## APPLICATION FOR THE OHIO BAR EXAMINATION

## INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANTS FOR THE OHIO BAR EXAMINATION

## BEFORE YOU COMPLETE THIS APPLICATION, YOU SHOULD READ THE ENCLOSED COPY OF RULE I OF THE SUPREME COURT RULES FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE BAR.

Pursuant to Rule I of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar, every person who seeks to take an Ohio bar examination must file an Application to Take the Bar Examination ("Examination Application"). **An Examination Application is not considered filed until it is actually received in the Office of Bar Admissions**. Before applying to take a bar examination, an applicant must first be registered as a candidate for admission under Rule I, Section 2.

An Examination Application requesting permission to take a February examination must be filed by November 1 preceding the examination. An Examination Application requesting permission to take a July examination must be filed by April 1 preceding the examination. If an Examination Application is not timely filed for the examination requested, but is filed between Nov. 2 and Dec. 10 before a February examination, or between April 2 and May 10 before a July examination, the application is considered late and the late Examination Application fee required under Rule I, Sec. 3(B)(6) will apply. Also, an Examination Application will not be processed unless the applicant has filed his or her Application to Register as a Candidate for Admission to the Practice of Law within the time restraints of Rule I, Sec. 2(E) of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar.

Your Examination Application will consist of the following:

- 1) a completed Examination Application form;
- 2) a completed original **and** one copy of the Applicant's Supplemental Character Questionnaire, typed and properly executed;
- 3) an executed Applicant's Affidavit stating that you have read and studied the Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio, the Code of Professional Responsibility and the Code of Judicial Conduct, as adopted by this Court, and that you have not engaged in the unauthorized practice of law;
- 4) a Law School Character Certificate certifying that the dean or an associate dean of your law school does not have knowledge of any information that would cause him or her to doubt your character, fitness, and moral qualifications to practice law;
- 5) a non-refundable bar examination fee of \$330, by **certified check or money order** made payable to the Supreme Court of Ohio; or, if the Examination Application is filed late, a non-refundable bar examination fee of \$430, by **certified check or money order** made payable to the Supreme Court of Ohio; and
- 6) a non-refundable fee of \$122, by certified check or money order made payable to the Supreme Court of Ohio for the Multistate Performance Test ("MPT") items.

All the forms needed for completion of Items 1-4 are available online. The information you provide on the forms **must be typed**.

If your Examination Application is incomplete when submitted, it will not be accepted and will be returned to you for completion. An application is deemed incomplete if it does not have the necessary documents attached; if it is not accompanied by the appropriate fees; if any portion of it is not properly executed; if any portion of it is missing; or if any questions are unanswered, incompletely answered or missing any required details.

Until you are admitted to practice, you will have a continuous reporting obligation and must notify the Office of Bar Admissions in writing of any changes or additions to the information provided in your application.

At least 30 days before the examination, you must also file a Final Law School Certificate signed by the dean or an associate dean of the law school that you are attending, certifying that you (1) have received your law degree, (2) have sufficient knowledge and ability to discharge the duties of an attorney at law, (3) have successfully completed a course of not fewer than 10 classroom hours of instruction in legal ethics, and (4) have received at least one hour of instruction on substance abuse. If the dean or associate dean of the law school you are attending cannot certify that you have received at least one hour of instruction on substance abuse, then at least 30 days before the examination, you must also file a Substance Abuse Instruction Certificate signed by a continuing legal education sponsor, certifying that you received at least one hour of instruction on substance abuse that has been accredited by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education as an approved substance abuse activity under Gov. Bar R. X. The forms needed for these two certifications are also available online.

You may not take the bar examination for which you apply unless all required forms are timely filed. In addition, in accordance with Gov. Bar R. I, Sec. 3(D), you must receive final approval of your character, fitness, and moral qualifications at least three weeks prior to the examination.

Any applicant who qualifies for special testing accommodations under the Board of Bar Examiners Policy on Applicants with Disabilities may file a Request for Special Testing Accommodations with the Office of Bar Admissions. The Request must be filed by the deadline for filing an Examination Application. A copy of the Policy on Applicants with Disabilities is available online. Request forms may be obtained online at <a href="http://www.sc.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/admissions/pdf/disabil.pdf">http://www.sc.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/admissions/pdf/disabil.pdf</a>.

Applicants for the Ohio bar examination must take and pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) before being admitted to the practice of law in Ohio by examination. See, Gov. Bar R. I, Sec. 6. An applicant may take the MPRE at any time before or after taking the Ohio bar examination. Applicants should make arrangements for taking the MPRE directly with the National Conference of Bar Examiners. Applications to take the MPRE are available either from your law school or from the National Conference of Bar Examiners, MPRE Application Department, P. O. Box 4001, Iowa City, Iowa 52243-4001, telephone 319.341.2500.

If you have any questions regarding your Examination Application or any of the provisions of Rule I, contact the Office of Bar Admissions at 614.387.9340, or by e-mailing <a href="mailto:BarAdmissions@sc.ohio.gov">BarAdmissions@sc.ohio.gov</a>. Correspondence and applications should be mailed to the following address:

Office of Bar Admissions Supreme Court of Ohio 65 South Front Street, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431

BX: 1.0 (01/09)