Registration Page 2 of 5
Registration Page 5 of 5

[image: image1.jpg]The Supreme Court of Ohin




65 South Front Street, Columbus, OH 43215-3431
FEATURE ARTICLE
By Richard A. Dove

Director of Attorney Services

Supreme Court of Ohio
Monday, April 18, 2005
Attorneys Get Ready: Registration Period Brings Changes and Improvements
COLUMBUS -- If you are like a growing number of attorneys, you use information technology every day to conduct legal research, prepare and exchange documents and file materials with courts and administrative bodies. In keeping with this trend, the Supreme Court of Ohio has developed a program that will allow you this year to perform your registration and other critical functions online for the first time. 
An electronic registration system is being designed so you can complete your biennial registration transaction in only a few minutes and keep contact information up-to-date throughout the year.  The new password protected system will also allow you to check your Continuing Legal Education report.  Ohio joins fewer than one-half of the states in the country in offering an electronic registration and fee payment option to their bar members, according to the American Bar Association.    

The new convenience comes at the same time that the Supreme Court is implementing new rules to enforce the biennial registration requirement. If you are like roughly 93 percent of attorneys in Ohio, you already register in a timely fashion. The small minority who do not do so will now have an opportunity to rectify noncompliance before a suspension is imposed. Unlike the former procedures, which provided for an immediate suspension of the law license of any attorney who failed to register on a timely basis, the revised enforcement procedures mean that those who do not register for the current biennium by Sept. 1 will be allowed to register by Dec. 1 by paying a $50 late fee, in addition to the biennial registration fee.  The late filing fee is identical to the fee assessed for untimely filing of a biennial CLE reporting transcript.

Biennial Registration
Later this year, more than 50,000 Ohio attorneys will be required to register with the Supreme Court of Ohio. Each attorney admitted to the practice of law in Ohio will be required to file a certificate of registration with the Supreme Court on or before Sept. 1, 2005.  The only exception to this registration requirement is for an attorney who registered previously as “retired.”  If you are registered as “active” or “corporate” you are also required to pay the registration fee assessed by the Court.  Nearly three-fourths of the attorney registration funds spent each year are used to support the disciplinary system, including the Clients’ Security Fund (See table and pie chart below).

Around July 1, 2005, the Supreme Court will mail a certificate of registration to your preferred address. The certificate of registration will be pre-printed with information from the attorney registration data base, including your name, employer address, residence address, date of birth and gender.  In most instances you will simply need to review the information printed on the certificate, make any necessary changes and return the certificate along with the biennial registration fee.

Failure to Register Timely

Around Oct. 1, any attorney who remains unregistered with the Court will receive a noncompliance notice.  This notice will advise the attorney of the fact that he or she has not filed a certificate of registration with the Court and that the attorney will be summarily suspended if he or she fails to register by Dec. 1.  Anytime before Dec. 1, an attorney who has yet to register with the Court will have the opportunity to submit a certificate of registration, accompanied by payment of the biennial registration fee and late compliance fee.

If an attorney remains unregistered as of Dec. 1, the Court will summarily suspend the attorney’s license to practice law.  The summary suspension means that the attorney will be unable to engage in the practice of law until such time as he or she applies for reinstatement, submits a certificate of registration and pays the biennial registration fee plus a $200 reinstatement fee.  Notice of the suspension will be published by the Court.  An attorney who continues to practice law while under suspension may be referred for investigation by the Disciplinary Counsel.

In addition to emphasizing the importance of timely registration, the new procedures more clearly address the status of those attorneys who fail to comply with the registration procedures.  A question that often arises from judges is the status of an unregistered attorney with respect to that attorney’s ability to appear in court.  Under the current rule, the answer is somewhat unclear.  The new procedures provide a judge with a clear basis for barring an unregistered, summarily suspended attorney from representing clients in court.

Electronic Registration

If you wish to use online registration to make it easier to meet the Sept. 1 deadline, you can do so by using your attorney registration number and a unique, randomly generated password that the Supreme Court will issue with your registration materials. Your registration materials, which also will include the link where you can go to register online, will be mailed to you in late June.  Even if you do not choose to register on-line, you may use your attorney registration number and password at anytime to change your address and other attorney registration information and check the status of your CLE compliance. Attorneys registered for “corporate” status are not permitted to use electronic registration at this time.
To perform an on-line registration transaction, you will use your attorney registration number and the random password to log into the system.  Once logged into the system, you will be able to change the random password to one of your own choosing.  In order to perform an electronic registration transaction, you must provide a valid email address.

Using the system, you will be able to review and update contact information on file with the Court, report the existence of an interest-bearing trust account (IOLTA or IOTA) for client funds or update the account information and choose a registration status and pay any required registration fee using Visa or MasterCard.  

Upon completing the electronic registration transaction, you will receive a confirmation of the transaction. Within a few days, you also will receive a registration card for the 2005-2007 biennium if you are registering for active status. This card will be sent by regular mail to your preferred address.

If you prefer, registration by mail is still an option.  Regardless of whether you register electronically or by mail, your certificate of registration and applicable registration fee must be received by the Supreme Court no later than Sept. 1, 2005 in order for your registration to be considered timely.
NOTE:  The information contained in this article is a summary of the attorney registration provisions.  For a more detailed description, please consult Rule VI of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio.  The most current version of Gov. Bar R. VI is available on line at http://www.sconet.state.oh.us/Atty_Reg/ or by contacting Attorney Registration by telephone at (614) 387-9320 or email at attyreg@sconet.state.oh.us.  
Sidebar - Three easy steps of biennial electronic registration 

· Step one:  Review and update contact information on file with the Court.  This includes residence and employer addresses and race and ethnicity information.

· Step two:  Report the existence of an interest-bearing trust account (IOLTA or IOTA) for client funds or update the account information.  This information will be provided to the Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation pursuant to Court rule.

· Step three:  Choose a registration status and pay any required registration fee using Visa or MasterCard.  The payment of fees is handled by a third-party vendor, using secure data transfer.  The Supreme Court will not collect or retain any credit card information.

Sidebar - Key dates to remember
· Approximately July 1, 2005 - When the Supreme Court will mail a certificate of registration to each Ohio attorney.
· Sept. 1, 2005 - Each attorney admitted to the practice of law in Ohio is required to file a certificate of registration with the Supreme Court on or before this date.
· Approximately Oct. 1, 2005 - Any attorney who remains unregistered with the Court will receive a noncompliance notice.  

· Dec. 1, 2005 – Date by which an attorney will be summarily suspended if he or she fails to register with the Court.

Sidebar – What to do if your address changes
· Rule VI, Section 1(D) of the Supreme Court Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio requires each Ohio attorney to keep the Supreme Court Attorney Registration Section apprised of the attorney’s current residence and business address.  

· You are encouraged to go online to the Court’s Web site to check the employer address that you currently have on file with the Supreme Court.  

· The attorney registration information is available at:  http://www.sconet.state.oh.us/atty_reg/Public_AttorneyInformation.asp.  You can also verify your home address information by contacting the Attorney Registration Section at (614) 387-9320 or by email at attyreg@sconet.state.oh.us.  

How Annual Registration Fees are Allocated
	Purpose
	Amount Budgeted



	Disciplinary System (includes Office of Disciplinary Counsel, Board of Commissioners on Grievances and Discipline, reimbursements to certified grievance committees and publication of disciplinary notices)


	54%

	Client Security Fund (includes administration and 2005 allocation to trust fund)


	19%

	Attorney Services Administration (includes all personnel and operating expenses of Attorney Services Division, except UPL and CLE, and the budget supplement for CLE)


	10%

	Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation (grant)


	8%

	Ohio Lawyers Assistance Program (grant)


	6%

	Unauthorized Practice of Law (personnel and operating expenses for Board and reimbursements to local bar association UPL committees)


	3%


Attorney Registration Allocation (2005)
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*In the coming months, please watch for a series of articles that provide an in-depth explanation as to how attorney registration revenue is used by the various recipients of the fund.  
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