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KENNEDY, J. 
{¶ 1} In this discretionary appeal from a judgment of the First District Court 

of Appeals, we are asked to determine whether a conviction for failure to register 

as a sex offender under R.C. 2950.04 violates a defendant’s due-process and jury-

trial rights guaranteed by the Ohio Constitution and United States Constitution, 

when the defendant’s duty to register arises from a juvenile court’s delinquency 

adjudication.  The court of appeals held that such a conviction is not 

unconstitutional.  We agree, and we therefore affirm the judgment of the appellate 

court. 

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

{¶ 2} Appellant, Robert Buttery, was 14 years old when he committed what 

would have been two counts of fourth-degree-felony gross sexual imposition if 

committed by an adult.  On October 14, 2011, Buttery was adjudicated delinquent 

as to the offenses.  He was placed on probation by the juvenile court and was 
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provided treatment for his behavior, including placement in a treatment facility.  On 

January 13, 2012, after a hearing, Buttery was classified as a juvenile-offender 

registrant and as a Tier I sex offender and was ordered to comply with the 

registration, notification-of-address-change, and verification duties imposed by 

R.C 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 for a period of ten years, with in-

person verification annually. 

{¶ 3} On November 23, 2015, when Buttery was 19 years old, he was 

indicted for violating a duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to R.C. 2950.04.  

The indictment alleged that the duty to register arose as a result of his juvenile 

adjudication; because he had been adjudged delinquent for gross sexual imposition, 

which would have been a fourth-degree felony if committed by an adult, the failure-

to-register charge was a fourth-degree felony by operation of R.C. 

2950.99(A)(1)(a)(ii).  Buttery moved to dismiss the indictment for various 

procedural reasons (none of which were based on either the Ohio or federal 

Constitutions), arguing that various errors that occurred in the juvenile court had 

rendered his sex-offender classification void.  The trial court denied the motion.  

Buttery then entered a no-contest plea, and the trial court found him guilty.  The 

court sentenced him to three years of community control and informed him that an 

18-month prison term would be imposed upon a violation of community control. 

{¶ 4} Buttery appealed the conviction to the First District Court of Appeals, 

arguing that his conviction was unconstitutional based on this court’s decision in 

State v. Hand, 149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-Ohio-5504, 73 N.E.3d 448, which was 

decided after Buttery’s conviction but during the pendency of his appeal.  In Hand, 

this court held that using a defendant’s adjudication of delinquency to enhance the 

degree of or sentence for a subsequent crime the defendant committed as an adult 

violates the Due Process Clauses of the Ohio Constitution and the Fourteenth 

Amendment to the United States Constitution “because it is fundamentally unfair 

to treat a juvenile adjudication as a previous conviction that enhances either the 
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degree of or the sentence for a subsequent offense committed as an adult.” Id. at  

¶ 37. 

{¶ 5} The First District Court of Appeals held that Hand was 

distinguishable and affirmed the judgment of the trial court.  The court reasoned 

that unlike the statutory scheme at issue in Hand, R.C. 2950.04 does not treat the 

juvenile adjudication as an equivalent to an adult conviction; instead, under R.C. 

2950.04, the duty to register arises from an order issued by a court after the juvenile 

has been adjudicated delinquent.  The appellate court held, “The juvenile 

adjudication is not a penalty-enhancing element; it is an element of the crime of 

failing to register.”  2017-Ohio-9113 at ¶ 20. 

{¶ 6} Buttery appeals from that holding.  This court accepted one 

proposition of law for review:  

 

 Juvenile adjudications cannot satisfy elements of an offense 

committed as an adult.  Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments, 

United States Constitution; Sections 5 and 16, Article I, Ohio 

Constitution.  State v. Hand, [149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-Ohio-5504, 

73 N.E.3d 448]; State v. Bode, 144 Ohio St.3d 155, 2015-Ohio-

1519, 41 N.E.3d 1156; Alleyne v. United States, 570 U.S. [99], 133 

S.Ct. 2151, 186 L.Ed.2d 314 (2013); Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 

U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 147 L.Ed.2d 435 (2000). 

 

See 152 Ohio St.3d 1462, 2018-Ohio-1795, 97 N.E.3d 499. 

LAW AND ANALYSIS 

Plain Error 
{¶ 7} There is no dispute that Buttery failed to raise any constitutional issue 

at the trial-court level; he raised his due-process argument for the first time in the 

court of appeals.  The First District did not address whether Buttery forfeited this 
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argument by failing to raise it in the trial court.  “[T]he question of the 

constitutionality of a statute must generally be raised at the first opportunity and, in 

a criminal prosecution, this means in the trial court.”  State v. Awan, 22 Ohio St.3d 

120, 122, 489 N.E.2d 277 (1986).  Nevertheless, “this court has discretion to 

consider a forfeited constitutional challenge to a statute.  We may review the trial 

court decision for plain error * * *.”  State v. Quarterman, 140 Ohio St.3d 464, 

2014-Ohio-4034, 19 N.E.3d 900, ¶ 16.  To establish that plain error occurred, we 

require a showing that there was an error, that the error was plain or obvious, that 

but for the error the outcome of the proceeding would have been otherwise, and 

that reversal must be necessary to correct a manifest miscarriage of justice.  Id.  We 

hold that the trial court did not err in this case. 

Apprendi, Alleyne, and Hand 

{¶ 8} Buttery argues that a juvenile adjudication cannot satisfy an element 

of an offense committed by an adult.  He argues that his conviction under R.C. 

2950.04 is based on his adjudication of delinquency.  Because that adjudication was 

not the product of a jury trial, Buttery argues that it cannot be a factual basis for his 

conviction as an adult.  Essentially, then, Buttery argues that no adult who was 

ordered to register as a sex offender in a juvenile proceeding may be charged with 

a violation of R.C. 2950.04 for failing to register. 

{¶ 9} Our analysis begins with two United States Supreme Court cases that 

this court relied on in Hand—Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 

2348, 147 L.Ed.2d 435 (2000), and Alleyne v. United States, 570 U.S. 99, 133 S.Ct. 

2151, 186 L.Ed.2d 314 (2013).  In Apprendi, the court addressed a New Jersey law 

under which the maximum prison sentence for possession of a firearm for an 

unlawful purpose could be increased 10 to 20 years if the trial judge found by a 

preponderance of the evidence that the defendant had committed his crime with a 

racial bias.  The court held that using judicial fact-finding to enhance a sentence 

violated the defendant’s due-process and jury-trial rights: “Other than the fact of a 
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prior conviction, any fact that increases the penalty for a crime beyond the 

prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a 

reasonable doubt.”  Apprendi at 490.  In Alleyne, the court dealt with a similar issue 

regarding mandatory minimum sentences in regard to a Virginia statute under 

which the minimum sentence for carrying a firearm in relation to a crime of 

violence increased from five years to seven years if the judge determined by a 

preponderance of the evidence that the firearm had been brandished during the 

crime.  The court held that the law was unconstitutional because “[a]ny fact that, 

by law, increases the penalty for a crime is an ‘element’ that must be submitted to 

the jury and found beyond a reasonable doubt.” Alleyne at 103. 

{¶ 10} In Hand, this court also dealt with a sentence enhancement, but it did 

not involve the judicial fact-finding at issue in Apprendi and Alleyne.  Hand 

addressed the exception that Apprendi created for “the fact of a prior conviction,” 

Apprendi at 490, in regard to sentence enhancement.  Under Apprendi, any fact 

beside the fact of a prior conviction that increases a penalty beyond the prescribed 

statutory maximum must be submitted to a jury and proved beyond a reasonable 

doubt.  In Hand, the defendant had been sentenced under R.C. 2929.13(F)(6), which 

requires a mandatory prison term if a defendant who committed a first- or second-

degree felony had been previously convicted of a first- or second-degree felony.  

Hand had been adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile for an offense that would have 

been aggravated robbery if committed by an adult.  The issue, then, was whether 

that juvenile adjudication operated as a first-degree-felony conviction to enhance 

his sentence.  Because R.C. 2929.13(F)(6) did not define the word “convicted,” the 

trial court applied R.C. 2901.08(A), which equated a juvenile adjudication to a 

conviction for purposes of determining the offense to be charged and the sentence 

to be imposed when a later offense was committed. 

{¶ 11} We noted in Hand that under Apprendi, “prior convictions are 

treated differently only because ‘unlike virtually any other consideration used to 
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enlarge the possible penalty for an offense, * * * a prior conviction must itself have 

been established through procedures satisfying the fair notice, reasonable doubt, 

and jury trial guarantees.’ Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227, 249, 119 S.Ct. 

1215, 143 L.Ed.2d 311 (1999).”  (Ellipses sic.)  Hand, 149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-

Ohio-5504, 73 N.E.3d 448, at ¶ 31. 

{¶ 12} The question in Hand was whether a juvenile adjudication was a 

prior conviction for purposes of sentence enhancement.  Hand recognized that in 

the juvenile system, which is civil in nature and emphasizes treatment and 

rehabilitation to prevent treatment of juveniles as criminals, a jury trial is not 

required under the state and federal Constitutions.  Id. at ¶ 15-19.  This court 

reasoned that “[i]t is contradictory and fundamentally unfair to allow juvenile 

adjudications that result from these less formal proceedings to be characterized as 

criminal convictions that may later enhance adult punishment.”  Id. at ¶ 35.  This 

court concluded that treating a juvenile adjudication as an adult conviction was 

contrary to Apprendi: “To convert an adjudication into a conviction when the 

adjudication process did not provide the right to have a jury test the elements of 

that offense offends due process and Apprendi and thus the state cannot treat a prior 

juvenile adjudication as a prior conviction to enhance the penalty for a subsequent 

conviction.”  Id. at ¶ 36.  The court recognized that its view differed from that 

adopted by the majority of courts in other jurisdictions.  Id. at ¶ 31.  Other courts, 

for instance, have held that “the protections juvenile defendants receive—notice, 

counsel, confrontation and proof beyond a reasonable doubt—ensure that the 

proceedings are reliable.”  Welch v. United States, 604 F.3d 408, 429 (7th 

Cir.2010). 

Carnes 

{¶ 13} In State v. Carnes, 154 Ohio St.3d 527, 2018-Ohio-3256, 116 N.E.3d 

138, this court declined to extend Hand.  In Carnes, we considered the 

constitutionality of a weapons-under-disability statute that includes a prior 
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juvenile-delinquency adjudication as a disability that prohibits a person from 

lawfully possessing a firearm.  Distinguishing Hand, we held that although a prior 

juvenile adjudication is an element of the weapons-under-disability offense, the 

statute is not unconstitutional. 

{¶ 14} Pursuant to R.C. 2923.13(A)(2), it is illegal for a person to possess a 

firearm, if “[t]he person is under indictment for or has been convicted of any felony 

offense of violence or has been adjudicated a delinquent child for the commission 

of an offense that, if committed by an adult, would have been a felony offense of 

violence.”  When he was a juvenile, Anthony Carnes had been adjudicated 

delinquent for an offense that would have been felonious assault, a felony of 

violence, if committed by an adult; 19 years after that adjudication, Carnes was 

charged with possessing a firearm under a disability. 

{¶ 15} This court pointed out that the statute we addressed in Hand, R.C. 

2901.08(A), “expressly provided that a juvenile adjudication ‘is a conviction for a 

violation of the law or ordinance for purposes of determining the offense with 

which the person should be charged and * * * the sentence to be imposed.’ ”  

(Emphasis added in Carnes.)  Carnes at ¶ 8, quoting R.C. 2901.08(A).  But in Hand, 

we had faulted that statute for “convert[ing] an adjudication into a conviction when 

the adjudication process did not provide the right to have a jury test the elements of 

that offense.” Hand, 149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-Ohio-5504, 73 N.E.3d 448, at ¶ 36. 

{¶ 16} We stated in Carnes that in comparison, R.C. 2923.13, the weapons-

under-disability statute, did not equate a juvenile adjudication with an adult 

conviction but instead considered a juvenile adjudication itself as one of several 

discrete conditions that prevented a person from legally possessing a firearm.  Other 

disabilities, in addition to adult convictions and juvenile adjudications, include 

being a fugitive or being drug dependent.  R.C. 2923.13(A)(1) and (4). 

{¶ 17} Further, this court noted that R.C. 2923.13(A)(2) does not use 

juvenile adjudications for sentence-enhancement purposes.  Instead, “the juvenile 
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adjudication is an element of the offense; it is the disability.”  (Emphasis sic.)  

Carnes, 154 Ohio St.3d 527, 2018-Ohio-3256, 116 N.E.3d 138, at ¶ 10.  This court 

addressed the argument that classifying the juvenile adjudication as an element of 

the crime is more constitutionally consequential than its being a sentence 

enhancement; we held that because of the nature of the disability statute, the 

existence of the disability, rather than its reliability, is at issue.  Id. at ¶ 10, 15.  

Carnes noted that the legislature had assessed the risks:  “Inherent in R.C. 

2923.13(A)(2) is a policy decision made by the legislature that allowing weapons 

in the hands of individuals with certain prior juvenile adjudications poses an 

increased risk to public safety, as does allowing weapons in the hands of those with 

other disabling conditions such as chronic alcoholism or drug dependence.”  Carnes 

at ¶ 16.  Simply being adjudicated delinquent was enough to be considered a risk 

to public safety; the statute did not equate a juvenile adjudication to an adult 

conviction.  And we held that “the lack of a right to a jury trial * * * does not make 

prior juvenile adjudications unreliable for risk-assessment purposes.”  Id. at ¶ 17. 

{¶ 18} We also pointed out in Carnes that the General Assembly created a 

process in the statutory scheme through which a person may seek relief from a 

disability and that Carnes had not availed himself of that opportunity.  Id. at ¶ 12. 

R.C. 2950.04 
{¶ 19} Buttery urges us to hold that juvenile adjudications cannot satisfy 

elements of an offense committed as an adult.  But this court established in Carnes 

that a juvenile adjudication can form an element of an offense committed as an 

adult, at least when the adjudication is not treated as equivalent to a conviction and 

its use is not based on its reliability. 

{¶ 20} As in Carnes, we decline to extend Hand in this case.  At the outset, 

we note the differences between the statutory scheme at issue in this case and those 

at issue in Hand and Carnes.  In both of the earlier cases, a delinquency adjudication 

led to a consequence that was unrelated to the juvenile adjudication.  In Hand, the 
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consequence of the delinquency adjudication for what would have been a first-

degree felony if committed by an adult was that the sentence imposed following a 

later conviction was enhanced; in Carnes, the consequence of the delinquency 

adjudication for what would have been a felony of violence if committed by an 

adult was that it was illegal for Carnes to possess a firearm.  But here, the 

delinquency adjudication itself is not at issue.  We are instead dealing with 

Buttery’s violation of a court order instructing him to register as a sex offender.  

R.C. 2950.04(A)(3)(a) states: 

  

Each child who is adjudicated a delinquent child for 

committing a sexually oriented offense and who is classified a 

juvenile offender registrant based on that adjudication shall register 

personally with the sheriff, or the sheriff’s designee, of the county 

within three days of the delinquent child’s coming into a county in 

which the delinquent child resides or temporarily is domiciled for 

more than three days. 

 

{¶ 21} At the time of his offenses, Buttery was 14 years old and therefore 

subject to R.C. 2152.83(B), which allows a court to determine, after a juvenile has 

been found delinquent for committing a sexually oriented offense, whether to 

classify the juvenile as a juvenile-offender registrant. 

 

Under R.C. 2152.83(B), juvenile-offender-registrant classification 

is not mandatory; a judge may classify a juvenile as a juvenile-

offender registrant only after first conducting a hearing pursuant to 

R.C. 2152.83(B)(2) to determine whether the delinquent child 

should be so classified.  As part of that hearing, a judge must 

consider numerous statutory factors—including information about 
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the offender, the victim, the nature of the crime, and other factors—

before determining whether the juvenile should be subject to 

juvenile-offender-registrant classification.  R.C. 2152.83(D). 

 

In re I.A., 140 Ohio St.3d 203, 2014-Ohio-3155, 16 N.E.3d 653, ¶ 6.  If the court 

classifies the juvenile as a juvenile-offender registrant, it shall “[i]ssue an order that 

* * * specifies that the child has a duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 

2950.05 and 2950.06 of the Revised Code.”  R.C. 2152.83(B)(2)(b).  The juvenile 

court issued such an order to Buttery in this case. 

{¶ 22} Therefore, in this case, the statute at issue does not use the 

adjudication of delinquency to enhance a sentence, as the statute at issue in Hand 

did.  Instead, the elements of the crime under R.C. 2950.04 are the duty to register 

and the violation of that duty.  The duty to register was not automatically imposed 

on Buttery as a result of his delinquency adjudication; it was imposed only after a 

hearing and consideration by the juvenile court of certain statutory factors.  And we 

have already held that the creation of a duty to register under R.C. 2152.83(B) that 

extends into adulthood meets the requirements of due process.  In In re D.S., 146 

Ohio St.3d 182, 2016-Ohio-1027, 54 N.E.3d 1184, ¶ 40, this court held that “the 

imposition of juvenile-offender-registrant status under R.C. 2152.82 or 2152.83(B) 

with corresponding registration and notification requirements that continue beyond 

the offender’s reaching age 18 or 21 does not violate the offender’s due-process 

rights.” 

{¶ 23} For a defendant like Buttery, the duty to register as a sex offender is 

imposed after a hearing, which the juvenile court conducts to determine whether 

registration is appropriate for a juvenile already adjudicated as delinquent.  

Therefore, unlike in Hand, a defendant does not face additional repercussions 

because of his or her original juvenile adjudication.  Instead, he or she faces 

punishment for violating a court order. 
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{¶ 24} Further, R.C. 2950.04 does not equate a juvenile adjudication with a 

criminal conviction, unlike R.C. 2901.08(A), the statute at issue in Hand.  Instead, 

it states that a person who has a duty to register as a sex offender must indeed 

register as a sex offender or face criminal consequences.  R.C. 2950.04 does not 

say that a juvenile adjudication is an adult conviction.  It does not provide an 

additional penalty for recidivists based upon a prior juvenile adjudication.  R.C. 

2950.04 does not enhance a sentence for the violation of a different statute.  Rather, 

it punishes a failure to comply with the requirements of registration. 

{¶ 25} In Carnes, we noted that in the weapons-under-disability statutory 

scheme, the legislature had created a process by which a person could seek relief 

from the disability.  Likewise, in the juvenile-sex-offender statutory scheme, an 

offender has the ability to have his or her duty to register modified or terminated.  

R.C. 2152.85(A) and (B).  This court has pointed to the juvenile court’s 

jurisdiction—even after completion of the court’s disposition—to modify or 

terminate the juvenile’s registration status. 

 

Specifically, a juvenile-sex-offender registrant may petition the 

juvenile court, beginning at three years following the classification 

order, to request reclassification to a lower tier or to terminate the 

registration requirement altogether.  R.C. 2152.85(A) and (B).  After 

the court has ruled on the initial petition, the statute permits 

additional opportunities for review, first after another three-year 

period and then every five years thereafter.  R.C. 2152.85(B).  * * *  

Thus, the juvenile court judge maintains discretion throughout the 

course of the offender’s registration period to consider whether to 

continue, terminate, or modify the juvenile’s classification. 

 

In re D.S., 146 Ohio St.3d 182, 2016-Ohio-1027, 54 N.E.3d 1184, ¶ 36. 
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{¶ 26} Therefore, a juvenile-sex-offender registrant has multiple 

opportunities to have the duty to register lifted.  Like Carnes, who failed to avail 

himself of the ability to remove his disability through court action, Buttery has not 

availed himself of the opportunity to have his duty to register lifted. 

{¶ 27} This case and Carnes share another key element.  In Carnes, this 

court relied on its conclusion that the existence of the juvenile adjudication, rather 

than its reliability, was at issue in regard to the weapons-under-disability statute.  

The General Assembly had assessed the risk and determined that allowing people 

with juvenile adjudications involving violent felony offenses to possess firearms 

presented a danger.  Likewise, here, “[t]he General Assembly has seen fit to impose 

registration sanctions in cases involving sex offenses to protect the public.” State v. 

Blankenship, 145 Ohio St.3d 221, 2015-Ohio-4624, 48 N.E.3d 516, ¶ 36.  The duty 

to register applies to adults convicted of sexually oriented offenses committed in 

Ohio and to juvenile offenders who a judge determines should be classified as a 

juvenile-offender registrant, as well as to “each person who is convicted, pleads 

guilty, or is adjudicated a delinquent child in a court in another state, in a federal 

court, military court, or Indian tribal court, or in a court in any nation other than the 

United States for committing a sexually oriented offense.”  Again, the statute does 

not equate a juvenile adjudication with a criminal conviction.  Instead, it considers 

a person who has been adjudicated delinquent and who a judge has classified as a 

juvenile-offender registrant to be among those groups of people who must register 

as sex offenders.  In R.C. 2950.02, the General Assembly sets forth its reasoning 

for requiring registration for juvenile offenders and others: 

 

(A) The general assembly hereby determines and declares 

that it recognizes and finds all of the following: 

* * * 
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(2) Sex offenders and child-victim offenders pose a risk of 

engaging in further sexually abusive behavior even after being 

released from imprisonment, a prison term, or other confinement or 

detention, and protection of members of the public from sex 

offenders and child-victim offenders is a paramount governmental 

interest. 

(3) The penal, juvenile, and mental health components of the 

justice system of this state are largely hidden from public view, and 

a lack of information from any component may result in the failure 

of the system to satisfy this paramount governmental interest of 

public safety described in division (A)(2) of this section. 

* * * 

(6) The release of information about sex offenders and child-

victim offenders to public agencies and the general public will 

further the governmental interests of public safety and public 

scrutiny of the criminal, juvenile, and mental health systems as long 

as the information released is rationally related to the furtherance of 

those goals. 

(B) The general assembly hereby declares that, in providing 

in this chapter for registration regarding offenders and certain 

delinquent children who have committed sexually oriented offenses 

or who have committed child-victim oriented offenses * * * who 

otherwise will live in or near a particular neighborhood, it is the 

general assembly’s intent to protect the safety and general welfare 

of the people of this state. 

 

{¶ 28} As with the weapons-under-disability statute analyzed in Carnes, it 

is the existence of the duty to register, not the reliability of the underlying 
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adjudication, that is at issue in the statute.  The General Assembly has determined 

that certain juveniles adjudicated delinquent for certain offenses must register as 

sex offenders to protect the public; R.C. 2950.04 enforces that policy.  As we stated 

in Carnes, a juvenile adjudication is not unreliable for risk-assessment purposes. 

{¶ 29} Another aspect of the statutory scheme in this case distinguishes it 

from the statutes in Hand and Carnes.  Juvenile-offender registrants are informed 

by the juvenile court of their duty to comply with registration statutes:   

 

[E]ach person who is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing 

a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense and 

who is classified a juvenile offender registrant based on that 

adjudication shall be provided notice in accordance with this section 

of the offender’s or delinquent child’s duties imposed under sections 

2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code and 

of the offender’s duties to similarly register, provide notice of a 

change, and verify addresses in another state if the offender resides, 

is temporarily domiciled, attends a school or institution of higher 

education, or is employed in a state other than this state. 

 

R.C. 2950.03(A).  Here, Buttery received notice of his duty to register, and he and 

a guardian signed a form attesting to his knowledge of his responsibilities.  

Therefore, Buttery had notice of his duty to register as well as opportunities to be 

relieved of that duty; this was not an instance of a juvenile adjudication having an 

unknown future sentence-enhancing effect on an offense committed later in life, as 

in Hand. 

{¶ 30} Buttery points to a difference in this case from Carnes.  We noted in 

Carnes that “[r]egardless of the predicate conduct, a violation of [the weapon-

under-disability statute] is a third-degree felony * * *.”  Carnes, 154 Ohio St.3d 
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527, 2018-Ohio-3256, 116 N.E.3d 138, at ¶ 19.  In contrast, if a person violates the 

duty to register under R.C. 2950.04, the degree of the offense is determined by the 

level of the sexually oriented offense in the underlying adjudication.  See R.C. 

2950.99(A) and (B).  Therefore, because Buttery was adjudicated delinquent based 

on what would have been a fourth-degree felony offense if committed by an adult, 

his failure to register is a fourth-degree felony.  R.C. 2950.99(A)(1)(a)(ii).  Buttery 

asserts that in this way, the juvenile adjudication determines the penalty for failure 

to register, whereas any violation of the weapons-under-disability statute is a third-

degree felony, regardless of the underlying disability.  But our point in Carnes was 

that the juvenile adjudication did not operate as a sentence enhancement for an 

unrelated crime committed as an adult, as had been the case in Hand. 

{¶ 31} Nor is the juvenile adjudication a sentence enhancement in this case.  

“The General Assembly is vested with the power to define, classify, and prescribe 

punishment for offenses committed in Ohio.”  State v. Taylor, 138 Ohio St.3d 194, 

2014-Ohio-460, 5 N.E.3d 612, ¶ 12.  Unlike the sentencing statutes in Apprendi 

and Alleyne, R.C. 2950.99 does not provide for sentence enhancements upon a trial 

court’s determination of certain facts.  The applicable felony level here is tied to 

the adjudication that led to the duty to register.  We held in Hand that “[b]ecause a 

juvenile adjudication is not established through a procedure that provides the right 

to a jury trial, it cannot be used to increase a sentence beyond a statutory maximum 

or mandatory minimum.”  Hand, 149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-Ohio-5504, 73 N.E.3d 

448, at ¶ 34.  The statutory scheme at issue in this case does not increase a sentence 

beyond a statutory maximum or mandatory minimum.  The General Assembly has 

simply determined what the penalty is for the failure to register for a person 

previously adjudicated delinquent for committing what would be a fourth-degree 

felony if committed by an adult, and the trial court properly imposed that 

punishment on Buttery. 
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CONCLUSION 
{¶ 32} In this case, R.C. 2950.04 does not equate juvenile adjudications 

with criminal convictions.  R.C. 2950.04 requires both adults convicted of sex 

offenses and juveniles adjudicated delinquent for sexually oriented offenses and 

classified as juvenile-offender registrants to register as sex offenders.  The duty to 

register does not automatically arise after a juvenile adjudication; for juveniles like 

appellant in this case, the duty to register is the product of a hearing conducted by 

the juvenile court.  Therefore, the elements of a violation of R.C. 2950.04 for a 

defendant like Buttery are the existence of a court order and a violation of that 

order.  Juveniles adjudicated delinquent are not forced to register as sex offenders 

because their adjudications are considered reliable but because the General 

Assembly has determined that juveniles adjudicated delinquent are among those 

people who must register in order to protect the public.  As in Carnes, it is the 

existence of the adjudication rather than its reliability that is at issue in the statute.  

Finally, juveniles have notice of their duty to register and have multiple 

opportunities to lift their duty to register through a judicial process, adding layers 

of due process that were not available for the defendants in Hand.  For these 

reasons, we hold that the conviction of Buttery for a violation of R.C. 2950.04 that 

arose from a juvenile adjudication did not violate Buttery’s rights to a jury or to due 

process under the Ohio Constitution and United States Constitution.  We therefore 

affirm the judgment of the court of appeals. 

Judgment affirmed. 

FRENCH, GALLAGHER, DEWINE, and STEWART, JJ., concur. 

O’CONNOR, C.J., concurs in judgment only, with an opinion. 

DONNELLY, J., dissents, with an opinion. 

EILEEN A. GALLAGHER, J., of the Eighth District Court of Appeals, sitting 

for FISCHER, J. 

_________________ 



January Term, 2020 

 17 

O’CONNOR, C.J., concurring in judgment only. 
{¶ 33} I agree with the majority’s decision to affirm the court of appeals’ 

judgment.  I write separately, however, because I do not agree with the majority 

that this case and State v. Carnes, 154 Ohio St.3d 527, 2018-Ohio-3256, 116 N.E.3d 

138, share key elements. 

{¶ 34} I find this case to be wholly distinguishable from Carnes and State 

v. Hand, 149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-Ohio-5504, 73 N.E.3d 448, because appellant 

Robert Buttery’s conviction for failure to register was based on his obligation to do 

so as a Tier I sex offender.  Importantly, Buttery continued to have an obligation to 

register past the age of 18.  We have already held that the duty to register may 

continue past age 18.  See In re D.S., 146 Ohio St.3d 182, 2016-Ohio-1027, 54 

N.E.3d 1184, paragraph one of the syllabus (“The imposition of juvenile-offender-

registrant status under R.C. 2152.82 or 2152.83(B) with corresponding registration 

and notification requirements that continue beyond the offender’s reaching age 18 

or 21 does not violate the offender’s due-process rights”).  This is, therefore, not a 

case in which the law has reached back in time to use a prior juvenile adjudication 

to enhance an adult sentence or satisfy an element of a crime committed as an adult.  

Instead, Buttery was convicted after he failed to comply with an obligation that 

applied to him as an adult—his duty to register under R.C. 2950.04.  See Carnes at 

¶ 41 (O’Connor, C.J., dissenting) (“Punishing an adult defendant because of a 

juvenile adjudication is fundamentally different from punishing an adult defendant 

for behavior exhibited as an adult”). 

{¶ 35} In many ways, Buttery’s arguments are essentially a challenge to his 

offender classification.  But he did not challenge that classification in 2012 when, 

after a hearing, he was classified as a juvenile-offender registrant and Tier I sex 

offender or in 2015 when the court confirmed his Tier I status after he had 

completed residential treatment.  Thus, Buttery’s attempt to frame the challenge to 
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his conviction as being similar to the issue presented in Hand, and the majority’s 

comparison of the case to Carnes, is unavailing.  Accordingly, I concur in judgment 

only. 

_________________ 

DONNELLY, J., dissenting. 
{¶ 36} I find several aspects of this case troubling.  First, appellant, Robert 

Buttery, did not raise a due-process argument in the trial court.  Accordingly, the 

due-process argument was waived and need not have been addressed by the First 

District Court of Appeals.  See In re M.D., 38 Ohio St.3d 149, 527 N.E.2d 286 

(1988), syllabus (even when waiver of a constitutional issue is clear, “this court 

reserves the right to consider constitutional challenges to the application of statutes 

in specific cases of plain error or where the rights and interests involved may 

warrant it”). 

{¶ 37} Second, Buttery has not asked the juvenile court to relieve him of his 

statutory duty to register.  It is not clear why Buttery did not request relief from this 

severe collateral consequence when the legislature has provided him with a 

statutory procedure to do so.  See R.C. 2950.15 (allowing for the termination of the 

registration requirement upon motion). 

{¶ 38} Third, certain alleged procedural errors or defects are the subject of 

other appeals, preventing us from addressing the entire case.  See, e.g., State v. 

Buttery, 1st Dist. No. C-170141, 2018-Ohio-2651.  (One example is whether 

Buttery received a timely completion-of-disposition hearing. See In re R.B., 162 

Ohio St.3d 281, 2020-Ohio-5476, 165 N.E.3d 288.) 

{¶ 39} Fourth, we have no idea whether Buttery was afforded due process 

in the juvenile court when his delinquency was established at his adjudication 

hearing.  It would be nice to review that court’s transcript, but it was not part of the 

record—though it probably should be—and we have not asked for it.  It is easy to 

imagine that Buttery was not made fully aware of the collateral consequences of 
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his admission to the allegations against him.  In the absence of the transcript, all we 

can do is speculate.  I would remand this matter to the court of appeals with 

instructions that it obtain and review the transcript. 

{¶ 40} Finally, I have grave concerns about whether constitutional due-

process requirements were met in Buttery’s juvenile proceeding.  What constitutes 

due process in a juvenile setting is inexact, but the “overarching concern” is 

“fundamental fairness.”  State v. D.H., 120 Ohio St.3d 540, 2009-Ohio-9, 901 

N.E.2d 209, ¶ 51-52. 

{¶ 41} Buttery was adjudicated delinquent in a civil system that is designed 

to rehabilitate offenders, not punish them.  State v. Hand, 149 Ohio St.3d 94, 2016-

Ohio-5504, 73 N.E.3d 448, ¶ 14; In re Caldwell, 76 Ohio St.3d 156, 157-158, 666 

N.E.2d 1367 (1996).  In contrast, R.C. 2950.04, which requires Buttery to register 

as a sex offender, is part of the criminal code and is punitive.  In re D.S., 146 Ohio 

St.3d 182, 2016-Ohio-1027, 54 N.E.3d 1184, ¶ 50 (Lanzinger, J., dissenting) (“the 

registration process imposed on sex offenders in Ohio is punitive”), citing State v. 

Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108, ¶ 16. 

{¶ 42} Our juvenile-court system is designed to keep juvenile proceedings 

out of the public eye to prevent a lifetime of stigma for acts committed as a juvenile.  

Buttery has not committed any offense as an adult similar to the acts at issue in his 

juvenile proceeding.  But the successful efforts he undertook to rehabilitate himself 

have now been undermined: his acts are now in the public eye. 

{¶ 43} This case does not involve a juvenile adjudication that was used to 

enhance “the degree of or the sentence for a subsequent offense committed as an 

adult,” which we have held is a patent violation of due process, Hand at paragraph 

one of the syllabus and ¶ 36.  This case is worse.  Here, Buttery’s juvenile 

adjudication is the sine qua non of his conviction for failure to register.  Buttery’s 

juvenile adjudication, in a civil proceeding, was not used to increase the severity of 
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his penalty for a subsequent offense; it is the thing without which there would not 

have been the subsequent offense. 

{¶ 44} Buttery is being punished as an adult based on acts he committed as 

a juvenile.  This is fundamentally unfair.  Moreover, the degree of his punishment 

is based on the degree of the felony that Buttery would have been charged with if 

he had committed the acts as an adult—even though he was not convicted of a 

felony and he did not have a right to a jury trial because he was a juvenile at the 

time of the acts.  This is also fundamentally unfair. 

{¶ 45} Buttery has not received due process.  I dissent. 

_________________ 

 Joseph T. Deters, Hamilton County Prosecuting Attorney, and Paula 

Adams, Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, for appellee. 

Raymond T. Faller, Hamilton County Public Defender, and Julie Kahrs 

Nessler and Joshua A. Thompson, Assistant Public Defenders, for appellant. 

 Rickell Howard Smith, urging reversal for amicus curiae Children’s Law 

Center, Inc. 

 Timothy Young, Ohio Public Defender, and Brooke M.  Burns, Assistant 

Public Defender, urging reversal for amicus curiae Office of the Public Defender. 

_________________ 


