On Tuesday, July 17, 2012, the Supreme Court of Ohio launched an expanded news program – Court News Ohio – that features stories about the Ohio judicial system. This archived page on the Supreme Court’s website only displays news stories that occurred before that date. News stories that occurred on July 17 and thereafter can be found at www.courtnewsohio.gov.

Nov. 4, 2009
Voters Elected 47 Municipal Court Judges Tuesday

14 Judicial Races Were Contested

In Tuesday’s general election, 47 judges were elected by Ohio voters to serve municipal courts around the state, according to unofficial results.

Only 14 municipal judgeships featured more than one candidate on the ballot. Eleven new faces in nine different courts will take the bench come January because the incumbent either couldn’t run again due to age restrictions, chose not to run again for another term, or lost in the primary or general election.

Five 2009 municipal court judge appointees and two 2008 appointees were on the ballot for the first time.

Staff at the Supreme Court of Ohio assembles the election results from the local county boards of elections for administrative purposes, to communicate with new judges about payroll, benefits and other information.

Three of the 14 contested races saw a challenger defeat an incumbent judge. Winners in those races included:

The following incumbent judges retained their seats on the bench:

Other winners in contested races for open seats included:

In addition, Jonathan P. Starn did not face an opponent in the general election for the open seat in Findlay Municipal Court following his victory over three other Republican candidates in the primary.

All judges in Ohio are elected to six-year terms. Elections for municipal court judgeships occur in odd-numbered years, while elections for Supreme Court, appeals court, common pleas court and county court judges occur in even-numbered years.

Access the complete report of judicial election results prepared by Supreme Court staff. The results are not official and are subject to change.

For complete official results, consult the Web site of the Ohio Secretary of State or contact your local county board of election.

Supreme Court Contacts: Chris Davey or Bret Crow at 614.387.9250.