On Tuesday, July 17, 2012, the Supreme Court of Ohio launched an expanded news program – Court News Ohio – that features stories about the Ohio judicial system. This archived page on the Supreme Court’s website only displays news stories that occurred before that date. News stories that occurred on July 17 and thereafter can be found at www.courtnewsohio.gov.

Nov. 16, 2011
67 More Attorneys Suspended for Failure to Register

The Supreme Court of Ohio has suspended the Ohio law licenses of 67 additional attorneys who failed to register with the Supreme Court for the biennium that began Sept. 1, 2011, and ends Aug. 31, 2013.

This group of suspended attorneys is in addition to the 227 attorneys suspended on Nov. 1. About 170 attorneys who were out of compliance after the Sept. 1 registration deadline were not mailed a noncompliance notice, which gives attorneys the opportunity to come into compliance within the Oct. 31 late registration deadline. The Supreme Court extended the late registration deadline for this group by two weeks, but 67 were found to still be out of compliance.

A suspended attorney is barred from practicing law until satisfying the registration requirements and paying all registration fees and a $300 reinstatement fee. Any attorney who continues to practice law while under suspension may be referred for investigation of the unauthorized practice of law.

View the list of suspended attorneys.

The vast majority of practicing attorneys in Ohio, more than 99 percent, met their registration requirements for this biennium. Only attorneys who have active or corporate status are required to register for the biennium.

Attorneys engaged in the practice of law in Ohio are required by Rule VI of the Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio to register with the Supreme Court biennially and pay a $350 registration fee. In July, the Supreme Court’s Office of Attorney Services sent all attorneys who were currently registered with the state for active or corporate status a certificate of registration for the upcoming biennium and directed them to register for the next biennium by Sept. 1.

The attorneys suspended Tuesday were sent letters alerting them of their noncompliance, but they did not file evidence of compliance with Rule VI or come into compliance with this rule (by filing the appropriate paperwork and applicable registration fee plus a $50 late fee).

Learn more about attorney registration.