On Tuesday, July 17, 2012, the Supreme Court of Ohio launched an expanded news program – Court News Ohio – that features stories about the Ohio judicial system. This archived page on the Supreme Court’s website only displays news stories that occurred before that date. News stories that occurred on July 17 and thereafter can be found at www.courtnewsohio.gov.

Oct. 26, 2011
OACA Announces Moyer Scholarship Winner

2011 Thomas J. Moyer Scholarship winner Kimberly Switzer.The Ohio Association for Court Administration (OACA) announced Kimberly Switzer as its 2011 Thomas J. Moyer Scholarship winner during its annual conference Oct. 21.

Switzer serves as the Director of Court Services and Chief Probation Officer at the Hancock County Court of Common Pleas. She is the second recipient of the Moyer Scholarship.

OACA established the scholarship in 2010 in honor of the late Chief Justice Thomas J. Moyer of the Supreme Court of Ohio. The $1,000 Moyer Scholarship is awarded to a court professional for use at any approved court and judicial professional development opportunity such as the OACA conference, National Association for Court Management conference, Court Management Program courses, and Judicial College courses.

“It is a great honor to receive the Chief Justice Moyer Scholarship, not only because scholarship opportunities are so important during difficult budget times, but also because I was fortunate enough to be appointed by Chief Justice Moyer to various task forces and committees during his tenure,” Switzer said. “What an absolute privilege to be honored in the name of such a revered judicial branch leader and mentor.”

OACA ended its fall conference with the swearing in of its new officers.