Holmes County Courthouse

Holmes County CourthouseThe Holmes County Courthouse was designed by architect Joseph W. Yost and built in 1886. Located at 1 East Jackson St. in the county seat of Millersburg, the building is still in use and today houses the Holmes County Court of Common Pleas and its probate and juvenile divisions, as well as the Holmes County Municipal Court.

The courthouse is constructed of locally quarried stone and metal. The courthouse also features a statue of Lady Justice in the lobby. The first county courthouse built in 1825 was destroyed by fire in 1834. A second courthouse built on the same square was later torn down just before 1884 to make way for the current courthouse, which is the third courthouse to be used by the county. The courthouse is unique because it has parking meters for Amish buggies to accommodate Holmes County’s large Amish community.

Holmes County is named after Maj. Andrew H. Holmes, who was killed at the battle on Mackinac Island in the War of 1812.  The courthouse was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.

(Click on the picture to view a larger image.)