Continuing Legal Education

Amendments to the Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio and the Government of the Judiciary of Ohio effective January 1, 2014

Comparison charts and FAQs are being provided as a courtesy to assist attorneys, judges, magistrates, acting judges, and new lawyers with the transition to the new rules effective January 1, 2014. It is strongly encouraged that those affected by these rule amendments consult the new rules to ensure proper compliance.

Additional information and resources will be added as they become available. Please check back for updates.

View the comparison charts and FAQs


Continuing Legal Education
Supreme Court of Ohio
65 South Front Street, 5th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431

Phone: 614.387.9320
Fax: 614.387.9329
E-mail: CCLE

Susan B. Christoff, Esq.

Active attorneys and attorneys registered for corporate status must complete and report 24 hours of accredited CLE activities every two years. Fulltime, part-time, and retired judges must complete and report 40 hours of accredited CLE activities. Magistrates and acting judges must complete and report 24 hours of accredited CLE activities every two years. Judges, acting judges, and magistrates also have a Judicial College requirement. CLE requirements are contained in Gov. Bar R. X and Gov. Jud. R. IV and are administered by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education and the Office of Attorney Services.

CLE Reminder Notice for the 2013/2014 Compliance Period

Attorneys and Judges with the last name beginning with the letters M through Z need to complete their Continuing Legal Education (CLE) hours for the 2013/2014 compliance period on or before December 31, 2014.

Attorneys are required to complete 24 hours, including 2.50 hours of instruction on attorney professional conduct, every two years. To view a list of CLE courses being offered through the end of 2014, please go to

Judges are required to complete 40 hours of continuing legal education, including 10 hours of Judicial College instruction, every two years. Three of the 10 required Judicial College hours must include instruction on “judicial conduct,” as defined in Gov. Jud. R. IV, Sec. 3(C). If you need Judicial College credit hours, please contact the College at to determine what College courses are being offered through the end of 2014.

New attorneys are required to complete 12 hours of New Lawyers Training, including 3.0 hours of instruction in professionalism, law office management, and client fund management, on or before December 31, 2014. To view a list of NLT courses being offered through the end of 2014, please go to and click on “New Attorney” in the “Activity Type” drop down box.

You may view your CLE record online to confirm compliance with the CLE requirements at You will need your attorney registration number and your password to log on to the attorney services site. If you do not have your password, please go to and answer the security questions under the heading “I am an Ohio attorney.”

Important: Effective January 1, 2014, attorneys are no longer required to file a final reporting transcript for the preceding two year compliance period. However, you will still be required to complete all your CLE hours on or before December 31, 2014.

Request a Password

Attorney CLE Requirements

New Lawyers Training

New Lawyers Training FAQs (For Attorneys Admitted By Examination or Registered for Corporate Status)

How to Earn CLE Credit for Pro Bono Service

Judicial CLE Requirements

Reinstatement Instructions and Forms

Find an Approved CLE/New Attorney Activity

Find Approved Self-Study Activities


Late Compliance

General Attorney and Sponsor Fees


Information for Sponsors

CLE Rules

Adobe PDF PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Microsoft Word Word files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Word Viewer.