial court on the issues of subject matter jurisdiction and statutory 

construction but reversed and remanded on the issue of postjudgment interest. The 

BMV appeals the court of appeals’ statutory construction of former R.C. 

4511.191(L),2 and the certified class cross-appeals the court’s denial of 

postjudgment interest. 

{¶ 5} The cause is now before this court upon the allowance of a 

discretionary appeal. 

II 

A 

{¶ 6} We begin our analysis with a review of the relevant statutory 

language. Former R.C. 4511.191(L) provides: 

{¶ 7} “At the end of a suspension period under this section, section 

4511.196, or division (B) of section 4507.16 of the Revised Code and upon the 

request of the person whose driver’s or commercial driver’s license or permit was 

suspended and who is not otherwise subject to suspension, revocation, or 

                                                                                                                                                               
prohibited concentration of alcohol, tested positive for that finding, were issued an automatic 
administrative license suspension pursuant to Ohio Rev. Code 4511.191, subsequently were found 
guilty of driving while under the influence of alcohol, received an additional suspension under R.C. 
4507.16(B), waited until all license terminations had been concluded, made a single request for 
license reinstatement under R.C. 4511.191(L) and were then required by defendant to pay two 
separate $250.00 reinstatement fees pursuant to defendant’s interpretation of R.C. 4511.191(L) and 
related statutory provisions.” 
2. The BMV did not appeal to this court the issue of whether the court of common pleas had 
subject matter jurisdiction over an action against the state for reimbursement of improperly 
assessed fees.  
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disqualification, the registrar shall return the driver’s or commercial driver’s 

license or permit to the person upon the occurrence of all of the following: 

{¶ 8} “(1) A showing by the person that the person had proof of 

financial responsibility, a policy of liability insurance in effect that meets the 

minimum standards set forth in section 4509.51 of the Revised Code, or proof, to 

the satisfaction of the registrar, that the person is able to respond in damages in an 

amount at least equal to the minimum amounts specified in section 4509.51 of the 

Revised Code. 

{¶ 9} ”(2) Payment by the person of a license reinstatement fee 

of two hundred and fifty dollars to the bureau of motor vehicles, which fee shall be 

deposited in the state treasury * * *.” (Emphasis added.) Am.Sub.S.B. No. 82, 145 

Ohio Laws, Part I, 879, 940.3 

{¶ 10} A proper analysis of former R.C. 4511.191(L) requires an 

examination of the suspensions and reinstatement requirements enumerated under 

that section. 

1. The Suspensions Enumerated Under Former R.C. 4511.191(L) 

{¶ 11} The first clause in former R.C. 4511.191(L) enumerates three types 

of license suspensions that operate in tandem. The first type of license suspension—

a suspension “under this section”—is an ALS that an arresting officer issues to a 

defendant immediately upon arrest and that “last[s] at least until the person’s initial 

appearance on the charge.” R.C. 4511.191(D)(1)(a). This suspension is “intended to 

remove from the highway those motorists who are a threat to themselves and to 

others” until the criminal charge can be heard in a judicial forum. State v. Gustafson 

(1996), 76 Ohio St.3d 425, 438, 668 N.E.2d 435. The defendant may appeal an 

ALS “at the * * * initial appearance * * * in the court in which the person will 

                                                           
3. Effective September 16, 1998, the General Assembly amended R.C. 4511.191 to require 
one reinstatement fee of $405 “if the suspensions arise from a single incident or a single set of facts 
and circumstances.” R.C. 4511.191(L)(2) and (3). Am.Sub.S.B. No. 80, 147 Ohio Laws, Part IV, 
7197, 7209-7210. 
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appear on the charge.” R.C. 4511.191(H)(1). The ALS continues no later than when 

“the complaint alleging the violation for which the person was arrested * * * is 

adjudicated on the merits.” R.C. 4511.191(H)(2); Gustafson, 76 Ohio St.3d at 441, 

668 N.E.2d 435. 

{¶ 12} The second type of suspension enumerated under former R.C. 

4511.191(L)—a suspension under R.C. 4511.196—is an interim suspension that the 

trial judge may impose if the judge at the initial appearance terminates the ALS but 

nonetheless determines ”that the person’s continued driving will be a threat to 

public safety.” R.C. 4511.196(B)(1). The trial court may also impose such a 

suspension in cases where the ALS is inapplicable, such as when a defendant was 

arrested for DUI but tested below the prohibited concentration of alcohol. R.C. 

4511.196(B)(2). The interim judicial suspension continues “until the complaint on 

the charge resulting from the arrest is adjudicated on the merits.” R.C. 4511.196(C). 

{¶ 13} The final type of license suspension enumerated under former R.C. 

4511.191(L)—a suspension under R.C. 4507.16(B)—is a postconviction judicial 

suspension that takes effect “at the point where a criminal conviction of drunk 

driving is obtained.” Gustafson, 76 Ohio St.3d at 441, 668 N.E.2d 435. This 

suspension endures for “not less than six months nor more than three years” for 

first-time offenders and automatically terminates an ALS or an interim license 

suspension. R.C. 4507.16(B)(1); Gustafson, 76 Ohio St.3d at 441, 668 N.E.2d 435. 

The registrar must credit against a postconviction judicial suspension the time 

during which the license was subject to an ALS or an interim judicial suspension. 

R.C. 4507.16(J); R.C. 4511.196(C). This statutory scheme allows the ALS and 

judicial suspensions to work in tandem, thereby removing dangerous drivers from 

the highway until the criminal charge is adjudicated and then crediting the time 

served against any suspension imposed upon conviction. 

2. The Reinstatement Provisions of Former R.C. 4511.191(L) 
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{¶ 14} Former R.C. 4511.191(L) delineated the procedure by which a 

driver could petition the BMV for reinstatement of a license that was subject to one 

or more of the foregoing suspensions. The general reinstatement provision in 

former R.C. 4511.191(L) provided that the driver must satisfy three requirements 

before the financial-responsibility and reinstatement-fee provisions would apply: 

first, the driver had to wait until the “end of a suspension period”; second, the driver 

had to make a “request” to the BMV for reinstatement; and third, the license must 

not have been “otherwise subject to suspension, revocation, or disqualification.” 

The use of the conjunctive “and” between each of these requirements indicates that 

the financial responsibility and reinstatement-fee provisions did not become 

operative until all of the requirements in the general provision had been satisfied. 

{¶ 15} Given that the requirements in the general provision were conditions 

precedent to the applicability of the reinstatement-fee provision, it follows that the 

third requirement in the general provision—that the license “not [be] otherwise 

subject to suspension, revocation, or disqualification”—must have been satisfied 

before the BMV could collect a reinstatement fee. As a result, the BMV could not 

charge a reinstatement fee—and, hence, could not reinstate a license—until all 

license suspensions had concluded. Because a driver had to wait until all 

suspensions had concluded before applying for reinstatement, the driver necessarily 

applied for only one reinstatement when making a “request” pursuant to former 

R.C. 4511.191(L). 

{¶ 16} With these principles in mind, we turn to the instant case. 

B 

{¶ 17} The BMV asserts that former R.C. 4511.191(L) required a $250 

reinstatement fee for each applicable suspension enumerated under that section. In 

support of this proposition, the BMV advances two primary arguments: (1) the 

plain language of the statute required a separate fee for each suspension, and (2) our 
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prior case law is consistent with a “separate fee” interpretation. We address each 

argument separately. 

1.  Plain Language of Former R.C. 4511.191(L) 

{¶ 18} The gravamen of the BMV’s argument is that the plain language of 

former R.C. 4511.191(L) allowed the BMV to collect a reinstatement fee for each 

applicable suspension enumerated under that section. Specifically, the BMV asserts 

that the word “a” in the first clause of former R.C. 4511.191(L), which conditions 

the reinstatement of a license on the “end of a suspension period,” is synonymous 

with the word “each.” (Emphasis added.) The BMV reasons, therefore, that the 

legislature in effect said: “At the end of [each] suspension period * * * the registrar 

shall return the driver’s * * * license * * * upon * * * [p]ayment by the person of a 

license reinstatement fee of two hundred fifty dollars.” Such a reading, the BMV 

argues, is buttressed by the Webster’s New World Dictionary, which defines “a” as 

“each; * * * connotes a thing not previously noted or recognized; * * * to each, in 

each, for each,” quoting Webster’s New World Dictionary (3d Ed.1998). (Emphasis 

added.)  

{¶ 19} We disagree with the BMV’s plain-language interpretation of 

former R.C. 4511.191(L). In the context of former R.C. 4511.191(L), the word “a” 

is an indefinite article used to denote a suspension that is “undetermined, 

unidentified, or unspecified.” See Webster’s Third New International Dictionary 

(1986) 1. Given that the word “a” is used as an indefinite article—and thus is not 

synonymous with the word “each”—the BMV’s argument amounts to a contention 

that we substitute the word “each” for the word “a.” Such a modification to the 

statutory language, however, is contrary to the well-settled rule that we must “ ‘give 

effect to the words used [in the statute], not * * * delete words used or* * * insert 

words not used.’ ” Gutmann v. Feldman, 97 Ohio St.3d 473, 2002-Ohio-6721, 780 

N.E.2d 562, ¶ 22, quoting Cleveland Elec. Illum. Co. v. Cleveland (1988), 37 Ohio 

St.3d 50, 524 N.E.2d 441, paragraph three of the syllabus. 
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{¶ 20} We conclude that the phrase “[a]t the end of a suspension” is merely 

an introduction to the reinstatement procedure in former R.C. 4511.191(L), rather 

than an indicator of how many fees the BMV could collect for such reinstatement. 

The number of reinstatement fees is instead determined by the reinstatement-fee 

provision in former R.C. 4511.191(L)(2), which required a driver to tender “a 

license reinstatement fee of two hundred fifty dollars.” We hold that this provision 

clearly and unambiguously required a driver to pay only one reinstatement fee 

when making a single request for license reinstatement. Hubbard v. Canton City 

School Bd. of Edn., 97 Ohio St.3d 451, 2002-Ohio-6718, 780 N.E.2d 543, ¶ 14 

(“where the language of a statute is clear and unambiguous, it is the duty of the 

court to enforce the statute as written, making neither additions to the statute nor 

subtractions therefrom”). 

{¶ 21} Furthermore, the statutory fee in former R.C. 4511.191(L)(2) is, by 

its express terms, a reinstatement fee. As a result, the fee is tied to the reinstatement 

of the license rather than the suspensions enumerated in the first clause of former 

R.C. 4511.191(L). Indeed, the very nature of a “reinstatement,” together with the 

requirement that the license “not [be] otherwise subject to suspension,” leads to the 

inescapable conclusion that the BMV could reinstate a suspended license only 

once—no matter the number of suspensions to which the license is subject. R.C. 

4511.191(L). As there could be but one reinstatement, there could be but one 

reinstatement fee. 

{¶ 22} Finally, the BMV’s interpretation of former R.C. 4511.191(L) is 

inconsistent with the language of the general driver’s license statute in R.C. 

4507.02.4 That statute provides: “No person whose driver’s * * * license * * * has 

been suspended * * * shall operate any motor vehicle within this state until the 

                                                           
4. The General Assembly amended R.C. 4507.02 in June 1993 to address the same three 
suspension provisions that are addressed in former R.C. 4511.191(L). Sub. S.B. No. 62, 145 Ohio 
Laws, Part I, 479, 509. 
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person has paid the license reinstatement fee required pursuant to division (L) of 

section 4511.191 * * *.” (Emphasis added.) R.C. 4507.02(C). The use of the 

definite article “the” and the singular word “fee” indicate that, although a license 

may have been subject to multiple suspensions, the statute required only one 

reinstatement fee. Accordingly, we conclude that the plain language of former R.C. 

4511.191(L) authorized the BMV to collect only one reinstatement fee from a 

driver who had made a single request for license reinstatement after receiving an 

ALS and a judicial suspension for a single DUI arrest. 

2. Judicial Interpretation of Former R.C. 4511.191(L) 

{¶ 23} The BMV additionally asserts that our case law supports the 

proposition that former R.C. 4511.191(L) required a separate reinstatement fee for 

each applicable suspension enumerated under that section. The BMV cites two 

cases in support of this proposition—State v. Uskert (1999), 85 Ohio St.3d 593, 709 

N.E.2d 1200, and State v. Lewis (1999), 85 Ohio St.3d  632, 710 N.E.2d 699. In 

Uskert, we addressed whether the reinstatement fee paid to the BMV at the 

conclusion of an ALS violated the Double Jeopardy Clause of the United States 

Constitution. Holding that the reinstatement fee did not subject the defendant to 

double jeopardy, we concluded—albeit preliminarily—that the ALS is separate and 

distinct from the judicial suspension. Uskert, 85 Ohio St.3d at 596, 709 N.E.2d 

1200. Consequently, the BMV reasons, “[i]f the ALS and the ALS-based fee are 

both separate from the judicial suspension, then it makes sense that the ALS-based 

fee is separate from the reinstatement fee triggered by the judicial suspension.” 

{¶ 24} In contrast to the BMV’s assertion, however, Uskert did not 

conclude that the reinstatement fee was “ALS-based” in the sense that the ALS, 

rather than the reinstatement of the license, triggered the reinstatement fee. To the 

contrary, Uskert recognized that the fee was “associated with the ALS” because 

only the ALS, and not the judicial suspension, had been imposed (and had 

concluded) when the driver requested license reinstatement. Id. at 600, 709 N.E.2d 
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1200. Such a request for “interim” reinstatement—that is, reinstatement after the 

ALS had concluded but before the judicial suspension was imposed—required the 

driver to then make a second request for reinstatement at the conclusion of the 

judicial suspension. Under the facts of Uskert, therefore, the BMV could have 

lawfully collected two reinstatement fees because the driver would have made two 

requests for reinstatement. 

{¶ 25} The drivers in the instant case, by contrast, made a single request for 

reinstatement after both the ALS and judicial license suspension had concluded. 

Uskert, therefore, is distinguishable to the extent that it acknowledged the collection 

of two reinstatement fees for a single DUI arrest. See, e.g., Uskert, 85 Ohio St.3d at 

596, 709 N.E.2d 1200, fn.1 (“the General Assembly amended R.C. 4511.191 to 

require only one reinstatement fee * * *” [emphasis added]); id. at 602, 709 N.E.2d 

1200 (F.E. Sweeney, J., dissenting) (“This fee was in addition to many other costs * 

* *.  For example, a fee was imposed after the court suspension” [emphasis 

added]). Notwithstanding this distinction, however, Uskert and the instant case 

share a common principle of law: Former R.C. 4511.191(L) required a driver to pay 

a reinstatement fee each time the driver requested, and obtained, license 

reinstatement from the BMV. 

{¶ 26} The second case on which the BMV relies is State v. Lewis, 85 Ohio 

St.3d 632, 710 N.E.2d 699. The trial court in Lewis had rejected the defendant’s 

argument that the imposition of both the ALS and the punishment on the underlying 

charge was a double jeopardy violation and had ordered that the “reinstatement fee 

from ALS * * * be applied to any reinstatement fees due on [the judicial] 

suspension.” Cuyahoga Falls v. Lewis (Sept. 23, 1998), Summit App. No. CA 

19006, 1998 WL 663226. In a two-sentence per curiam decision, we affirmed the 

judgment of the trial court on the authority of Uskert but remanded “to reinstate the 

original * * * Administrative License Suspension reinstatement fee that the trial 

court ordered be applied to any reinstatement fees due on the DUI suspension.” 
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Lewis, 85 Ohio St.3d at 632, 710 N.E.2d 699. Based on our remand, the BMV 

contends that we have “already read Uskert to mandate the two-suspensions, two-

fees approach.” 

{¶ 27} The BMV’s reliance on Lewis, however, is unavailing for the same 

reason that Uskert is inapposite: the driver in that case would have made two 

requests for reinstatement—one at the conclusion of the ALS and one at the 

conclusion of the judicial suspension. Lewis, therefore, did not consider whether the 

BMV could collect two reinstatement fees from a driver who had made a single 

request for reinstatement. Nevertheless, the “two-fee” reading of Lewis, like that of 

Uskert, is consistent with our conclusion that the reinstatement fee in former R.C. 

4511.191(L) was tied to the reinstatement of a license rather than the suspensions to 

which the license was subject. Accordingly, we conclude that our case law fails to 

support the proposition that former R.C. 4511.191(L) required a separate 

reinstatement fee for each license suspension when a driver has made a single 

request for license reinstatement.5 

III 

{¶ 28} Having concluded that the BMV wrongfully collected two 

reinstatement fees from the members of the certified class, we now consider 

whether the trial court erred in awarding postjudgment interest against the state. We 

begin our analysis with the well-settled rule that “ ‘[i]n the absence of a statute 

requiring it, or a promise to pay it, interest cannot be adjudged against the state for 

delay in the payment of money.’ ” Lewis v. Benson (1979), 60 Ohio St.2d 66, 67,  

                                                           
5. Our case law not only fails to support the BMV’s position, but it may undermine it. In 
State v. Gustafson (1996), 76 Ohio St.3d at 438, 668 N.E.2d 435, we held that the “continued 
recognition of an ALS following judicial imposition of criminal penalties” is a second punishment 
and is thus prohibited by the Double Jeopardy Clause of the United States Constitution. The BMV’s 
position that a separate fee is “tied” to the ALS thus calls into question whether such a fee would be 
the type of “continued recognition” of an ALS that Gustafson prohibited. Nevertheless, we decline 
to render judgment on the issue because our statutory analysis of former R.C. 4511.191(L) prohibits 
such an application of the statute. See Norandex, Inc. v. Limbach (1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 26, 28, 630 
N.E.2d 329 (“[T]he court decides constitutional questions only when absolutely necessary * * *.”). 



SUPREME COURT OF OHIO 

12 

14 O.O.3d 269, 397 N.E.2d 396, quoting State ex rel. Parrott v. Bd. of Pub. Works 

(1881), 36 Ohio St. 409, 1881 WL 12. Our analysis, therefore, turns to whether the 

General Assembly has enacted a statute that requires the state to pay postjudgment 

interest when money became due and payable upon the judgment of the trial court. 

{¶ 29} The certified class relies on R.C. 1343.03 as the statute that requires 

the state to pay postjudgment interest in the instant case. R.C. 1343.03(A) provides: 

“[W]hen money becomes due and payable * * * upon all judgments, decrees, and 

orders of any judicial tribunal for the payment of money arising out of tortious 

conduct or a contract or other transaction, the creditor is entitled to interest at the 

rate of ten per cent per annum.” (Emphasis added.) Relying on this provision, the 

trial court concluded that “[u]pon the issuance of [the trial court] judgment, the state 

became liable for reimbursement of the overpayment to plaintiffs, and the plaintiffs 

became creditors of the state.” The court of appeals reversed the judgment of the 

trial court, holding that R.C. 1343.03 is a general statute that “does not provide 

statutory authority to assess interest against the state.” 

{¶ 30} Contrary to the court of appeals’ decision, however, our case law 

has held that the state is liable for postjudgment interest under R.C. 1343.03. In 

Beifuss v. Westerville Bd. of Edn. (1988), 37 Ohio St.3d 187, 525 N.E.2d 20, we 

addressed whether a public board of education was liable for prejudgment interest 

on an order granting back pay to public employees. We determined that the school 

board was a state agency against which interest could not be adjudged absent 

statutory authority. Concluding that there was no “statutory authority requiring the 

payment of prejudgment interest by this governmental entity,” we held that 

prejudgment interest could not be adjudged against the school board. Id. at 190, 525 

N.E.2d 20. 

{¶ 31} Three years later, we again addressed whether a public board of 

education was liable for interest on an award for back pay in State ex rel. Tavenner 

v. Indian Lake Local School Dist. Bd. of Edn. (1991), 62 Ohio St.3d 88, 578 N.E.2d 
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464. Unlike Beifuss, however, Tavenner addressed whether R.C. 1343.13 required 

the state to pay postjudgment interest. With the understanding that prejudgment 

interest and postjudgment interest are “clearly distinguishable,” we concluded that 

the public school board was liable for postjudgment interest under R.C. 1343.03(A). 

Id. at 91, 578 N.E.2d 464 (Douglas, J., concurring); see, also, State ex rel. Bowman 

v. Columbiana Cty. Bd. of Commrs. (1997), 77 Ohio St.3d at 401, 674 N.E.2d 694 

(holding that a county board of commissioners is liable for postjudgment interest 

under R.C. 1343.03[A]). 

{¶ 32} Our distinction between prejudgment and postjudgment interest is 

born of good reason. Whereas the policy behind prejudgment interest is to 

encourage prompt settlement and to impose a civil sanction against a party who 

holds money against the lawful claim of another, the policy behind postjudgment 

interest is “ ‘to compensate the judgment creditor for the fact that he has not had the 

use of a certain sum of money that has been adjudged to be his.’ ” S. Farm Bur. 

Cas. Ins. Co. v. Brinker (2002), 350 Ark. 15, 21, 84 S.W.3d 846, quoting Equifax, 

Inc. v. Luster (E.D.Ark. 1978), 463 F.Supp. 352. Indeed, Ohio case law has 

consistently recognized that R.C. 1343.03(A) bestows a right to postjudgment 

interest “automatically * * * as a matter of law.” Testa v. Roberts (1988), 44 Ohio 

App.3d 161, 542 N.E.2d 654, paragraph seven of the syllabus; see, also, Cafaro 

Northwest Partnership v. White (1997), 124 Ohio App.3d 605, 608, 707 N.E.2d 4; 

Dayton Sec. Assoc. v. Avutu (1995), 105 Ohio App.3d 559, 566, 664 N.E.2d 954. 

{¶ 33} Thus, Beifuss and Tavenner make clear two propositions of law: a 

school board is (1) a state agency for purposes of such litigation and (2) liable for 

postjudgment interest under R.C. 1343.03. These two propositions, taken 

together, stand for the principle that the state is liable for postjudgment interest 

under R.C. 1343.03. See, also, Bowman, 77 Ohio St.3d at 398, 674 N.E.2d 694. 

No one disputes the status of the BMV as a state agency. Accordingly, we hold 

that the BMV is liable for postjudgment interest pursuant to R.C. 1343.03. 
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Because the court of appeals concluded that the BMV was not liable for 

postjudgment interest, it did not review the trial court's determination that 

postjudgment interest should accrue from the date of the partial summary 

judgment. We therefore remand the cause to the court of appeals to review that 

determination. 

Judgment affirmed in part, 

reversed in part 

and cause remanded. 

 MOYER, C.J., F.E. SWEENEY, WALTERS, LUNDBERG STRATTON and WISE, 

JJ., concur. 

 CARR, J., concurs with the granting of the motion for reconsideration but 

otherwise adheres to her dissenting opinion found at 100 Ohio St.3d 122, 2003-

Ohio-5277, 797 N.E.2d 45, ¶ 34-42. 

 PFEIFER, J., dissents. 

 DONNA J. CARR, J., of the Ninth Appellate District, sitting for RESNICK, J. 

 SUMNER E. WALTERS, J., of the Third Appellate District, sitting for COOK, 

J. 

 JOHN W. WISE, J., of the Fifth Appellate District, sitting for O’CONNOR, J. 

__________________ 

 CARR, J., dissenting. 

{¶ 34} I respectfully dissent.  Although the majority focuses primarily on 

the plain language of former R.C. 4511.191(L), it is impossible to construe the 

meaning of former R.C. 4511.191(L) without reference to how the decisions of 

this court have influenced the BMV’s interpretation of that language. 

{¶ 35} In State v. Gustafson (1996), 76 Ohio St.3d 425, 442, 668 N.E.2d 

435, this court concluded that an administrative license suspension under R.C. 

4511.191 that extended beyond criminal sentencing following a DUI conviction 

would constitute an additional punishment in violation of the Double Jeopardy 
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Clauses of the United States and Ohio Constitutions.  Consequently, Gustafson 

altered the plain language of R.C. 4511.191 and held that “a sentencing court has 

judicial power * * * to order the termination of an administrative license 

suspension at the time of sentencing, as continuation of the ALS would result in 

unconstitutional application of R.C. 4511.191 to the criminal offender.”  Because, 

despite the language of the statute, continued recognition of the ALS after 

imposition of criminal penalties had been deemed unconstitutional, the BMV and 

courts throughout the state began to construe R.C. 4511.191 as setting forth two 

separate and distinct license suspension periods: the ALS and the judicial license 

suspension. 

{¶ 36} Viewing the ALS and judicial suspension as distinct suspension 

periods, and because an ALS had to end upon imposition of the judicial 

suspension, the BMV apparently routinely charged a reinstatement fee for the 

ALS at or before the time of criminal sentencing.  That was the very situation 

before this court in State v. Uskert (1999), 85 Ohio St.3d 593, 709 N.E.2d 1200, 

and State v. Lewis (1999), 85 Ohio St.3d 632, 710 N.E.2d 699. 

{¶ 37} This court’s decisions in Uskert and Lewis (although neither 

directly addressed this issue) implied that reinstatement of a driver’s license under 

former R.C. 4511.191(L) required payment of two reinstatement fees: one for the 

ALS and one for the judicial suspension.  The reinstatement fee at issue in both 

Uskert and Lewis was not the result of a request for reinstatement by the driver at 

the end of the ALS period.  Instead, it appears that the reinstatement fee was 

charged by the BMV before the ALS had expired. 

{¶ 38} The majority’s attempt to factually distinguish Uskert and Lewis 

by indicating that each driver had sought reinstatement of his license at the end of 

the ALS and prior to the judicial suspension is not supported by the decisions of 

either this court or the appellate courts.  In fact, the Lewis appellate opinion 

indicates that the BMV automatically charged Lewis the ALS reinstatement fee 
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prior to sentencing on the criminal charges and only one month into his ALS 

suspension which would have been at least one year, for refusal to submit to a 

breath test.  See Cuyahoga Falls v. Lewis (Sept. 23, 1998), 9th Dist. No. CA 

19006, 1998 WL 663226; R.C. 4511.191(E)(1).  Uskert was likewise 

automatically charged an ALS reinstatement fee without making a request for 

reinstatement, as his ALS was still in effect until the trial court terminated it at the 

time of sentencing.  See State v. Uskert (Dec. 7, 2000), 5th Dist. No. 99-COA-

1329; State v. Uskert (Dec. 19, 1997), 5th Dist. No. 97-COA-01219. 

{¶ 39} Although both Uskert and Lewis raised constitutional challenges to 

former R.C. 4511.191 and did not seek a construction of the statute’s language, 

constitutional challenges to R.C. 4511.191 should not have been considered if, as 

the majority holds today, the BMV had no statutory authority to collect the 

reinstatement fees at issue.  This court has repeatedly held that it will not reach 

constitutional issues unless absolutely necessary.  In re Miller (1992), 63 Ohio 

St.3d 99, 110, 585 N.E.2d 396; In re Boggs (1990), 50 Ohio St.3d 217, 221, 553 

N.E.2d 676; Hall China Co. v. Pub. Util. Comm. (1977), 50 Ohio St.2d 206, 210, 

4 O.O.3d 390, 364 N.E.2d 852.  If the actions of the BMV in Uskert and Lewis 

were in violation of the plain language of former R.C. 4511.191(L), the statutory 

violation should have been addressed then.  By failing to reach that issue, Uskert 

and Lewis implicitly authorized the BMV’s practice of collecting two 

reinstatement fees.  See, also, Uskert, 85 Ohio St.3d at 596, 709 N.E.2d 1200, fn. 

1, where this court seemed to recognize that the statute provided for the collection 

of two fees by observing, “Effective September 16, 1998, the General Assembly 

amended R.C. 4511.191 to require only one reinstatement fee * * *.” 

{¶ 40} Moreover, the majority now indicates that the BMV cannot charge 

a reinstatement fee until three conditions precedent are satisfied: the combined 

ALS and judicial suspension period has ended, a request has been made by the 

driver, and driver is not otherwise subject to suspension.  In Uskert, however, this 
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court construed former R.C. 4511.191(L) differently, indicating that proof of 

financial responsibility and payment of the reinstatement fee were conditions 

precedent to return of the driver’s license.  Uskert, 85 Ohio St.3d  at 596, 709 

N.E.2d 1200.  This court construed the provision similarly in Gustafson: 

“Following the prescribed term of the suspension, the driver may request the 

BMV to return or reissue the suspended license, which the BMV must do upon 

payment of a $250 reinstatement fee and proof of compliance with Ohio’s 

financial responsibility requirements.  R.C. 4511.191(L).” (Emphasis added.)  

Gustafson, 76 Ohio St.3d at 432, 668 N.E.2d 435. 

{¶ 41} Based on the rationale of this court’s former decisions, I cannot 

concur in the majority’s reasoning that former R.C. 4511.191(L) permitted the 

BMV to collect only one reinstatement fee, only at the end of the suspension 

periods, and only after a request by the driver for reinstatement. 

{¶ 42} Furthermore, under today’s ruling, persons under various 

suspensions for committing multiple drunk-driving offenses would have to pay 

only one reinstatement fee if they had waited until all suspensions were 

terminated.  I do not believe that this was the intended result of former R.C. 

4511.191(L). 

 LUNDBERG STRATTON, J., concurs in the foregoing dissenting opinion. 

__________________ 

Cooper & Walinski and John Czarnecki; Wittenberg, Phillips, Levy & 

Nusbaum and Jerome Phillips, for appellees and cross-appellants. 

Jim Petro, Attorney General, Stephen P. Carney, Associate State Solicitor, 

Michael Gladman and John W. Barron, Assistant Solicitors, for appellant and cross-

appellee. 

__________________ 


		reporters@sconet.state.oh.us
	2008-02-01T11:01:54-0500
	Supreme Court of Ohio
	Supreme Court of Ohio
	this document is approved for posting.




