Continuing Legal Education

Amendments to the Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio and the Government of the Judiciary of Ohio effective January 1, 2014

Comparison charts and FAQs are being provided as a courtesy to assist attorneys, judges, magistrates, acting judges, and new lawyers with the transition to the new rules effective January 1, 2014. It is strongly encouraged that those affected by these rule amendments consult the new rules to ensure proper compliance.

Additional information and resources will be added as they become available. Please check back for updates.

View the comparison charts and FAQs


Continuing Legal Education
Supreme Court of Ohio
65 South Front Street, 5th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431

Phone: 614.387.9320
Fax: 614.387.9329
E-mail: CCLE

Gina White Palmer, Esq.

Active attorneys and attorneys registered for corporate status must complete 24 hours of accredited CLE activities every two years. Fulltime, part-time, and retired judges must complete 40 hours of accredited CLE activities. Magistrates and acting judges must complete 24 hours of accredited CLE activities every two years. Judges, acting judges, and magistrates also have a Judicial College requirement. CLE requirements are contained in Gov. Bar R. X and Gov. Jud. R. IV and are administered by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education and the Office of Attorney Services.

2016/2017 Compliance Period

Attorneys and judges whose last names begin with the letter A through L are required to complete the continuing legal education requirements for the 2016/2017 continuing legal education compliance period ending Dec. 31, 2017.   

Attorneys and Judges may view their CLE transcript by logging on to the Attorney Services Portal at

For instructions on how to make corrections to your CLE transcript, click here.

Please note in lieu of Final Transcripts being mailed, email reminders will be sent to attorneys and judges regarding the compliance period.  Pursuant to Gov. Bar R. VI, Sec. 4(B) attorneys/judges are required to provide a valid email address. To ensure that future communications are received, attorneys/judges should verify their contact information on the Attorney Services Portal.

The Office of Attorney Services receives many questions regarding the CLE requirements.  Below are the answers to the frequently asked questions:

  • Sponsors of CLE activities have 30 days to submit an attorney’s/judge’s credit for attending a CLE activity. Attorneys and Judges may add attendance credits to their records 35 days after the activity;
  • If an attorney or judge attends an out-of-state, live in person CLE activity and the sponsor has not already got it approved for CLE credit, the attorney/judge may apply for credit by completing Forms 1a and Form 6.  The forms are available here;
  • Unlike live courses, INDIVIDUAL ATTORNEYS/JUDGES CANNOT APPLY FOR APPROVAL FOR SELF-STUDY ACTIVITIES. Only the sponsor can request approval;
  • There is a maximum of 12 hours of self-study credit per biennium. Self-study hours over the cap do not carry over to the next biennium;
  • Live webcast activities are self-study and therefore subject to the 12 hour self-study cap;
  • Self-Study activities are approved for a calendar year. The date on the transcript will appear as the first date the activity was available and not the date completed;
  • New Lawyer Training Core hours (professionalism, law office management and client fund management) in excess of the one hour requirement, do not count towards the NLT general hour requirements;
  • There is a maximum of 12-hours that can be carried-over to the next biennium. All carry over hours count as general CLE and self-study hours over the 12.0 hour cap do not carry over;
  • Attorneys must complete 2.5 hours per compliance biennium of Professional Conduct (which is also referred to as called Attorney Conduct) CLE. This can be done in any single or combination of the following topics: Legal ethics, Professionalism, Alcoholism/Substance Abuse/Mental Health, and Access to Justice/Fairness. Credit can be attained in a single or separate program or activity;
  • Activities must be at least one hour long in order to receive credit in Ohio. Seminars/webinars, etc. that are only 15/30/45/50 minutes long are not approved;
  • A list of approved CLE activities (live, self-study and professional conduct) can be found at
  • Attorneys or judges who do not complete the required CLE requirements by the December 31, 2017, must remove the CLE deficiency within 90 days of the deadline, and pay the late compliance fee pursuant to Gov. Bar R. X, Sec. 18.

If you have any additional questions, please contact the Commission on Continuing Legal Education at or at 614.387.9320, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Request a Password

Attorney CLE Requirements

New Lawyers Training

New Lawyers Training FAQs (For Attorneys Admitted By Examination or Registered for Corporate Status)

How to Earn CLE Credit for Pro Bono Service

Judicial CLE Requirements

Reinstatement Instructions and Forms

Find an Approved CLE/New Attorney Activity

Find Approved Self-Study Activities


Late Compliance

General Attorney and Sponsor Fees


Information for Sponsors

CLE Rules

Adobe PDF PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.
Microsoft Word Word files may be viewed for free with Office Online.