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Memorandum

To: Members, Ohio Criminal Justice Recodification Committee
From: Chairman Fred Pepple
Date: April 25,2016

RE: Sentencing Draft

Over the past 10 months, Vice Chair Tim Young, Prosecutor Ron O’Brien, Director Gary Mohr,
and I have worked on a proposal for a new Chapter 2929—the Ohio sentencing statutes.

I want to thank Director Mohr, Prosecutor O’Brien, and especially Ohio Public Defender Tim
Young and their many staff members who have worked so diligently on this effort. I also want to thank
Ohio Criminal Sentencing Commission Executive Director Sara Andrews for her guidance and support.
I also would like to thank Professor Douglas Berman from The Ohio State University Moritz College of
Law for his input and guidance.

This proposal is just that—our proposal—and it has attempted to balance the interests of all
sides’ perspectives. It is based upon the evidence that all parties have brought to the table. Also, I
would like to acknowledge the valuable insight, data, and research provided from many interested
groups, including the Buckeye Institute, the ACLU, the Center for Prison Reform, and the U.S. Justice
Action Network.

Enclosed please find the draft of Chapter 2929. I wanted you to have this prior to the proposal
being presented so that you might have the time to review and absorb the proposal. Please give your
feedback to the staff attorneys, Blaise Katter and Matthew Thompson, so that the workgroup may
consider them before that presentation.

Chapters 2925 and 2929 will, no doubt, have the largest interest, as these areas have been
acknowledged by conservatives and liberals to address areas of needed reform that are getting bi-
partisan support. The reforms that our committee recommends may prove helpful to them, as a balanced
approach that acknowledges the importance of the various interests impacted by this proposal.

Our task has been a monumental one in reviewing the entire criminal code. Thanks to all who
have worked so hard and done so much. The 2925 workgroup will present their proposal to us on April
28, but there will not be any vote taken on any topics so that we can devote the committee’s attention to
their presentation. That workgroup is Judge Tim Rudduck, Director Mohr, and Sheriff Rodenberg.
Please review and comment to help make these proposals are reflective of such a balanced approach.

Thank you for your continued hard work on these difficult issues.

Committee Secretary Tom Hancock, 1 Capitol Square, Columbus, Ohio 43215
614.466.7584 | tom.hancock@ohiosenate.gov







Summary of RC 2929 Sentencing Proposal

1. Maintain five levels of classified felonies

Aggravated Murder and Murder and other unclassified felonies are separate
This means that if the sentencing provisions are unique to that charge, it is not a classified
felony.

i.  Example—Since DUI offenses do not fit the sentencing classified structure but
have been given unique sentences, they are not classified and sentencing shall be
as set forth in the statute violated.

ii.  Specifications and mandatory portions of sentences that otherwise fit into the
sentencing structure ARE classified felonies.

FELONY RANGES

1st degree felony 3-11 year range
2nd degree felony 2-8 year range

3nd degree felony 1-5 year range
4th degree felony 12-30 month range
5th degree felony 9-15 month range

II. Classified felonies will have indeterminate sentences

Specifications will be served first

Mandatory portions of counts with mandatory sentences will be served next
Non-mandatory time will be served last

Term of prison will be sentenced in each felony and pronounced at that time

“Stated minimum prison term” will be stated for each count.

Terms shall run concurrently unless specifically ordered run consecutive with each other
or consecutive to a prison term being served for another case or court, with the case
number and court listed in the entry if consecutive

“Aggregate minimum prison term” shall be the aggregate of all terms, taking into account
consecutive or concurrent status of multiple counts, if applicable

“Maximum prison term” shall be the “aggregate minimum prison term” plus fifty (50%)
per cent of the “stated minimum prison term” of the most serious offense being
sentenced.

The sentence may include an ORDER that the offender have no contact with the victim
or family member of the victim.

The sentence may include restitution to the full amount of the loss to the victims and/or
the benefit derived by the offender, no matter who the victims are.

The sentence may include a fine, but must be based only upon what the offender may
reasonably afford to pay. Offender must provide full financial disclosure and the court
must consider and make a determination of ability to pay at time of imposition of any
fine.



Maximum fines are substantially increased. Minimum fines are abolished in light of
ability to pay hearing requirements.

The sentence must include court costs. Collection of costs may be stayed pending
serving of any incarceration.

The court may permit the clerk to enter into payment plans with the offender reasonably
calculated to take into account the offender’s ability to pay all financial obligations,
including restitution, fines and costs.

No “good time credit” but failure to participate in programing may extend sentence.

In addition to sentencing an offender to prison, the court may sentence any such offender
to a fine as to each felony being sentenced, as follows:

If the level of offense is a: the maximum
fine is:

1¥ Degree Felony $100,000.00

2" Degree Felony $ 50,000.00

3" Degree Felony $20,000.00

4" Degree Felony $ 7,500.00

5™ Degree Felony $ 5,000.00

1. Probation

If granted probation, the term of probation may not to exceed:

i. F-1 10 years
ii. F-2orF-3 5 years
iii. F-4 3 years
iv. F-5 2 years

Terms of probation must include basics not to violate the law or abscond

Court may impose a split sentence of up to 120 days local jail

Court may impose requirement to complete CBCF not to exceed 180 days

Terms may include long list of potential treatment or other conditions

Terms may include any other terms reasonably connected to either the nature and
circumstances of the crime or the mental or physical circumstances of the offender and/or
the victims and designed to impact either rehabilitation of the offender, deter the offender
and others from committing future offenses, and protecting the victims and the public.
Time does not run if incarcerated for any reason

Court may let offender off probation early, but only if all financial obligations are paid
and after notice to the state and an opportunity for victims to be heard.

If probation violated, court may execute original prison sentence with appropriate credit,
or may reinstate probation up to the original maximum probation period, with conditions
as determined by the court, including a new split sentence of up to an additional 120
days, or CBCF treatment regardiess of prior CBCF treatment, and any other conditions of
probation terms reasonably connected to either the nature and circumstances of the crime
or the mental or physical circumstances of the offender and/or the victims and designed



to impact either rehabilitation of the offender, deter the offender and others from
committing future offenses, and protecting the victims and the public, as determined at
the time of the violation hearing. Total local incarceration may not exceed maximum
prison term.

- If probation is violated under circumstances where the offender’s maximum probation
period expires within one year, court may also extend period of probation for up to one
additional year from the violation date even if it goes beyond the five-year limit.

- If'the offender is on parole at the time of commission of a new felony, the court on the
new felony may impose the remaining time on the old felony, but not mandatory

- If the offender is on parole at the time of commission of a new felony anywhere, the
parole board may impose the remaining time on the old felony, even if new felony is in
another state or in federal court

- When maximum prison term has been served, offender is freed without supervision.

- Inmates will be released upon completion of the “aggregate minimum prison term” unless
extended by the parole board based upon the risk posed by the offender as demonstrated
by the offender’s prison conduct, treatment participation or lack thereof, and other factors
determined by OAPA guidelines.

i.  No parole hearing unless initial determination is made to extend sentence beyond
stated aggregate minimum prison term
ii.  Ifafter review, cause exists to extend, then matter referred for hearing
iii.  If extended, right to full board hearing to review the extension with counsel
iv.  Inmates must be released upon their serving the maximum prison term; such
inmates “maxing out” are not subject to parole.

IV. Misdemeanors maintain five levels of classified misdemeanors
- Unclassified misdemeanors are separate
- This means that if the sentencing provisions are unique to that charge, it is not a classified
misdemeanor.

i.  Example—Since DUI offenses do not fit the sentencing classified structure but
have been given unique sentences, they are not classified and sentencing shall be
as set forth in the statute violated.

- Whoever is found guilty of a misdemeanor shall be sentenced as follows:

If the level of offense is a: The maximum And the maximum
_ incarceration is: fine is:

1* Degree Misdemeanor | 180 days $ 2,500.00

2" Degree Misdemeanor | 90 days $ 1,000.00

3" Degree Misdemeanor | 60 days $ 750.00

4™ Degree Misdemeanor | 30 days $ 500.00

Minor Misdemeanor 0 days $ 300.00
Unclassified As specified As specified

Misdemeanor







- Statute will include a sample journal entry that will suffice if followed, but is not

mandatory.

- PSI & Victim Impact Statement go up with record on appeal of sentence for

proportionality.

VII.  Organizational fines are greatly increased.

If the level of offense is:  The organizational fine is:

Agg. Murder or Murder

Up to $1,000,000 or the value of the organization, whichever is greater.

1* Degree Felony

Up to $500,000 or one-half the value of the organization, whichever is
greater.

2" Degree Felony Up to $250,000 or one-tenth the value of the organization, whichever is
greater.

3" Degree Felony Up to $50,000.

4" Degree Felony Up to $35,000.

5™ Degree Felony Up to $25,000.

Unclassified Felony As specified in the statute.
1* Degree Misdemeanor Up to $10,000.

2" Degree Misdemeanor Up to $5,000.

3" Degree Misdemeanor Up to $2,500.

4™ Degree Misdemeanor Up to $1,500.

Minor Misdemeanor Up to $1,000.

Unclassified Misdemeanor

As specified in the statute.

For any offense listed in the revised code as a classified misdemeanor or a classified felony, but
specifying within the relevant statute as carrying a different penalty from that listed in this section, the
specific language of the relevant statute shall control.

VIII. Judicial Release

- Modified to allow judicial release eligibility after 30 days for sentences under 3 years
stated minimum; 3 years or over stated minimum, judicial release eligibility after 50

percent.

- Certain offenders not eligible—Agg. Murder, Murder or Rape (complicity, conspiracy or
attempt) prior or now; offender commits any felony while in prison; or if filed judicial
release motion within the previous six months. No judicial release on mandatory

sentences.

IX. Parole Review

- Limited parole board review for extended prison sentences
- Parole review at 70% for F4 and F5






















Total Maximum Prison Term.

(D) In addition, the sentencing court will compute the total stated minimum term for all of the
offenses being sentenced, being the “aggregated stated minimum term”, and shall sentence the
offender to a maximum term equal to the aggregated stated minimum term plus fifty (50%) of
the longest minimum stated prison term for the most serious felony being sentenced. This
maximum term shall be imposed by the court at sentencing and stated in the sentencing entry.
Fines

(E) In addition to sentencing an offender to prison and subject RC 2929.16, the court may
sentence any such offender to a fine as to each felony being sentenced, as follows:

If the level of offense is a: the maximum fine is:

1st Degree Felony $100,000.00

2nd Degree Felony $ 50,000.00

3rd Degree Felony $20,000.00

4th Degree Felony $ 7,500.00

5th Degree Felony $ 5,000.00

Unclassified Felony other than Agg. Murder or | As specified in statute or $5,000
Murder

Release upon parole; periods of monitoring or supervision.

(F)

(1) Upon completion of serving all “spec time” and all mandatory prison terms, and upon
completion of serving all minimum stated prison terms, the offender shall be released upon
parole, unless the parole board determines that such inmate should be detained to continue to
serve the imposed sentence. Procedures for such determination and further review shall be
governed by RC 2967 and the department’s established procedures.

(2) Offenders may be detained by the department only until completion of their total maximum
term.

(3) Parolees released prior to their total maximum term shall be supervised or monitored
pursuant to RC 2967 and departmental procedures established thereunder, for periods of
supervision or monitoring based upon the most serious charge they are serving, as follows:

(a) Aggravated Murder, Murder, any First Degree Felony, any felony sex offense under chapter
2907, engaging in pattern of corrupt activity under RC 2923.32, participating in criminal gang
activity under RC 2923.42, soliciting or providing support for act of terrorism under RC 2909.22,
making terroristic threat under RC 2909.23, or terrorism under RC 2909.24, for a term of ten
(10) years;

(b) Any other Second Degree or Third Degree felony, for a term of three (3) years;




(c) Any other Fourth Degree, Fifth Degree or unclassified felony other than aggravated murder
or murder, for a term of one year.

When Felonies and Misdemeanors are both being served.

()

(1) A defendant sentenced for misdemeanor and felony levels of crimes, where the felony
sentence is equal to or exceeds the misdemeanor sentence and the offender is sent to prison, the
offender shall be transferred to the Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections, and except as
provided in (G)(2) and (G)(3), the misdemeanor sentence shall run concurrently with the felony
sentence. If the misdemeanor sentence exceeds the felony sentence, the offender shall serve the
felony sentence concurrently with the misdemeanors in the local jail where the misdemeanor
sentence is being served.

(2) The court may sentence a misdemeanor jail term consecutive to a felony term of
imprisonment, if the misdemeanor is a violation of the following sections: R.C. 2907.322,
2921.34, or 2923.131.

(3) The court shall sentence a misdemeanor violation of R.C. 4510.11, 4510.14, 4510.16,
4510.21, or 4511.19 consecutive to a prison term that is imposed for a felony violation of R.C.
2903.06, 2903.07, 2903.08, or 4511.19.

(4) A court may impose sentences for multiple misdemeanors concurrently or consecutively to
each other, but concurrent with felonies. When consecutive sentences are imposed for
misdemeanors, the term to be served is the aggregate of the consecutive terms imposed, except
that the aggregate term to be served shall not exceed eighteen months.

RC 2929.14 Sentences for Misdemeanors

(A) Whoever is found guilty of a misdemeanor shall be sentenced as follows:

1* Degree Misdemeanor 180 days $ 2,500.00
2" Degree Misdemeanor | 90 days $ 1,000.00
3" Degree Misdemeanor | 60 days $ 750.00
4™ Degree Misdemeanor 30 days $ 500.00
Minor Misdemeanor 0 days $ 300.00
Unclassified Misdemeanor | As specified As specified

For any offense listed in the revised code as a classified misdemeanor, but specifying within the
relevant statute as carrying a different penalty from that listed in this section, the specific
language of the relevant statute shall control.

(B)




































not exceed the total amount of reimbursement the offender is able to pay as determined at a
hearing and shall not exceed the actual cost of the confinement ;

(4)  All or part of the cost of obtaining and using an immobilizing or disabling device, or an
electronic monitoring device, including a certified ignition interlock device, or a remote alcohol
monitoring device that a court orders an offender to use provided the amount of reimbursement
ordered does not exceed what the offender is able to pay, based on the ability to pay hearing;

%) Reimbursement by the offender for costs pursuant to R.C. 2929.71 (newly renumbered

2909.25)

(6)  An order under this section is a judgment in favor of the state or a political subdivision in
which the court that imposed the restitution, fine and assessed the court costs is located, and the
offender subject to the judgment is the judgment debtor.

RC 2929.17 Organizational Penalties

(A) Regardless of the penalties provided elsewhere in Title 29, an organization found guilty of an
offense in Title 29 shall be fined as follows:

If the level of offense is:

The organizational fine is:

Aggravated Murder or Up to $1,000,000 or the value of the organization, whichever is

Murder greater.

1* Degree Felony Up to $500,000 or one-half the value of the organization, whichever is
greater.

2" Degree Felony Up to $250,000 or one-tenth the value of the organization, whichever

is greater.

3" Degree Felony

Up to $50,000.

4™ Degree Felony

Up to $35,000.

5™ Degree Felony

Up to $25,000.

Unclassified Felony other
than agg. murder/murder

As specified in the statute.

1* Degree Misdemeanor | Up to $10,000.
2" Degree Misdemeanor | Up to $5,000.
3" Degree Misdemeanor | Up to $2,500.
4™ Degree Misdemeanor Up to $1,500.
Minor Misdemeanor Up to $1,000.

Unclassified Misdemeanor

As specified in the statute.
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